Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Alex, Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to supplement a lesson after teaching it perhaps as a review of some sort.

Strengths: The product provides great visuals for ELL or ped populations. I like that if you cannot find anything appealing in the library, you can creat your own. It is almost like an alternative to powerpoint which we really need in this day and age. The effects it contains gives it much more value. Finally, it also shows reports of student progress which is dofficult to calculate and time consuming as well

Suggestions for Improvement: I am concerned about the pricing. I think it is very helpful tool, but the majority of the schools that need this type of program are also in the povery line so not sure the schools have the money to invest in them. Also, if they were to provide campus based traiing on how to create a presentation, that would really make it easier to inplement

Verdict: I would recommend this tool because the teachers lack the resources and the time to make lessons thst are targeted to our specific populations which are ELLS. I would say this would reinforce what the students learned as well as emphasizing on the reading

Cristina, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This would be a station to reinforce learning for either review, or for students who need to be retaught. I can use lessons in the library or create my own

Strengths: I can input any kind of lesson that is not already there in as little as a minute. The lesson are made by teachers across the country and they are there for me for the most part.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make the visuals more attractive for kids. The games could be more exciting. This would be great for special ed, but what about high achievers?

Verdict: The students are getting teks based activities that teach skills that I need to reinforce. They are able to complete independently. The students are engaged by the visuals as well as can hear the language being read to them in both English and Spanish.

Teacher Librarian, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: We would use this product to assign, teach and assess students on curriculum.

Strengths: (1) Presents content in a kid-firendly way; (2) allows teacher to create their own content or modify existing content; (3) is customizable to meet the needs of unique groups of students.

Suggestions for Improvement: Really, I am very impressed with the product and have nothing to comment on regarding improvement. I would only suggest to market to a wider audience as it will appeal to general education teachers as well.

Verdict: It is easy to use for both students and teachers, includes all curriculum areas and is a single platform for content, assessment and data collection.

David, Teacher. School Type: High School
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This tool is seems like a huge win for special education service providers of all types, but it looks especially promising for life skills teachers. It could be used to reinforce skills or practice toward mastery. It also tracks data meaningfully and painlessly. It creates very pretty progress reports that can be shared with all of the stakeholders in a student's educational services. It has an enormous bank of pre-made lessons, but teachers can also create their own content to customize learning opportunities for students' individual needs.

Strengths: It solves many problems at once including creating independent work for learners at a wide range of instructional levels (differentiation), a wealth of useful data on student progress (assessment), and streamlining communication between service providers. It also addresses multiple sets of standards and goals in one system.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think that this product is fantastic; however, in practice, I would probably have to duplicate a lot of information in this system from the special education documentation system that my district uses. If districts or schools adopted this as their primary documentation system, that would solve this problem.,

Verdict: As a special education teacher, this tool tackles many obstacles at once: it streamlines the creation of independent learning opportunities, it collects reliable data that can be utilized to accurately asses student progress, it serves as a hub of important instructional information for any services provider that works with a given student, and it is web-based so that it can be used anywhere.

Principal, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would have the SpEd teachers use this with the SpEd students during resource time. The GenEd teachers could use this during center time with the Sped students.

Strengths: I think this is a great tool to use especially when Sped and GenEd teachers are in an ARD meeting.This can show parents how students have progressed and or met their PLAAFP goals. This can also show us how what standards the students have mastered.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would want this product to be accessible from home so students could use this resource on the weekends and holidays. This would prevent regression during the time the students are not at school. It would also keep the students engaged in learning.

Verdict: I don't see too many resources geared to SpEd students. This is a great resource for the Sped students to use in an inclusion and and in a resource setting. Normally, the older grade students would use resources geared to lower grade students.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to create differentiated lessons for my students in every subject

Strengths: The ability to differentiate and easily distribute lessons, plus monitor progress and collect data is what makes this product great

Suggestions for Improvement: My only concern would be taking the time to create lessons or record other languages over current lessons, but maybe once I used it I would be able to determine the ease of use

Verdict: The ability to differentiate and easily distribute lessons, plus monitor progress and collect data is what makes this product great.

Maggie, Life Skills Teacher. School Type: Middle School
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this for all more core subjects. I found GOLD with Vizzle LOVE that I found this sofware that can be used by all teachers. Teaching Special Education we pull from different programs. I feel this is the one that offers a bundle for everything. IEP's, data monitoring, progress reports, and home access. LOVE IT!!!

Strengths: The highlight of this tool is that it's linked to STAAR and STAAR-ALT. They have content for all areas that students IEP's !!! I appreciate that it is so easy to access for both teacher and student.

Suggestions for Improvement: I really see no way to improve this tool spending the 20 minutes with the presenter I failed to see any improvements that it might need.

Verdict: I would recommend this tool because of the other tools that we have used do not have all the features this tool offers. It has all content areas that my students need.

Sped, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this tool for special education students with all of their different needs.

Strengths: It has goals and objectives with lessons to match. The price might be a limiting factor for a small population of students.

Suggestions for Improvement: I saw that you could even make a new lesson as well. The price might be limiting for the small population that this would serve well.

Verdict: It has so many parts and would save time for evaultions. It has many pre made lessons.

Tanya, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I think this tool would really help me in differentiating for a classroom that includes GT students and students who are performing below grade level. I think I could see myself assigning similar lessons at different levels as independent work while I meet with small groups.

Strengths: I think the huge database of lessons is really impressive, I often find tools that have very limited included content. It could help reaching a wide spread group of learners.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. A less cluttered user interface
2. More general ed. lessons
3. More realistic graphics

Verdict: I think the extensive size of the database of lessons would be a big selling point. Many teachers on my campus are not interested in tools that require them to generate their own content.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it with my SPED students and SCORES students to help improve our sped scores.

Strengths: The data it provides would be great. It looks like there are a lot of different lessons and assessments to use. I would be able to see the progress students are making.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would suggest offering grants to teachers to try it for a year.

Verdict: I would recommend our SPED team try it along with some of the general education teachers to see if it did improve our SPED scores on STAAR. It would be great to have a trial of it for a year.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up