Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: i could use this product to appeal to the 'app' pleasing students. seeing most students own smartphones and/or tablets, this would be of gret interest to students

Strengths: this product allows the students to create their own apps which they can export to their phones and/or tablets. a sense of pride and as this allows sharing...a fabulous way of sharing what they know in a fun and innovative manner!

Suggestions for Improvement: i am curious to see how this product would work for a computer literate but not very tech savvy person. this product uses it own coding language which seems easy to understand. i hope they have a help button which would allow students and teachers have their queries answered

Verdict: this program would take the students away from the scratch pad to coding on a more advanced level. students with the knack to code could take this even further

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: this product is a little too complicated for an elementary school class

Strengths: at this time i dont feel that is product is a right fit for my classroom set up

Suggestions for Improvement: i would make the interface more streamlined for a you ger audience. this product seems like a great idea for the high school age level but a little too complicated for the primary level

Verdict: this product has too many facets for an elementary school class to take in. it seemed a little complicated for myself to understand so im not sure i would be able to help my kids understand it

Andrei, Comp Sci Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, College Prep School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use vizwik in my college level computer science classes to make small phone apps.

Strengths: Makes students focus on deductive thinking while avoiding syntax. Publishing apps is extremely user friendly. The YouTube videos are a great feature. Playing apps before purchasing is an amazing feature.

Suggestions for Improvement: Students should be notified before compilation of possible errors. i would have to use it.....but the preview feature is fantastic!

Verdict: College level students have a massive amount of difficulty with coding and especially mathematical deductive thinking. This tool removes the coding aspect, and keeps a clean interface for them. Our school needs to do a better job of promoting the college level courses.

Adriana, Teacher. School Type: Middle School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product as a second part for learning code with my students we did the full course from the hour of code and we also used scratch. My students would like to go for the second part of our learning code and I believe this could give them a good opportunity as a continuation from scratch

Strengths: It provides students with a visual way to create algorithms.

Suggestions for Improvement: It seems like one kit is very limiting for a course, I would provide a few more kits

Verdict: Students have the opportunity to Continue further and even sell the apps they create.

Coordinator, School Type: High School, Higher Education, Project Based School, College Prep School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This product allows a differentiated learning experience that I would allow for students to use in project presentation

Strengths: This allows students to be engaged in entrepreneurial and innovative thinking. I think this approach is deeply needed in the classroom as that is the future of success.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like easy to follow tutorials to teach students as well as myself how to use the basics of the program

Verdict: I would like to learn more about the coding and see it actually in use. This involves further research for myself

Teacher, Tech Support, Acting Dept. Head In Math/Bus., School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this to build apps, show students that coding is easy before we learn java

Strengths: Connects with a cell phone...tangible learning. Students miht get intersted looking at success in creating their own games-maybe competing with friends.

Suggestions for Improvement: Visuals. Background and look to see once first into the program to get me interested to stay on.

Verdict: I haven't tried it yet, seems interesting, but i haven't visualized the benefits in my classroom.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: To engage students to explore science and technology work. To deliver student led projects (ex design challenge) as assessments.

Strengths: Interesting and exciting
Relevant to students and 21st century learning
User friendly

Suggestions for Improvement: Less expensive
Teacher training
Make available offline

Not much else yet...need to explore myself first

Verdict: Easy to use platform to code and show students the possibilities of science technology in real life.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I run a programming club at my school. I would use this with that group. Hopefully the students will then, in turn, use this to create content for their subject classes.

Strengths: It brings the world of practical programming to elementary students using a really poerful, simple user interface.

Suggestions for Improvement: make it usable on ipads

Verdict: Vizwik is an amazing product that gives students power to create their own, non-trivial smart phone apps.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: i would use tool to tap into students multiple talents and exceptionalities.

Strengths: This helps students and teachers to work together to bring solutios to everyday learning needs.

Suggestions for Improvement: 'yes

Verdict: Yes

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To teach programming

Strengths: Not heldback by coding, live

Suggestions for Improvement: Interoperability

Verdict: Visual, kid friendly, instant feedback

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up