Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Sheri, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would used this product for high interest text and to increase my students vocabulary. There are so many students that do not have the vocabulary needed to pass the FSA. This will really assist me with my students.l

Strengths: As I have previously stated, giving my students an opportunity to play vocabulary games will prepare them for FSA. Also, affording them high interest text will motivate them to read more, which many of my students just don't read. They are not interested in reading, and the text that are in Journeys book is horrible. I'm excited about this product, and I can't wait to use it.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would love my students to create their own book.
I would love to include books about the song artists that they listen to daily.
I would love to manipulate the data to what I'm teaching.

Verdict: The high interest text, the vocabulary games, which my students really need, and to make sure that I am abreast of all the data. This will assist me in aligning with the FSA.

Mervis, Teacher. School Type: High School, College Prep School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to teach vocabulary, reading, interaction and english

Strengths: This product really gives students an opportunity to be creative, to learn vocabulary and poetry, without even realizing that they are learning.

Suggestions for Improvement: This product seems perfect. It is the best one I have viewed today.
I would have to come up with a way to avoid cheating.
I would give consequences for students who use the word bank during vocabulary.

Verdict: I would strongly recommend this product because we do not have any product at school that is as versatile as this product.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to support or enrich vocabulary in alignment with my Reading curriculum.

Strengths: This produce engages students actively in the learning of new vocabulary and reinforces learned vocabulary in context.

Suggestions for Improvement: Based on the presentation of this product there does not appear to be a need for change. I would like to see if it incorporates vocabulary in activities other than games.

Verdict: It creates a game which incorporates vocabulary words, synonyms, and challenges to support Reading and learning new vocabulary terms.

Elementary Librarian, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to teach reading and to focus on common core standards.

Strengths: The highlighting tools helps students to read closely and I'm able to stay focused and organized.

Suggestions for Improvement: The program could use a pre assessment test.
Add more lexile levels and not grade levels.
It assists the teacher in tracking reading and comprehension skills.

Verdict: Teachers don't have to assign books.
We can track reading and comprehension levels with the program.
The standards align with common core.

Coach, School Type: Middle School, High School, High ELL Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Students would read articles at their Lexile level and practice academic vocabulary.

Strengths: The different reading levels and articles in all domains and content areas could be used to supplement textbook and other curriculum. It is visual appealing.

Suggestions for Improvement: To address the needs of the large group of English Language Learners in Broward, it would be great if the article could be read aloud to students. Highlight relevant vocabulary within the article.

Verdict: Student have choices as to their reading levels. The visuals and game format are engaging.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: It does not have other languages, annotations, or audio features.

Strengths: I love that students must type in their own answers first, but what if they just type in "I don't know"? Using the vocabulary games and visual image matches are great features kids will enjoy using. I also like how the grade level is not shown.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would add an audio option, language translation for students who just arrived from another country as a non-English speaker. In addition, I would allow highlighting and annotations which can also be viewed by the instructor.

Verdict: It does not add enough support for struggling learners, ESE or ESOL students.

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to help students work individually on improving their specific areas of need in reading. This product can help students be engaged in progress monitoring and motivate them in the remediation process.

Strengths: This product: allows students to be accountable for their learning; provides a student-friendly interface that clearly explains their data and progress; gives teachers easy access to high-interest content; gives students control to also choose articles of interest; and provides detailed data reports that teachers can use for planning instruction.

Suggestions for Improvement: District can buy a license. $10 a student is not cheap for out of pocket.

Verdict: Our students need a tool that can help them to monitor their progress in skills that are clearly aligned to state standards.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Blended Learning
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to enhance reading skills.

Strengths: The student can utilize repeated visit to word recognition and pronounciation.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like for this program to assign a perscription for the student.

Verdict: This program can use as an assessment, and a tracking tool.

English Teacher, School Type: High School, Blended Learning
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use Zinc Reading Lab for my ESOL students and others who need extra support. In addition, I would use the articles for enrichment activities for students on task and those who need to be challenged. I like how students can choose relevant topics and work at their own pace. I would in the classroom as a group or individually on a case by case basis. Our school is K-12 and teachers are always looking for ways to make reading exciting. As a teacher, I would enjoy tracking my students at the touch of a button. The game categories and high-interest texts are a must have!

Strengths: This product contains crucial content to strengthen reading skills at all levels. It offers game play, vocabulary enrichment, and interactive high interest texts. The challenge it meets is offering supplementary language arts - English content all in one location.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would not change anything at this time because I have not yet used it.

Verdict: Zinc Reading Lab offers crucial supplementary materials for teachers to use specifically to strengthen all levels of reading and vocabulary skills under one roof. Struggling students and advanced students can both improve their analytical skills and apply it to relevant class work, helping them advance beyond their original goals.

Milissa, Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: By assigning science articles for students to read and subsequently quizzing students on it. This could be a great resource to incorporate into the curriculum for students to understand how to read science articles on different difficulty levels.

Strengths: It cuts down on trying to find materials to utilize in the classroom. It offers a number of different subject area resources and it is easily maneuverable.

Suggestions for Improvement: Maybe an extension to all grade levels. Getting the word out more about this product.

Verdict: I would highlight the fact that the students can use this tool as a great resource overall not just for my subject area, which is science. The resources that are available to teacher are well worth it and its a fun way to incorporate technology into a science course!

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up