Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Robin, Science Teacher. School Type: Middle School
Nov 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to create video "tours" for all of the various science concepts I teach throughout the year. I would show these in class or perhaps use them as an adjunct to "flipped" lessons by asking my students to view them at home. I might also video certain classroom lessons (like the ones we do before winter or spring break, when lots of kids ae absent) so that absentees could make up THE ACTUAL LESSON.

Strengths: It uses a lot of the video editing tools that are now common to other applications, so the learning curve will be a little less steep. I LOVE that it allows you to take clips of longer videos - I could imagine doing a lot of really fun stuff with this! A big PLUS is the ability to use your own video in the tours, and the social aspect of the discussion feature is impressive.

Suggestions for Improvement: This looks like an amazing product and I would definitely love to have it in my classroom. A whole lot of thought and work has certainly been expended here. Nevertheless, it's not cheap( $79./ year, soon to go up to $89.) and you need to re-up every year if you want to keep the fully functional program , which includes that very nifty "discussion" feature ( however the "tours" you create are available to you "forever"). I would definitely use the free version, and then ask the PTA for the yearly subscription fee.

Verdict: This tool can put the lesson right where the kids are - in class, at home, or in Hawaii on vacation - and it can allow them to access content, be part of a discussion, or respond. I like the fact that the tour is archived and accessible 24/7, and I also like that it gives me a way to create precisely tailored video highlights and then save those great YouTube videos from year to year. It's like having a digital extension to my teacher's guide!

Dino, 4th Grade Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Nov 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use Zaption as a way of incorporating videos into my daily journal write assignments. I can also use it as a check for understanding segment of a direct instruction lesson.

Strengths: Zaption allows videos to be more interactive. It also allows teachers to zero in the students focus on critical parts of the video by including questions and additional content.

Suggestions for Improvement: The free basic package has limited options and the "pro" package is pricey if a teacher was paying for it out of pocket.

Verdict: You can use Zaption to incorporate video and technology into the classroom. You can use YouTube videos or self made videos as part of a lesson or as a source of information for a writing assignment.

Coach, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As an academic coach, I could create video guides on general PD subjects. Teachers could use this to flip class, differentiate instruction and increase engagement during the lesson

Strengths: Versatility The amount of videos available and ability to crop videos and mashup videos. Allows for multiple levels of engagement

Suggestions for Improvement: At this point it appears complete as they are continuing to add partners like Discovery education.

Verdict: 1. Multiple method of engagement 2. Especially helpful for helping those teachers who insist on showing videos constantly in class and giving our video guides which actually stop students for understanding many parts of the video 3. Free 4. Easy

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: In the class to give students an assignment to do at home for research or extra credit

Strengths: The strengths is that all students like videos and its a good way to keep them focused and they can answer many question from

Suggestions for Improvement: Make it more educational for sports and find a way to communicate with the parents.

Verdict: I would recommend this products because it offers high quality videos, you can customize your videos and lessons. It also allows you to add text to the video and questions. you are able to upload and add you own.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School
Nov 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use Zaption to have students interact with educational videos. Students would answer questions before continuing along in the video.

Strengths: I enjoy the questioning throughout the video do students are always forced to watch actively. I like being able to modify videos to fit my needs.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great to be able to track students' responses as informal assessments.

Verdict: I would recommend this tool to ensure that both teachers and students are getting as much as they can out of educational videos.

Lance, Tech Specialist. School Type: Middle School, High School, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to make videos interactive and allow students to create interactive, project-based videos.

Strengths: Easy interface... simple to add to the mix. It makes what would normally be a one way medium interactive.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Make the text screen not shade the entire screen. 2. Create an offline capability... 3. Have numerous ways for interactivity by user level...

Verdict: It is an easy and fun way to make a video interactive and check for understanding. It also can inform me what students understand.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use the video for assignment. It would be great that students have to answer questions while watching the video instead of just watching it.

Strengths: It solve the problem of student pretend watch the video, because they have to answer the questions. They would pay attention to the assignment.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like it the program can recommend a video when search for a topic or theme

Verdict: I would recommend this tool because it is interactive and easy to use

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to support my students in a history class where simply reading primary source documents or even the textbook doesn't provide for complete context. I love how Zaption allows teachers to choose the right online media that brings history to life.

Strengths: I love how this is a better version of EduCanon in the fact that Zaption allows for teachers to embed short answer responses from the students while they are watching videos in class. I also love how students cannot skip through a video unless they answer the questions. I also love how students can log-in via their Gmail/GoogleClassroom username, thus centralizing the assignment even further for our students.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. I would change how the Discussion Board's availability should be free instead of $70/year. 2. I would suggest the company to offer a "school plan" where teachers wouldn't have to pay out of pocket and require the district to pay the fee instead. 3. I would suggest that the company adds a text or piece of non-fiction students can read/analyze as they are going through the video. That way student literacy skills are supported while allowing them to gain context.

Verdict: I would recommend Zaption because it allows teachers to provide context with what the students are reading, allows for teachers to ask questions and requires students to respond, provides actionable data to teachers about what their students understand, provide think time for students when they are interpreting videos and complex texts.

Caroline, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Nov 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product when introducing new content i.e. grammar, multiplication, reading: predicting, inferring to fully engage my students. I would also use this in small group instruction.

Strengths: Zaption allows media to be part of the curriculum in a positive way. For instance, teachers can enhance an academic subject by looking more deeply into a suggested issue and/or question. I can show a video about solving a word problem and insert a multiple choice question or an Explain Your Thinking question at certain parts of the video. Students can go back to a clip and watch it again to answer questions, too. I also like how teachers have the option to choose whether students can fast forward to a problem or not.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if there were videos organized by grade level specific subjects.

Verdict: I recommend using this product because I haven't seen any other type of product like it in our schools. I like how we can use videos for a specific academic reason rather than just entertainment. I also like how you can insert questions at certain parts of the video and the "write-in" feature as well.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would invite students to watch videos of relevance to class lessons and share the experience with classmates. I would introduce videos and have students propose videos of their own choosing.

Strengths: When I introduce a topic that lends itself to video (such as presenting a new culture or a historical event), I would offer students videos to watch, and/or let them propose videos of their own. I'd monitor and guide the conversations students had about the videos, and use that material to inform class discussion and subsequent class activities.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would add tools to let students more easily insert their own homemade or class-made videos into the program. I would add audio comments, letting students record their own voices. I would expand the selection of videos by partnering with expert organizations like public television and universities.

Verdict: Students love videos. Everybody loves videos! So it's a natural to integrate videos into the classroom, provided you do it thoughtfully. Zaption seems to make video viewing an interactive, productive activity. I think this is a great way to engage students.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up