Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Akbar, Sped Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this during my weekly mentoring program for our African descent young men in our My Brothers Keeper program. It would be very helpful during our tutoring hour twice a week.

Strengths: One of the strengths of this tool allows educators to empower students to actually cultivate their ability to dig for answers themselves. Also the around the clock online availability of the tool gives students a greater margin of success in learning and improving challenging areas.

Suggestions for Improvement: I can't think of three improvements, however one thing that I think may help with our students is perhaps implement some music to further attract students to engage with the tutors.

Verdict: Based on my conversation with Michael, and my understanding of middle school students, the ease of use is very attractive. The user interface is very similar to snapchat which is awesome.

Umar, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would offer this as an available tutor to support those students that need a math topic explained by someone else because they are not finding the support in class

Strengths: It is text based so most students will have access, students can learn the skill without having to talk in class.

Suggestions for Improvement: I am wondering if they have software / systems implemented that would detect when personal contact info would be shared by a student user. I would put the privacy policy in a more prominent spot on the website. I would also like to see ELA offerings

Verdict: I would recommend this because it is available 24/7, has knowledgeable tutors, is text based, and offers clear data of usage

Student, School Type: High School
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to get help on math problems that no one else can help on.

Strengths: Very simple to use and well made. The people are friendly and the program is easy.

Suggestions for Improvement: (1) It seems like even though they say its instantaneously it is a little slow. (2) If there was a computer app. (3) the app is a little buggy and maybe slow i would have to use it more to fully agree with this though

Verdict: The people are very friendly and it is an easy program to use.

Principal, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would assign access to intervention students so that they could request homework help. It could also be used to assign help to students who are working at an advanced level on a more independent basis.

Strengths: This supports students who do not have someone at home that can help them with math homework. It could also provide some help within the school day for students who are working independently.

Suggestions for Improvement: I'm wondering if parents signed their child up for the service, is there still a way that a teacher can track their usage and progress? Or would this only work if they signed up for help through a school?

Verdict: It fills a need for something that we don't already have an answer for. Any student with a phone can easily access this support.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: A tutoring service for parents to use for their kids!

Strengths: THis uses a platform that the students are used to (like Snapchat) and it is available 24/7. Students who need tutoring generally do not want to stop in class after school, so this lets them do it, or use it, on their own time.

Suggestions for Improvement: Add more subjects. THe price point is fine, but at 6th grade, there would not be a widespread use in math. I can see only about 3-4 students per class.

Verdict: THis is easy for kids to use, and kids would be motivated to use it.

Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Helping student with assignment and lessons they cant catch quick enough in the large classroom sizes

Strengths: Help students in real time with topics such as higher level math that most parents and guardians dont understand.

Needs some sort of audio to help students who need to hear to learn.

Suggestions for Improvement: Needs text to speech for students who cant see well or need to hear the instructions

Not much i like how it protects both the learner and the tutor

Verdict: It would benefit my students

Digital Learning Coach, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This product would would be used with 3-12 students to receive interactive tutoring support for math, chemistry, and physics.

Strengths: Students have access to a comfortable tutoring format 24-7 for math, physics, and chemistry. Students just take a picture of a problem they have and then they can get support. Tutors do not give answers, they lead students to understanding.

Suggestions for Improvement: Tutoring could be offered in multiple languages.
There could be an audio option.
Tutoring offered in more subject areas.

Verdict: Many of our students do not have access to support to complete homework in a way that helps them actually learn and understand what they are doing. Many sights only provide answers, but this is an interactive tutoring app that students use in real time with a real vetted tutor. All of the interactions are text based, which is the way the majority of our students communicate and feel comfortable accessing information. More comfortable than in the classroom.

Arun, Student. School Type: High School, Project Based School
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use Project Foundry to track my progress through my projects, internships, and learning. I submit different proposals for different things.

Strengths: The program is downloadable on your phones. It will help you solve math, and science problems.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if I could help other peers, too.

Verdict: I would recommend it because it has a different perspective on help than other programs.

Kathleen, Teacher. School Type: High School
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would recommend it to the district and my students

Strengths: Kids can use their device

Suggestions for Improvement: Make it a reasonable price

Verdict: Students could use this to learn the hard subjects

Tk Test Tk, School Type: Higher Education, Blended Learning
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: TK Test TK

Strengths: TK Test TK

Suggestions for Improvement: TK Test TK

Verdict: TK Test TK

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up