Making IT Happen (at ISTE)

Movers and Shakers

Making IT Happen (at ISTE)

By Betsy Corcoran     Jun 26, 2017

Making IT Happen (at ISTE)
Past and present winners of ISTE's "Making IT Happen" award in San Antonio, Tex.

Amidst the 21,000 teachers, administrators, entrepreneurs and others hobnobbing at this year’s ISTE conference in San Antonio are a handful of special people. The annual “Making IT Happen” awards are a highlight of the conference. This year, awardees included:

  • Helen Crompton, a professor of instructional technology at Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Va., who has done research on integrating K-12 curriculum (especially in STEM) with mobile learning.
  • Dallas Dance, former superintendent of the Baltimore County Public Schools (BCPS), for building one of the country’s most technology-embracing and innovative school districts.
  • Paige Johnson, formerly at Intel and now an advisor with Amazon Web Services, for connecting educators with promising technology (including chairing the Partnership for 21st Century Learning).
  • Anne Mirtschin, a commerce and information technology teacher and coordinator in rural western Australia, who hosts podcasts, writes about tech tools and connects rural educators around the world.
  • Joseph South, formerly with the US Dept. of Education’s Office of Education Technology, where he catalyzed initiatives including GoOpen and Future Ready Librarian initiatives and co-authored the National Education Technology Plan.
  • Katrina Stevens, formerly deputy director of the U.S. Department of Education’s Office of Educational Technology (and a former EdSurge staff member!), who spearheaded collaboration that brought new approaches to evaluating technology effectiveness for the Future Ready initiative.
  • Sarah Thomas, founder of EduMatch, which uses social media and other digital tools to connect educators worldwide as lifelong learners and is regional technology coordinator for Prince George’s County Public Schools in Md.

More than 500 educators have received the award since they were created in 1995.


Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up