Product Index
Curriculum Products
Categories: Math and Language Arts
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Cicely, K Teacher & Parent Ed. Facilitator. School Type: Elementary School, Other, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I can see myself using this product in my daily language arts and math lessons with my Kindergarten students. I love the idea of teaching academic concepts through movement blended with engaging visual content. I also like the idea of the short 7-10 minute format. It is perfect for K students at their developmental level.

I also facilitate parenting workshops at my site, so I would definitely want to present this to parents as a tool they could use at home with their students.

Strengths: Overall, I love the idea of this product because I'm a big advocate of movement in learning. It seems very well thought out and I love the easy to use Common Core and Grade level aligned filters. I also love the way it archives the lessons you've used already to make them easy to access at a later time. I find that it would be very user friendly for even the most technophobic teacher.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be nice to add a feature that allows the user to change the character "guide" to suit your audience preferences. (i.e. provide a variety of genders, ages, ethnicities, and maybe even animal or make-believe characters to choose from)

Not sure if possible, be maybe feature a few downloadable videos or prefab walkabouts that teachers can still use when our internet fails--which it often does in classrooms- at the most inopportune times.

Verdict: I'd recommend it because we have identified greater student engagement across all classrooms as one of our schoolwide goals and also a goal of teaching practices informed by the most current brain research. This program seems to address both in a very easy to implement way.

Lucy, Kindergarten Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to reinforce concepts taught in math and language arts. I would also use it as intervention for students who need extra support.

Strengths: This product incorporates movement really well into learning math and language arts concepts.

Suggestions for Improvement: Perhaps it's there but I didn't see it in the demo but it would be nice to track student performance with a standard over time so I could see that eventually they mastered something that they didn't get the first time around. I would also have more worksheets and links to resources for parents or teachers.

Verdict: I recommend this product because of the recent research showing that children learn more when movement is incorporated into the lesson. When more of the mind is engaged, more learning is involved. I like that parents can be so easily informed of how their child is performing in school in such detail.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to teach reading, rhyming and phonemic awareness in my TK classroom.

Strengths: Hands on experience for students, very animated, able to send emails to parents about what each students needs work on. Teachers get to assign lessons for students to work at home. In addition, students have access to the website at home.

Suggestions for Improvement: Make product available to individual teachers and not by grade level. It is hard to convince other teachers at your grade level to purchase the program as a team. Some teachers at my school are not very technology sabby and will not decide to buy it.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because the students will get to practice different skills that are taught in the classroom.

Prek Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Other, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to teach counting and letters to my prek students. I would use it during large group and do activities together as an interactive activity while learning math or language arts.

Strengths: This product would really work well for the little ones (prek) because it looks like a game that you interact with. Not only does it look like a game but you get to see your classmates engaging in it and if you don't know what you are doing you can learn from your friend. I also like that it is aligned with the standards and the game is for math and language arts.

Suggestions for Improvement: The only thing I found that I would have a problem with is the way my projector is in my classroom there would be a problem showing the students on screen while having them jog, run, or walk in the classroom without the screen being blocked

Verdict: I would recommend this product because students need a little more active learning. Some students can't sit for 3 minutes and can distract other students when teaching.

Sara, Director Of Innovation And Learning. School Type: Elementary School, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: With whole or small groups.

Strengths: This product gets kids moving in a safe way. Kids remember what they've learned when there is an association to movement.

Teachers can take notes and roam!

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. If there were offline options that the teacher or the students could lead, that would be nice. I am sure you could invent them on your own, but if they provided ideas, that would be great.

Verdict: Adding Total Physical Response to lessons is good for both the body and the mind.

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I like the idea of not doing the traditional text-book style lessons. By giving students an activity they can do by being active is a very compelling idea.

Strengths: The strength of the product is in the idea of it. The idea of a "quest" style of activity can be a very compelling one.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) I'm not sure what the lesson plans look like but give the teachers as many resources as possible.
2) The ability to create and share lessons?
3) Some kind of feedback loop between teachers and students concerning the activities.

Verdict: I would recommend it especially given the fact that a lot of schools are going the Project based learning route, and this sounds just like something that would fit in that kind of curriculum.

Helena, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as a mid concept quick check for understanding. I would also use it to assign homework to students who are struggling. This would be great to use in a whole group to do at the start of a unit as well.

Strengths: The engagement aspect of Walkabout is great! It makes learning fun and adds something new to the classroom. I also like that it can be used at home for added learning or as homework. The use of the product for all 12 months, not just the school year, will allow students to have fun and learn even when they are not in school.

Suggestions for Improvement: The price!!! For a single school site it is around $700! It's a great product but not likely to be used by my school or district due to the price.

Verdict: It can be used by all students in all grades, which is always a bonus. I would also recommend it because it gets the whole body involved in learning, which improves student engagement and understanding. Also, what kid doesn't like to jump and dance around the classroom?

Tech Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I love this idea of this program! I think students, especially the younger grades, should move more during the day. I would use this all throughout the day.

Strengths: Definitely haven't seen anything on the market like this before. It works across the devices and is flexible in use. Definitely gets the kids out of their seats and also learning.

Suggestions for Improvement: Animation is ok. I think I would get characters that the kids could maybe choose? It makes the program and learning more personalized.

Verdict: The kids are learning at the same time as moving their bodies. Kinesthetic learning is key!

Sue, Tosa Sped. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to reinforce ELA and math common core lessons in our special educations classrooms.

Strengths: I would use it to reinforce ELA and math common core lessons in our special educations classrooms. This product is great to get the kids moving and larning.

Suggestions for Improvement: I can't think of any way to improve the product at this time.

Verdict: I would use it to reinforce ELA and math common core lessons in our special educations classrooms. I would recommend it for the total physical movement with the academics.

Teacher/ Director, School Type: Elementary School
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use the product whole class to integrate movement with learning and also in centers for independent learning.

Strengths: The strength is the integration of movement with learning. Children need more opportunities for exercise in a society that has become sedentary.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if the program could be used in the upper grades.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it integrates physical movement with learning. Also, the mate rails are aligned with National and State standards.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up