Product Index
Post-Secondary
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Chris, Support Staff. School Type: High School, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Great resource to show students how to set up a positive online identity.

Strengths: I like that there are lessons embedded to show students how to upload information. As well as adding comments and tips for them when they
are adding information. I like that it is so visual and that you can upload video content and pictures.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would just add a feature for an admin side for anything that is posted. This will help flag anything any inappropriate comments or pictures that are posted online. I also like the fact that information literacy and digital citizenship are areas that will be added to this product. This will help students be exposed to important information that they need to used when they are using the internet.

Verdict: I love that this product is free for high school students and for colleges. I think that this is a great platform that has a wonderful interface that students will gravitate towards. Very nice!

Tech Coordinator, School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would help our kids use it so that they can begin to see the possibilities of their own successes. Sometimes kids do not believe they are valuable but when they see it online they begin to believe it.

Strengths: I believe this is a nice way for students whose applications do not look as good may still shine by show casing their other talents and activities.

Suggestions for Improvement: I love that they can upload pics and their work from middle school to high school. Sometimes students do lots of volunteer work in middle school but due to AP classes no longer have as much time in high school to do this.

Verdict: It will help our student prepare for college, learn their own value, and see their own potential. I also like the fact that this will help our students to be accepted into universities all over.

School Psychologist, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, 1:1 Devices
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: My students love to tell their personal stories. This would give them a semi-structured format to do so. They could build it little by little.

Strengths: The Zeemee product was really engaging and structured enough that the students could work at their own pace and put a lot of personality into the project.

Suggestions for Improvement: I haven't used it enough to make suggestions, but I would hope that it prompts the students at each step and makes it easy to upload photos/videos and information.

Verdict: Kids are drawn to instagram and snap chat. Zeemee looks similarly engaging, but can be used to help them get organized to show how they want to be perceived. Colleges are starting to accept visual files and this might be a really good tool -- and it's free!

Technology Integration Specialist, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to teach digital citizenship and to build digital portfolios with students.

Strengths: This product allow students to create a valuable product that has real-life usefulness that extends beyond the classroom. It also encourages students to be self-reflective and cognizant of their real-life and online reputation and persona. It creates a space for students to be the best versions of themselves and share their impression of themselves with others. It solves the problem of students feeling invincibly anonymous online.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Go smaller. The buttons and fonts seemed a bit large. For a product geared toward high school and incoming college students, I was surprised that the interface gave a somewhat childlike impression with the large text and oversized icons.
2) Customizable templates. I'm not sure if this exists already. Seems like a good way to encourage students to show their personality on their pages while also providing an overall structure for visual appeal.
3) Appeal to younger audience. How can I use this with my elementary and middle school students?

Verdict: This seems like a safe, user-friendly platform through which students can build a usable product (digital portfolio) while learning about digital citizenship.

Michael, Tosa. School Type: Middle School, High School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: It would act as an online portfolio for students, staff, and classrooms/schools.

Strengths: The ability to create and curate an online portfolio so easily is a boon for potential college students, as well as anyone looking to apply for a job, scholarship, grant, etc. Digital curation means it can follow the student form grade to grade and beyond with NO messy intermediate steps. It all goes with the user.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. A teacher comment ability would be crucial is providing feedback to students as they work on these portfolios.

2. A way to tie a rubric to the online portfolio so teachers and students can access both and reflect and provide specific feedback.

3. More badges! Or the ability for teacher to generate their own badges.

Verdict: It is free! And it allows students and teachers to create easy to use and access online portfolios - a crucial resource in college and career applications in the 21st century.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Students are able to create their own personalized digital resume for college and high school. They are able to add multiple means of media and update it constantly.

Strengths: I think that it is great for students to have a private place to put all of their work and achievements in one place. It is great that students can personalize it to their interests.

Suggestions for Improvement: Are students able to create more than one profile, some resumes are designed for certain schools and they might want more than one option.
How long is the information stored for, and is there a way for students to get feedback on their profiles.

Verdict: I think that it is important for students to start working on their portfolio/resume as soon as possible so they can remember all of their awards and achievements.

Debra, English Teacher. School Type: High School, Higher Education, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: We do Capstone Projects with our seniors - they must participate to graduate. We require several of the components that zeeme does - resume, blog tie-in, pictures, activities - this is great for seniors, or even earlier as they can log all their activities from 9th through 12th grade. It would help my seniors create the necessary database for their college or career applications by allowing them to gather all the info in one place and clean-up their online profiles.

Strengths: It solves the problem of having student Capstone information in 3 or 4 spots - it can all be gathered together on this portfolio that their peers can see. It can help them gather their successes in one place for applications.

Suggestions for Improvement: Would it allow students to upload to their college applications, or tie-in to linkdin for career? Is it portable to other platforms?

Verdict: This would make the senior portfolio easier for the seniors and allow them to catalogue their experiences as they happen instead of trying to figure out what should be in their portfolios two or three years after the fact.

Teacher, School Type: High School, Other, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to help my adult-ed students create a digital footprint and portfolio for resumes and job applications. This would help some of my disadvantaged students manage their presence online.

Strengths: This product presents students in a positive way that will highlight their strengths. It helps to bridge the disconnect between students and jobs.

Suggestions for Improvement: Give teachers the ability to edit student content, this is a deal-breaker for students who are engaged in the justice system.

Verdict: I would recommend this because student created online portfolios are a graduation requirement for my school. Also it would be empowering for my students.

sarrie, Activities Coordinator. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: My first thought when seeing it was to use it as a reflection project with our student council. They could do individually to highlight their experience and have photos, etc to show what they were involved in. Or we could do as a whole group.

Strengths: It is an easy way for students to showcase themselves and their work. It is easy to use and I like how everyone that would use it would be set up the same way.

Suggestions for Improvement: One improvement I would like to see would be able to change the word "my" to "our" so could be used for a class or group.

Verdict: It is a wonderful tool for students to showcase their work. It is easy to share and to use.

Jaime, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to do physics experiments.

Strengths: The pocketLab is a vesital tool to hat can have many applications for physics class. I particularly like the multi-sensor feature that can change sensitivity levels. I also think that the lessons available on line are very usefully.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see many more lessons for elementary and middle school. The tool could be made more appealing.

Verdict: I see this tool as a multi experiment application

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up