Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Sim, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it for close reading at "unpacking the content" and "setting background/prior information" stages of content and content based ESL instruction.

Strengths: Close reading is almost always done under the guidance of teacher. I think the best thing about the product is nto enable teacher assign close reading as part of students work. At the same time it allows students tackle and perform close reading, providing multiple research tools and guidance.

Suggestions for Improvement: Actually one thing I would like to see is a more scaffolded version of this for lower grades, on subjects that are at lower grade levels. However I do not know Time has ever covered subjects like "life cycle of butterflies" :) You never know. When I mentioned about this Jill and Caroline told me about Time for Kids which is on the way, that's great. Just keep in mind that lower grades need more that double the scaffolding and differentiation, just my two cents.

Verdict: promotes close reading skiils by pulling students' attention to its lexical, content and background components of texts. teacher and student interfaces allow teachers direct students through questions, debates, discussions, pro-con analysis. provides juicy opportunities for compare & contrast by providing now and then views about the subject. Supported by audio-visual perks

Teacher, School Type: High School, Higher Education, Other, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as a current events activity for my government class and a primary source document for modern world history

Strengths: all of the heavy lifting is done for me, the discussion questions and critical thinking prompts could allow for students to work independently. I also love the reading difficulty adjustments and the 90 years of Time content.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like it better if it was done by the New York Times.

$8 a student is too much for a resource that shouldn't be used for more than 20% of instructional time... in other words my school has already purchased curriculum for my history and gov't classes so I would probably have to pay myself.

On the student side, content shouldn't be edited by censors and the p.c. police. Controversy breeds discussion. The fact that a member of the press would do this is kind of upsetting : (

Verdict: The fact that it has built in assessments, academic vocabulary highlighted and defined. I also like having digital access to the archive.

Tech Coach, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Blended Learning
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As an international school educator with plenty of ELL students throughout all grade levels, a multi-level reading solution is what we really need to help our ELLs catch up as fast as possible.

Strengths: Great curated content, good design, easy to set up since all the content is provided by the product.

Suggestions for Improvement: - show lists of vocab covered in each article
- show stats on how well students did on individual questions
- allow teachers to see what students are interested in reading on their own time (even if it's just general topics, not specific article titles)

Verdict: We really need to support our students by providing them with real content pertaining to what is going on in the world right now, but in language that they can understand and process.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I use this program to help students develop their reading skills. I use this tool more on an independent practice, so students do not feel pressured to stay on track with other students in the classroom. This tool allows for me to help students individually when they need me and the tool allows for to track the students on their growth.

Strengths: The past Time articles is a great tool because the articles can be used as a primary source. Also, the articles are connected to real-world scenarios which will bring the engagement piece into the classroom for the students.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Making sure I am able to lock a quiz so students are not taking quizzes at home.

2. Invent a way to track students on their different learning levels so students are not struggling to read challenging articles.

3. I would allow for this tool to be free.

Verdict: I would recommend we use this tool because it allows for secondary education to access past Time Articles that were ever written and students can use those articles as primary sources. In addition, I would recommend this program for the variety of articles that are presented which are very much entertaining to the students which will provoke engagement with reading.

Emeline, Rti Tutor. School Type: Elementary School
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it in conjunction to Time for Kids. I could also see myself assigning homework using this site.

Strengths: I am such an oldschool teacher, so it's hard for me to wrap my brain around all the new technology available for education and children. I am not against technology, but I want to make sure that it's not taking away from real life. I feel like kids are kind of out of touch with major current events today because unless it's a trending topic on FB or Twitter, they aren't hearing about it. So, TimeEdge is a great way to combine their love of social media and current events. I think it would be a great resource in any classroom and even if every kid doesn't have access to online, they can still see it in the classroom and read Time for Kids at home.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think that because it's so new there is just room to grow. I can't wait to see more stories and how the product develops in time for the next school year.

Verdict: I feel like everything is online now, so I really love that Time for Kids is still available in print but there is now a supplemental online component to the learning. I feel like this site would be perfect for both ELA and social studies.

Daniel, General Ed Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I'd use this to assign current event assignments to students. I like the Time Vault aspect where there are articles from the past 90 years available.

Strengths: I like how the articles are written for different ELA level vocabularies. I like this because it will be accessible for my students, in contrast to if I assigned them to read the local newspaper.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make the Time Vault accessible for Time for Kids as well. Even though the Vault articles are not rewritten for younger ages, it might still be beneficial for social studies assignments if I can find a correlating article.

I'd make some articles available for individual one-time purchase. If a teacher cannot afford a year-long subscription, they might still be able to use the product on a smaller scale, which may lead to a year-long subscription in less-lean years.

I'd provide more assessment possibilities for each article. This will open things up for teachers depending on the needs of their students.

Verdict: It's from a big-name publication that students will recognize which may help with buy-in.

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: i would use this product to build literacy for the kids with articles that are relevant and based on real world content. On top of that, it is created by Time which has a wealth of information.

Strengths: The ability to measure student progress and the variety of the articles would be great. Since the content is from real world events, it wold allow students to be more engaged with what they are reading.

Suggestions for Improvement: Some of the things that would make this product even better would be the ability to use past content, something that the company is saying will come in the next few months. Also, the ability to allow other students to comment on the articles that their peers are reading would be great to allow for collaboration

Verdict: I would recommend this product because of the wealth of content that exists on time. Also the articles would be relevant and it would allow the teacher to measure and track student work in real time.

Ray, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: students read current events articles online and respond to evaluation questions based on what they read.

Enhanced engaging reading comprehension.

Strengths: Outstanding current events writing at student level and integration of video clips for reading comprehension.

Solves the problem of further engaging students on current events and of short story reading comprehension.

Suggestions for Improvement: Increased alignment to common core and a variety of ways to assess students based on the reading. ie. more standards evaluated using the new material

Verdict: Increasing engagement for reading comprehension and world awareness since the issues are current events.

Low priced.

Easily accessible.

Provides common core standards review and assessment dashboard.

Kristy, Assistant Principal. School Type: High School
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to increase students reading comprehension skills while practicing for online testing.

Strengths: The articles can be differentiated for students reading levels without other students knowing it . It also solves the issue of looking for high quality articles for non-fiction reading.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like the ability to assign particular articles for specific students. This would help with collaborative grouping. Also, I would like to see more lexile levels for articles to expand differentiation options. It would help if it had a free component!

Verdict: The high interest articles and the adjustment to the reading levels are pluses. I also liked the interface for the teachers.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: As a weekly assignment for all students.

Strengths: The assessments and pre-organized structure of the articles is great. Makes planning easier.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. I would like more articles to be accessible. I don't like the idea of censoring certain articles out.

2. The product could also relate back articles to certain literary texts to make connections.

Verdict: Children are generally uninformed about current events. This gives teachers a way to incorporate current events into the classroom while also having them using their reading skills.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up