Product Index
Curriculum Products
Categories: Language Arts and Games
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Stacy, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as an enrichment. Our school is an extended and low-level Broward school, so this would help with our literacy and classroom vocabulary.

Strengths: It helps the teachers reinforce their language arts and literacy concepts and it would help as an assistive resource in remediation and/or intervention for all students, especially the lower-level students.

Suggestions for Improvement: This already has many things that I would love to add to the curriculum and I would only add in more for concepts in the same way but not change anything. This program is great for what they offer in spelling and vocabulary.

Verdict: This program reinforces vocabulary and spelling which would help with our reading fluency and then reading comprehension. Our school needs all the remediation possible and I believe this would be very beneficial to get our students targeted intervention to help with our grade levels in literacy.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use it for homework. It allows me to assign spelling and vocabulary homework in a fun way.

Strengths: Easy for teachers to use. Kids like using it. Customizable.

Suggestions for Improvement: Where you have the printed list area...make it have more than 1 list print out. I hand the lists out to my students to put in a notetbook and have to copy and paste the list several times anyway...why not have you guys do that for us.

Have an area for assignments for kids that have assignments...otherwise they go to play games and never do the assignments.

Verdict: It is a fun way to learn. It is very teacher friendly and customizable.

Gayle, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this in my literacy block in the classroom and also for homework and remediation.

Strengths: The program has the option of using pre-loaded lists or creating my own.

Suggestions for Improvement: I'm not sure if having a set group of "games" is so good, as I'm afraid the kids may get to a saturation point with doing repetative tasks, even though the words change.

Verdict: First of all it is loaded with the lists that align with our reading series, I can make my own lists, and it "kills 2 birds with 1 stone" in that it requires tech skills as it develops literacy skills.

Dept Chair, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I use to help my students improve their spelling skills. I work with special needs population on the lower end of the spectrium. It allows them to play games while learning how to spell and use new vocabulary.

Strengths: I use to help my students improve their spelling skills. I work with special needs population on the lower end of the spectrium. It allows them to play games while learning how to spell and use new vocabulary. I like it because it allows me to keep track of their spelling skills and data to meet their IEP needs. I can use it to show how their spelling skills have improved and show growth through the information provided in the program. I have students that have issues with spelling, not only can the type and play games, but I can give them encuragments on it. My big thing is I can keep data on the student, print it out at the end of the year and keep it for IEP data to show improvment.

Suggestions for Improvement: PRICE: I only have 8 students but must buy a min of 25 student subscription. They need to reformat their website to make it more user friendly. It's hard to navigate at time, especially for my students. The spelling test, it's hard for them to hear the words and they confuse the sounds. Break up the words into sounds as an option eg dog /d/-/o/-/g/. THey can't understand the 'computer' sound. The lists need to be better organized for the teacher to access.

Verdict: I use to help my students improve their spelling skills. I work with special needs population on the lower end of the spectrium. It allows them to play games while learning how to spell and use new vocabulary. I like it because it allows me to keep track of their spelling skills and data to meet their IEP needs. I can use it to show how their spelling skills have improved and show growth through the information provided in the program.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I used this program as an additional resource to provide vocabulary strengthening skills to my students using a different set of words each week. Students were assigned specific daily activities from Monday to Friday. The use of this program helped my students achieve mastery in the use of vocabulary skills.

Strengths: This program allows students to engage in teacher created activities that promote student engagement in the area of vocabulary skills. Students have a chance to learn in a non-threatening environment. They are usually attracted by the game format and the user friendliness of the program. I enjoyed using this program with my students.

Suggestions for Improvement: Some aspects of the program are only available if you subscribe and pay more. I would make it more affordable for educators to have access to some of the resources from this program.

Verdict: I certainly recommend this program because I have used it and have seen it work with my class. My students were able to not only practice crucial skills on a daily basis, but they were also able to show improvements in many areas of Reading. The use of this program enabled me to challenge my students to become familiar with not only grade level but also above grade level vocabulary words.

Stem Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This product is great to allow students to work independently on spelling and vocabulary tasks. The kids love the games. The teachers can set their own lists of words or use ones that are already linked to the reading textbooks.

Strengths: it saves some time and the games are fun. The lists that come from the textbooks are very useful. I like that different words could be assigned to different students. IT does include a way to grade sentences and paragraphs but it isn't that great.

Suggestions for Improvement: some games are too easy. the data isn't always easy to export to other programs. This means I don't save that much time.

I would love to see more grammar integrated. There is some sentence and paragraph writing but it takes too long to grade. It would be nice if it could be more streamlined.

Verdict: I like that students can work independently. Teachers also have a lot of control over the assignments and get data that can be used for grading.

1st Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I use this product as a homework assignment. My students are able to sign on this website at home or at the library. I also have my students use this tool during their computer center time.

Strengths: It provides various ways for students to practice Spelling and Vocabulary Words.

Suggestions for Improvement: Some games are not able to be played on tablets or mobile devices. Also, It would be nice if I was able to set the Spelling Words for a set time and date to automatically change.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it is closely aligned with my reading program purchased from the district. Students are able to play games and activities to practice their current Spelling and Vocabulary Words.

Librarian, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I use it to manage and track behavior. I also allow its use for homework assignments. Well use it for class lessons an review.

Strengths: The highlighting tool is helpful and the student can learn strategies from it. It's also great for tracking progress among the grade levels.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would need a pre assessment lesson for classroom use. I would like to see more work for fourth and fifth grade levels. It could have a primary and it Oreo lessons.

Verdict: We can have use the tool to track reading.

Dept Chair, School Type: High School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this software with elementary school children who struggle with spelling and increasing their vocabulary. If a student does not have an extensive vocabulary at their grade level, they will be falling behind when they get to middle and high school. Since it all goes hand-in-hand!!! In Reading, once elementary school children have mastered phonics, fluency, vocabulary and then reading comprehension, vocabulary instruction is critical to continue that momentum!!! This is a wonderful tool!!!

Strengths: I am impressed with this software!!! Students in elementary school will really benefit from additional vocabulary instruction, and make spelling fun for them!!! The graphics are really kid-friendly as well!!!

Suggestions for Improvement: The students would really benefit from this program, I cannot think of anything to improve the product, it is fine just the way it is!!!

Verdict: I would definitely advocate for the use of this software. Young children need programs like this to reinforce what they already know, and scaffolding previous lessons. This would definitely help with higher scores for the Florida Standards Assessment Test (FSA) in ELA.

Mia, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this tool in all parts of my daily learning: reading groups, whole group and centers. This would also be a resource I would encourage students and parents to use at home to reinforce material we are learning in the classroom.

Strengths: I really wish there was a free component for at least some of the vocabulary features and not just the spelling features. This would allow teacher to try out the pay portion more and then consider making the purchase for the premium level.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Price 2) Whole class login managed by the teacher 3) Free level of Vocab

Verdict: I would reccomend this product to help teachers at my school be able to access all resources that Vocabulary Spelling City has to offer not just the free component.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up