Product Index
Curriculum Products
Categories: Language Arts and Writing
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
LaKisha, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Jan 28, 2017

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as a tool to help my students gain a better understanding of the writing process.

Strengths: Many students struggle with writing and it seems this product provides a platform for students to gain an understanding of the writing process and improve their writing.

Suggestions for Improvement: Not sure what I would change. I think after implementing this in my classroom I would be a better judge of what needs to be improved. I know it can export to google docs, so an improvement maybe would be to import from google docs.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because I believe the anonymous peer review is extremely valuable, as well as the break down of the writing process.

2nd Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Jan 28, 2017

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would incorporate it in my weekly planning and revisit it daily as time allows.

Strengths: It's engaging and provides the necessary practice that's needed. I like the choices of the pictures that students can chhose to write about, which aligns itself with our stuent writing prompts.

Suggestions for Improvement: At this point I can't think of anything I'd change about this product. It's great to know that one is in operation. It's not dry and we can follow the progress of students.

Verdict: I'd recommend it because we don't have enough materials on it and cerainly not in a computer format that engages students. It also woule prepare them for upcoming assessments.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School
Jan 28, 2017

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it for quick writes and writing assessments.

Strengths: I think it provides a scaffold way for students to review their writing. Students would be guided to through how to provide feedback.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would have an easier way to log in for students, a quicker way for teachers to grade all writing at one time and a way for the writing to be set as anonymous for teachers to provide unbiased feedback.

Verdict: I would recommend it because I like the grade level rubrics that the site provides. it is a good way to use for bench mark assessments.

Rachel, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Jan 28, 2017

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: It seems like a great tool but I don't think that it would be very effective in my math class.

Strengths: I think it is really cool that you can peer review on this website. It is so much easier than collecting the papers and passing them back out or having students switch with a partner. It saves the teacher a lot of time because the peer reviewer marks if they hit the criteria or not and the teacher can then look for specifics in the students' writing.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would have more of a online grading system in it as well, other than peer reviews. Maybe a scanner that looks for certain things. I'm not sure if it also checks for similarity but that would be very helpful as well. Have a discussion board component as well so the students and teacher can communicate about specifics on their papers.

Verdict: I would recommend it for other subject areas. It is cool that it brings in peer reviewing so that students can learn from each other. I would spread the word and let the administrators know about this tool but I wouldn't follow up because it wouldn't be that useful in my classroom.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Jan 28, 2017

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this for the students to be able to read and critique each others writing.

Strengths: I like that when students are critiquing each others that the students stay anonymous that way no one can get embarrassed.

Suggestions for Improvement: I just learned about this product and i feel i would need more time with it to give improvements . but i feel there should be more science content that what is currently available.

Verdict: at my school writing is a big deal this year because our students do not do very well at it so i would pitch it to my principal as a way for the students to still write but also be able to use their chrome books watch a video and write. Students would be practicing their writing and also be critiquing peers work.

Computer Lab Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, College Prep School
Jan 28, 2017

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use it to improve writing skills with my students.

Strengths: You can customize your writing skills for students. It will teach students to review other students' writing.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be good to have pretesting writing for students.
I would like to see more sample work from other schools or just a sample of how a student improved in his/her writing skills.

Verdict: I would like to try the product with students before I recommend Writable. It is possible to try that since it is in beta form this year.

Andrew, Staff Development Specialist. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Other, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Jan 28, 2017

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: This would be a great tool for our special educators in providing distributed practice in writing.

Strengths: The product provides focused practice in writing that can be earmarked for the needs of students.

Suggestions for Improvement: Add instructional option suggestions to support teachers who have difficulty in teaching the writing process to students who have specific needs in this area.

Verdict: I would recommend the product as a way to provide consistent , focused practice in writing.

Bobbi, Teacher. School Type: Middle School
Jan 28, 2017

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product so students could monitor their own writing progress, provide peer review and see mentor texts, and to develop endurance in writing.

Strengths: This product gives teachers a flexible platform to scaffold writing instruction and feedback. The customizable directions also allow for differentiation. I also like that the text on the page can be translated using Google translate. Great for our EL students.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like an interface to Google Classroom. Also, I would like to be able to open a window that shows a mentor text.

Verdict: The process of writing is transparent to students who use this product. They will be able to see the progress of their own writing and to view how other students approach the same writing assignment.

Physical Education, School Type: Middle School
Jan 28, 2017

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would definitely use this product to help students on writing assignments.

Strengths: This product will give students interest in writing. Most students despise writing assignments, but writable could change that. The like how the product is currently free.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would include the option of mobile capability for teachers and students.

Verdict: 1. Great/easy interface
2. Offers great activities for students to interest them.
3. Easy to give feedback

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up