Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Anna, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product as a database for Common Core supported resources that relate to whatever topic or skill I wanted to teach. This fills a serious void for high quality CCSS supported materials, since the standards are relatively new and even Maryland, which is ahead of the curve with implementation, has not even finished developing all of the curricula to provide teachers with a road map to get students where they need to be to meet the standards. UClass is a great resource to connect teachers with the resources they need.

Strengths: This product does a great job of connecting teachers with the resources they need to successfully implement the Common Core. This is also the problem it solves there is currently a serious lack of resources, except what teachers make themselves.

Suggestions for Improvement: Nothing, honestly. I would like for it to be free, because I don't think my district will invest in it anytime soon, but I realize that isn't necessarily realistic.

Verdict: This fills a desperate need for high quality CCSS related materials that are readily available for teachers on demand.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Store and share resources created to match the common core standards.

Strengths: A place to store and organize lessons and resources. The ability to collaborate and search for lessons and resources with other teachers in the county. Resources and lessons can be searched by grade level, content area, and common core standards.

Suggestions for Improvement: Public forum.

Verdict: Since my elementary school is becoming a "lighthouse school", which means we'll be piloting using one-to-one devices with each of our students, we need a place to share resources created with the other teachers who teach at lighthouse schools.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This product looks like it will be an amazing tool for lesson planning and being able to use other teachers ideas in the classroom using your school districts standards.

Strengths: a great tool for using Common Core standards and to be able to see what other teacher are teaching in their classrooms

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if there was some sort of rating system to evaulate the upladed lessons to get a better idea of the uploaded lessons quality.

Also it would be more exciting if it was just by school districts but if you could view alll schools.

Verdict: I would recomend it. I don't think it is fully up and running yet but I think in the end it will be very useful!

Nicholas, Teacher. School Type: High School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This tool is very similar to dropbox, which allows you to share lesson plans with other people using the software.

Strengths: This software allows you to share lessons and content with other teachers in the same content area across the country.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Commentary/ Message board within the content areas.

2) Area specific folders, to allow for security or general sharing.

3) Student version to collaborate on projects.

Verdict: I like the idea because of the ease of access through using dropbox. The software can be searched by standard, course, level, grade, etc.

Brian, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: This would be a great tool for expanding upon lessons that have been previously developed. You could incorporate and tailor the lessons to specifically meet the needs of the classes being used. To be able to use this effectively it would take some time to navigate further. Most of the platform resembles what we have used with Safari Montage. I really like how you are able to specifically search by filtering criteria by grade and by Standard.

Strengths: Great library for teachers to pull from and filtering for lessons.

Suggestions for Improvement: Connections between lessons and sequence. Possible to have more connections between lessons. Show what other teachers may have used previously and after utilizing the lessons and rating systems for lessons with more easily accessible commentary. This would allow for teachers in various teaching situations to see feedback more easily and navigate more efficiently.

Verdict: I feel that this would be a great teacher tool especially for collaboration on a broader spectrum. To be able to input your own feedback on lessons would be great and possible straining lessons together. If a person were to get ideas for a lesson possibly mapping out lessons that others have created and linking them together to see how teachers have taken a specific lesson and tailored it to their needs. I think that it seems very cut and dry in that department.

Special Educator, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: This appears to be a nice classroom tool to use in conjunction with common core . It appears to be aligned with skills and materials that are compatible with what is currently being taught within our classrooms system wide.

Strengths: Currently aligned with the common core and I like the idea of having a central bank of tools from which to draw from

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to make sure that the resources used or that are found within U Class are actually found on the upcoming Park assessment. I never thought we would see the day when MSA would not count........the students will be taking this assessment next week and it no longer counts.

Verdict: The system is ever changing with what is and what isn't current in terms of curriculum and I'm not so sure that this a cost effective way to spend funds.

4th Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to plan a more effective common core lessons. Being able to share how we would teach a lesson and collaboratively plan across our district.

Strengths: LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS CONCEPT

This allows teachers to share ideas so we don't need to recreate the wheel.

Suggestions for Improvement: Professional development section for video webinars

Verdict: It's a way to collaborate and plan to help each other in this constantly changing world.

Jordanna, Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To share with teachers in my school.

It's be great to have a formal collaboration. I'm tired of emailing everything we draft up.

Strengths: It solves the issue of re-creation of constant worksheets/assessments/plans.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to share with content specific nationwide options.

Verdict: I think it's a MUCH needed resource that drop box and email just don't even come close to touching.

Victoria, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: It would be so nice to be able to search and share lessons within the county

Strengths: It allows teachers to save time and share resources within the county,

Suggestions for Improvement: Add video links available that go along with lessons

Verdict: All teachers are reinventing the wheel with common core, it would be nice to share and have lessons to choose from

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: obtain information from other teachers about different subject areas

Strengths: file management systems

making planning lessons less time and more entertaining

easy to organize and gather information

Suggestions for Improvement: create more tabs and other subject areas such as music, art, PE

Verdict: innovative lessons that are easy to share and access

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up