Product Index
Curriculum Products
Categories: Curriculum Platforms and Math
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I love Zeal! I would use this to informally assess my students. I would allow them to play on Zeal to determine what I need to reteach or teach next. I would use this as independent practice for my students to work on their own, but I was told that I can also project this and work problems out with my students on the board, which is wonderful.

Strengths: 1. I love that Zeal is visually appealing and fun for the students. i like how they can earn characters and see their product. This solves the problem of lack of motivation with all the testing, related to the new Smarter Balanced. 2. I love how this is data driven. It solves the problem of the teacher needing to figure out what the students can and cannot do. It tells me how to drive my instruction and what I should focus on. 3. I really like how this product is organized. I love how it has the Common Core standards and it is organized in an easy way to read and see. I love the various colors used to help see quickly see which standards are mastered and which are not.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. I know this is coming, but I look forward to seeing how the website will incorporate more than just multiple choice questions. I like how it will have drag and drop, constructed response, etc.
2. I am wondering how easily data will be accessible and available to teachers and students when they add features in addition to multiple choice. How will it work when there is a constructed response?
3. Can't think of anything else. I am looking forward to the changes that will model Smarter Balanced.

Verdict: I would recommend Zeal because it is fun, motivating, educational, and helpful for teachers and students. I like how students are assessed in an informal, engaging way. They earn credit and characters, which I think they will love. I would recommend it because teacher can easily access data and use it to drive their instruction. I would also recommend it because it will be helpful and models Smarter Balanced.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it after math lessons to see which students got the content and to see which students did not. I would use the data to determine if I can go on to the next lesson or if I need to reteach the lesson.

Strengths: Time saving - making copies as well as saving paper. Helps teacher with grading and grouping students. It is visually appealing to the students as well as the teacher for grouping students. It gives students another media for formative assessment. It also is appealing to students in such a way that it is fun, while not making it feel like a test. Tests can be intimidating, and it can also give real results, since students are more relaxed. They think it is a game, so it allows them to try harder than they would probably do on a "real" test.

Suggestions for Improvement: Are there pre-made assessments that are aligned with common core math? Also, are there pre-made assessments across all subjects or do they need to be created by the teacher?

Verdict: It saves a lot of time (making copies) and money. It saves times on making copies, as well as grading and grouping students. It gives the teacher a visual aid of how well the class is doing as a whole, and which students need help.

Sara, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this daily to set goals and assess using exit tickets. I particularly like how it will push students who are fast finishers or who master content quicker than their peers. Although I teach Nonfiction, I can customize which standards my students will be targeting during their exit tickets.

Strengths: This product turns assessment into a game and allows students to compete against each other in real time (student avatars are projected onto the board and they race against each other). It also allows teachers to set class-wide and student-specific learning targets, which is perfect for differentiation.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would expand the question types. Right now, there are only multiple choice questions, but the reps told me that more types are in the works. Also, I would love to be able to create my own questions. Other than that, I have no more suggestions.

Verdict: This tool would help students to stay engaged and motivated during the lesson because they will get to play a game at the end. My students master content quicker when they know they will get feedback at the end of the lesson. They are also driven by game-like interfaces.

Lisa, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product daily if every student had access to a computer. I would use this product currently as a workshop activity.

Strengths: This product contains a variety of ways students can learn and excell in specific Common Core Standards. This prou provides ways to enhance math skills in money, time, number concepts, fact families and place value. There is an excellent feature for creating a student profile to monitor student mastery and track individual student progress essential for differentiating lessons and assessing students mastery of skills and Common Core Standards.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if students didn't need to set up their own email account since teaching first graders to log in is time consuming. It would be great to see a feature for teachers to share with parents to practice games at home and monitor their child's progress.

Verdict: I would recommend this product as a tool for monitoring student progress in mastery of standards in mathematics, tracking individual student progress. I would use it to customize students to their level of learning and enhance their progress in a motivating way.

Nicol, Teacher Leader (Tech). School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Zeal would be used as a way to gamify the "test" prep process. The alignment of Zeal content with Common Core, saves time for teachers in seeking out/assessing materials. Zeal should probably be used 15-20 minutes daily, but weekly would also be acceptable.

Strengths: Product contains questions aligned to common core. The gamified approach to assessing students potentially keeps them engaged. Teacher time spent searching for review materials and time in-class to review is reduced. Teachers can also track student progress. I can see this also being beneficial for use as a reward/incentive, due to the gamified nature. Also appreciate the text to speech feature for your EL students.

Suggestions for Improvement: Login is simple, but the set up of student accounts could be enhanced. An option for admins to view school-wide data may be helpful. Also, any consideration for a second language (text) would be nice.

Verdict: Teachers are often seeking materials to prepare/assess students on CCSS. Zeal may be an answer to the quest. Using Zeal school-wide somewhat streamlines the range of materials used.

Elizabeth, Resident Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Blended Learning
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this program to supplement my students' learning needs. I think it's great that the students get a live coach to help them work out a particular difficult program that they've attempted multiple times. I would use it in the classroom during review sessions when I know students are not getting a particular concept and I can't currently get to them.

Strengths: Coaches are able to see where students are struggling and the student is guided by the coach on where mistakes were made.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think it would be neat to have students have more management on the standards they are working on perhaps based on a diagnostic assessment that can be assigned. If students had access to this program at home, to work on their own time I think parents would appreciate them especially when they aren't able to help their child.

Verdict: I would recommend this tool because the student get a live coach to tackle problems they are having difficulty with. Additionally it tells me what level my students are at within a certain common core standard.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use Zeal as a form of informal assessments and guided reteach. Zeal is a great tool to help teachers differenciate assignments.

Strengths: Zeal helps translate data into action. You know exactly where your students are at. It allows you to gain access and see the different areas students are struggling in. I love the fact there are friendly student competition. All students can participate in the race at their own level. This creates student confidence, participation and motivation! Best of all, it's free!

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be really wonderful if there were a pre and post assessment throughout each topic. This will help students and teachers track progress and mastery. Another great addition to Zeal would be a home account for students. It would be nice for students to also practice at him with their parents.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it has 10,000 assessment items for K-8 in both ELA and Math It also can be used as exit tickets for the class.

Tosa, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this tool after a direct instruction math or language arts lesson to assess my students understanding of the concepts taught. I would also help it to give information about their learning gaps from previous grade levels.

Strengths: I love that this program is a free and quick way of using exit tickets to guide instruction.

Suggestions for Improvement: This could be improved in two main ways. I wish that it had more processes to study trends across the students in the class. I also would like the exit tickets to align to particular curriculum. It is AWESOME that it currently aligns to CCSS, but it would be fantastic if a teacher using EurekaMath could select the exit ticket for the lesson that had just been taught in class.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it is free, it has an existing database of common core aligned questions, and it provides immediate and helpful feedback to both you and the students.

Rob, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as a check on student learning, such as an Exit Ticket and also as supplemental work such as at home.
Since we do not have 1:1 student:computer ratio, I would not be able to use it daily as much as I would want.

Strengths: I am excited to check out this product and see how I can use it as more than just an exit ticket to do formative assessment.

It is very engaging and kid friendly and gives a quick and easy way to see how students are comprehending what we are doing.

Suggestions for Improvement: Building a way to integrate it into Classroom.Google.com would be a great way to extend the ease of using this so students would not need yet another log-in and password to memorize.

Verdict: I would advocate for use of this as a check on student learning, such as an Exit Ticket to serve as a form of Formative Assessment which can give me fairly quick feedback on student understanding.

Mia, Rti. School Type: Elementary School
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it as an ongoing assessment and as a motivational tool in the classroom.

Strengths: Great for literacy and math ongoing assessments. It will also motivate students to try their best so they can get "coins" which they can use to modify an avatar. The product can be used as an app or the web, so there is no excuse it can't be used.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be nice to have with k-12. As a reading tutor on the side, I have a lot of students needing comprehension in high school. This app could help keep track of their progress. Furthermore, I'm not sure what type of texts are offered, but fiction and nonfiction texts should be included.

Verdict: The best part of it is that it is free! It also hits both math AND literacy. As a reading teacher it's great to have prompts with questions that are aligned with common core. Students will also love the ability to modify their avatar.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up