2017 Winners of the McGraw Prize in Education Announced

Movers and Shakers

2017 Winners of the McGraw Prize in Education Announced

Apr 12, 2017

CRÉME DE LA CRÉME: Teachers don’t always get the recognition they deserve, unless they’re the winners of the Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education, which was announced this week. The prestigious award recognizes innovative educators across three categories: K-12 education, higher education and international education.

The 2017 McGraw Prize winners are:

  • Dr. Christine Cunningham, Founder and Director of Engineering is Elementary (EiE) at the Museum of Science in Boston, who received the U.S. K-12 Education prize for her engineering curriculum aimed at elementary level students
  • Dr. Sandy Shugart, President of Valencia College, who received the U.S. Higher Education prize for increasing graduation rates and helping large numbers of Hispanic students succeed at the Community College level through his “stellar” model
  • Chris Anderson, Curator of TED, the nonprofit that produces TED Talks, who received the International Education award for providing a platform that reaches millions of learners around the world, including teachers and students

In a prepared statement, Harold McGraw III, former chairman and CEO of The McGraw-Hill Companies called three educational leaders “inspiring examples of how passion, hard work and an innovative spirit can combine to create tremendous results.”

Each of this year’s recipients will receive an award of $50,000 and their own iconic McGraw Prize bronze trophy, the shape a “G” made of books.A Prize reception will be held at the 2017 ASU GSV Summit in Salt Lake City on May 9th.

Learn more about EdSurge operations, ethics and policies here. Learn more about EdSurge supporters here.

More from EdSurge

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up