Product Index
Curriculum Products
Categories: Apps for Children and Coding
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
General Ed Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I'd use this product to teach students coding beyond the basic level.

Strengths: This product gives students age-appropriate tasks for coding. I think it'd be great for students to use after they've tried another product I saw here today, Run Marco.

Suggestions for Improvement: I'd make video tutorials for students who need extra scaffolding.

I'd at the very least make a sound instructional component for students who have trouble reading. This would speed up their processing.

I heard the recommended age range was about 11-17, I would like to see a beginner level for students just under this range. It would be more useful in my fifth grade classroom for students.

Verdict: It's at a tech literacy level that would be useful for my fifth grade students.

4th Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Nov 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: When teaching programming to students, Vidcode seems like a natural next step to programs such as Scratch which teach students elementary programming.

Strengths: Provides a next step for students learning programming that are interested in video or image editing. It solves the problem of continuing to engage students with programming using their own material (videos or images).

Suggestions for Improvement: A library of stock videos/images that students can manipulate and save.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because of the implications it has for students interested in programming. It provides a great interface for students to actively engage in programming, and see the results instantly.

Math Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would have the kids put videos together on how they do math. They could personalize it and have fun with it.

Strengths: This product allows kids to code right away
It gives them instructions on how to code
It gets more complex as the lids learn more

Suggestions for Improvement: I would show examples of how this product could do projects

I would have canned programs the kids could use to begin

i would have a math component (make a program that adds integers or make a program to solve 2 step equations)

Verdict: It seems to be easy to start and then gets more complex. Kids can personalize their own projects. Students could use it to make videos for different subjects

Megan, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: It doesn't seem intuitive. The buttons (interval, reverse...) - what do they mean? I would be nice to have a pop-up that says what they do.

I would put the picture screen across the top. It's quite small when it's on the top right corner. Students think in a linear fashion. It would be nice to have their slides going across horizontally rather than in a rectangle.

Strengths: Students love to make videos. If this is easier or have more/better features than iMovie, I would rather have the students use this.

Suggestions for Improvement: Slides of frames going across the top.

Is there an ability to review the lessons after they're given?

Is there a feature to hand draw on the computer?

Verdict: The age range targets middle and high school. My school is 1st through 8th. I think the fifth graders on up would be very interested, but the younger students would want to participate too.

How much teacher assistance would the students need to do this? If they do the stop-motion they could take the pictures themselves, but if they do the live video, they'll need a camera and assistance to upload and edit.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this resource with my high school students because a lot of them aren't use to the technology world. Specifically, with coding... they are mostly aware of how something comes together as the final product, but not the steps for how to get there.

Strengths: One strength that I noticed was that it seemed really simple to code, especially since this might new to students. Also, students could create their own projects, which makes them very excited to learn.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would have to work with the product more to see if any improvements could be made.

Verdict: I would recommend that administration use this resource, but it would open up the minds of students to see technology from a different perspective. Also, it might influence students to want to go into tech or engineering fields.

Celeste, Admin. School Type: Middle School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I see this as a elective class but also applicable for use in content courses and elective classes. we are a pbl schoolwide and absolutely applicable.

Strengths: It is most importantly teacher friendly! Once over than hurdle, I have no doubt the students will take off with interest. It's well suited for my site that wants a digital media program and to have this used for many uses.

Suggestions for Improvement: Able for staff to create their projects to model for students;
usable on iPads;
Bilingual element for dual immersion sites.

Verdict: WE are a PBL, bring your own device district. We are implementing inquiry based learning in k-12. it's a perfect fit for all grades.

Mark, Director Of It. School Type: Middle School, High School, College Prep School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to create a computer club to encourage students to learn technology. I would love to take make tours of the countries that we study, such as ancient Greece, Rome etc.
I am also going to introduce it to my grand-children.

Strengths: It provides a great environment for programming. We don't have any programming classes.

Suggestions for Improvement: Make it functional as a school. Have a component that is gradeable.
Integration with LMSs.

Verdict: It will expand our course offering and can lead to creation of elective credit.
Students can create content that helps promote our school.
It can help differentiate us from the competition.

Tech Instructor And Director, School Type: Middle School, BYOD Devices
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would have some of the more advanced students use it instead of code.org, and I would use it to lead up to my Web Design unit

Strengths: This product treats the students with respect, Middle School and High School students will not be offended by the "cutesy" nature of it as they are with code.org. Can also challenge gifted students. It also has a very seamless integration of seeing code with drag and drop programming.

Suggestions for Improvement: Have more lessons, add more languages (Python), and go beyond video. What are other applications for coding.

Verdict: Less cutesy than code.org
Solid material
has a good combination of drag and drop, and javascript syntax.

Tech Instructor And Director, School Type: Middle School, BYOD Devices
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would have some of the more advanced students use it instead of code.org, and I would use it to lead up to my Web Design unit

Strengths: This product treats the students with respect, Middle School and High School students will not be offended by the "cutesy" nature of it as they are with code.org. Can also challenge gifted students. It also has a very seamless integration of seeing code with drag and drop programming.

Suggestions for Improvement: Have more lessons, add more languages (Python), and go beyond video. What are other applications for coding.

Verdict: Less cutesy than code.org
Solid material
has a good combination of drag and drop, and javascript syntax.

Tech Instructor And Director, School Type: Middle School, BYOD Devices
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would have some of the more advanced students use it instead of code.org, and I would use it to lead up to my Web Design unit

Strengths: This product treats the students with respect, Middle School and High School students will not be offended by the "cutesy" nature of it as they are with code.org. Can also challenge gifted students. It also has a very seamless integration of seeing code with drag and drop programming.

Suggestions for Improvement: Have more lessons, add more languages (Python), and go beyond video. What are other applications for coding.

Verdict: Less cutesy than code.org
Solid material
has a good combination of drag and drop, and javascript syntax.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up