Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Suaronne, Math Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to teach geometry sections of middle school math. I would use this as a hands on class activity or problem based learning project. This product could also be used to illustrate area of composite figures.

Strengths: The strengths of this product is that it is free, online, and pictorially based.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would include more lessons that specifically aim to teach/assess standards from the math curriculum because it would take less time to implement if teachers could search for lessons and not have to create everything from scratch. I would create a teacher platform that allows them to grade projects based on a pre-created rubric so that grading projects would be easy to grade. A communication platform would be nice as well so teachers can comment on long term projects and give feedback before projects are officially due.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it could be used to directly relate STEAM to math standards in the classroom. My school does not have a STEAM related class but I could see this being useful for cross-curricular projects and stimulating students to want to learn and understand the relatively difficult concepts of math.

JOSEMARTIN, Education Technologist. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Higher Education, Other, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this in enrichment classes like leadership/business clubs where they can introduce Tinkercad designed products as there "model business products" and bring them to life. I would also like to have after school clubs where students and parents can design together.

Strengths: Strengths include: -It is a free resource -intuitive shape-based interface -offers java-coding for higher level application -3D printed designs allow for student ownership.

Suggestions for Improvement: -I did not hear about availability of tutorial programs

Verdict: I would recommend it because it ties digital design with real-world ownership. I like the easy interface and the fact that it provides java code to tie into computer science classes.

Becky, Peer Assistance And Review Consulting Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I support teachers in an aerospace school, as well as science teachers. This is playful, content-driven work that would give students a tangible creation.

Strengths: Of course, the fact that it is web based and free is a huge plus because it's such a fantastic tool for teachers. That they are developing PD for teachers through Project Ignite is also great. The Minecraft piece is great fun too!

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if their resident artists could come out with a printer and do in-school programming.

Verdict: The website is free and it creates for students something that represents their manipulation of content standards.

Mary, Math Teacher/Dept Chair. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this in conjunction with our 3D printer in our STEM classes. This us awesome!

Strengths: Not sure the questions above are relevant. This is an amazing product to use with the 3-D printer. We are branching out with all facets is STEM. Seriously this is amazing

Suggestions for Improvement: As a math teacher we discussed with the rep the possible capability of having the software show the "net" so we could also discuss surface area along with the obvious volume aspect

Verdict: Hioky 3-D Batman! This will design the pieces for our 3-D printer to make. How cool! Thus have most exciting thing I have seen today

History Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would like to use this product with my Flight Club to design and build quadcopter frames, as well as with maker students to quickly iterate designs.

Strengths: The ease of use and the depth of technology make this easy for new adopters and available to more sophisticated users.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see more lesson plans created for teachers. This is a great product for maker teachers, but other teachers could use some more support.

Verdict: It is the easiest CAD software to use for middle school students. The minecraft integration is a key feature for engagement.

Dennis, Teacher. School Type: High School, College Prep School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: designing models to use in my biology class and environmental class. maybe creating something that involves sustainability

Strengths: Visual creation of students' ideas. They can test out their hypotheses and see how they work. Data collection will be helpful.

Suggestions for Improvement: -make the interface easy and intuitive to use.
-include the "share" function so students can brag about their project.
-allow teachers to share ideas nationally

Verdict: I like the capabilities of the program. Students can see what their models look like.

Princpal, School Type: Elementary School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Use it as a way to understand geometry, develop creativity, develop understanding of programming.

Strengths: all of the reasons given in why I would argue for this to be added to curriculum.

Suggestions for Improvement: more lesson plans
more training for teachers.

Verdict: It is a fantastic way to develop and gives a way to express creative impulses. It develops the brain and helps students to understand 3 dimensionality. It also gives students a way to visualize math concepts.

Dennis, Teacher. School Type: High School, Blended Learning
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Let them design in 3D from the start without software downloads.

Strengths: Installing and maintaining 3D programs (eg Inventor, Solidworks, etc) is far too hard - these products are UNUSUABLE in normal classrooms.

Suggestions for Improvement: Integrated lesson plans for classrooms, which is being worked on. BIG WIN. With the current output, it is easy to feed an online printer.

Verdict: Easy, free, no maintenance.

G3 Teacher; Math Chair; Sustainability Chair, School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: We are getting a 3D printer this year. Last year a parent brought one in and I taught coordinate planes with it. I also taught some basic Python computer programming and we participated in Hour of Code. I would love to design a Minecraft character as the teaching path, and have them apply it by designing a printing a template of their state for the state fair.

Strengths: I just don't know the product well enough yet to answer some of these questions, but from what I can see it would be a great launching point for teachers who don't have experience with teaching 3D printing or with programming.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Video tutorials for teachers
2) Easy to follow step-by-step instructions
3) Real world examples

Verdict: We have enough resources at school to make good use of this but it still depends on a cost-benefit analysis. My school, like most, loves free stuff the best.

Teacher, School Type: High School, College Prep School, BYOD Devices
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I used TinkerCAD with students to create models to print of parts of living cells as part of a project.

Strengths: I love that is online based, projects can be saved to student email/logins, it's interface is intuitive.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would love for this to be a little more robust in terms of identifying holes/misalignments. I have had a couple projects that looked great on the screen but upon printing were not complete/missing specific parts. Sometimes it can be difficult to realize what plane you are on and setting a more obvious plane would be helpful. The ability to create a floor for a 3d printing model would be helpful as well.

Verdict: TinkerCAD is a quick and easy introduction to 3d modelling. It works well, is elegantly simple, and avoids the costly product licenses of several similar products.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up