Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Kelly, Special Education Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 16, 2017

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this application and hands-on materials to engage my students with special needs in literacy and math learning during small group instruction and centers.
This application would provide work with building short vowel words and create stories with this text. I am frequently looking for ways to make the CVC word more meaningful and engaging as a building block.
The math application portion would help students engage in work composing and decomposing numbers.

Strengths: The product solves the problem of how to incorporate manipulatives into a tablet based activity. The auditory feedback solves the problem of helping students get feedback to differentiate between nonsense and real CVC words. The product also allowed students to compose and decompose numbers in different ways. The tiggly product was engaging, easy to use and affordable.

Suggestions for Improvement: When I spoke to the representative, she explained they are adding a writing component and she elicited our feedback. I suggested having auditory feedback as students write with a stylus that has a grip built in and heft but not a texture which might encourage chewing, especially with special needs students we serve.
I also would like to see building words with other patterns besides CVC.
I would also like an evaluation component or individual account system in place. If I could have students log-in, the teacher could then track what activities the student completed and see how they completed the math or reading tasks. With tablets, it would be easy to even have a kid choose a symbol or avatar that they select and modify.

Verdict: I would recommend this product my administration for reasons.
The first reason I would advocate the product is the inclusion of a hands-on, play-like component that mimics magnet letter and manipulatives used in tradition instruction with an added component of feedback. The tiggly pieces for the apps are durable and washable, which is usually a big drawback for technology products.
The second reason I would advocate this product is the warranty and support being included at no additional cost.
Third, the product itself is very reasonable price-wise for small group use.
Finally, and most importantly, I found the app engaging, student appropriate and reinforcing to skills I am always trying to find more resources to instruct in.

Alissa, Life Skills Special Education Teacher. School Type: High School, Other, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use the Math and Reading Apps as a way to build on the math and reading curriculum in my classroom.

Strengths: All my students require manipulatives and hands on activities in order for them to learn concepts. I like how this program allows my students that ability; and the app makes it done in a way my students don't realize they are learning.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see this same app done in a more "teenage" way. I teach High School Special Ed. My students are ages 14 - 21 years of age. While they are cognitively low (Pre-K - 1st grade level) they are surrounded by adults, and need more "Real World" applications. I would like to see the same programs done without a "kiddie" look to it.

For example, the cooking math app, instead of cartoon images, have actual real images of the fruits and vegetables.

Verdict: I teach high school special education. My students are in the moderate to severe disabilities range. Their cognitive ranges are between Pre-K - 1st grade level. I like how the apps give the students different modes of learning with hands on manipulatives.

I like the that the manipulatives are big, rubbery (for my oral sensory learners) and made easy to grasp/hold, especially for my students with limited fine motor skills.

I have had trouble using Math/Reading Apps for my students as only a few will get use/gain knowledge out of the app. This APP is designed for students to use the manipulatives in conjunction with what they are learning----ON THE IPAD ITSELF!!! This makes it to where ALL MY STUDENTS PARTICIPATE!!! It's genius.

Elaine, Teacher/Librarian. School Type: Elementary School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I am the teacher librarian in a pre-k-5 school that includes a great many students with special needs. I would use this will my pre-k students as well as my special needs students to facilitate learning basic counting/math skills and cvc reading. I would use it both direct instruction as well as a "center" type activity with free exploration for students.

Strengths: Data is not a strength of this material unless you are using informal teacher observation, however time on task could easily be measured. It has very engaging graphics and plenty of room for exploration. You never know what is going to come out so it's fun to just keep interacting with the materials.

Suggestions for Improvement: Although the representative said it would be overwhelming to have all the letters of the alphabet contained in the set, I wonder if the students will be soon bored when only working with vowels. I would have more letters and sets available. I would recommend adding more games on a consistent basis.

Verdict: This product is highly engaging and the most reasonably priced materials I have seen in years. They are safe, non-toxic, sturdy and dependable. I think they would be highly motivating for students, and easy to implement. Materials are big enough that even students who mouth objects wouldn't choke on them.

Holly, Campus Innovation Coach. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to teach reading and math skills in whole class setting as well as using the tool in small groups and individuals center stations where students could work alone or collaborate with a partner. Very engaging and easy for all levels of students to use including physically impaired students. LOVE this product! Can't wait to share with my whole campus!!

Strengths: Incredible versatility of this product is amazing! Example: the chefs app recipe book can be customized for what I'm focusing on that day for my students! Changing languages easily makes it so accessible for all my ESL students! The indestructibleness makes it so worry free for me to use with my behaviorial challenged students. Bring able to use finger as well as manipulative modes is another plus!

Suggestions for Improvement: Track students progress would be a nice added feature. Right now it seems to be only giving them the experience - sense of play is attractive to the students. Needs to be more visual way of knowing whether it's in finger mode or manipulative mode got the children.

Verdict: I would actively recommend it as a cross grade level tool for regular and special education and ESL students. Availability in different languages makes it an incredibly versatile tool to use for optimum student learning!

Special Ed Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 14, 2017

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This product would be helpful for all of my special needs students. This not only allows them to gain learning time from the Ipads in my classroom but also gives them a hands on component.

Strengths: This product really puts an important hands on component to the use of electronic devices. This would definitely increase learning since students would have the tactile part of learning added to their activities. I actually like that the items are minimal so that my students are not overwhelmed by too many parts.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. I would like to see larger amounts of manipulatives for older student use. (1st and 2nd grade)

2. I would like to see the product tell a story for the student as many of my students are non-verbal.

3. I would like to see the product simply identify the shapes as they are used to help students identify them.

Verdict: I would recommend this product for all Pre-K and kindergarten classroom as well as most special needs classrooms and EC resource rooms. This product adds a needed hands on component to the learning from electronic devices. The manipulative are strong and washable. they are able to withstand children chewing and playing with them.

District Instructional Coach, School Type: Elementary School
Feb 11, 2017

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as center/learning station work during literacy instruction and math instruction in a kindergarten and/or first grade classroom.

Strengths: The ability to wash and sanitize the manipulatives is a bonus and truly unique when we think of students using technology.
This product replaces the "drill and kill" of worksheets and "cut and paste" activities that are frequently found in k and 1st grade classrooms.

Suggestions for Improvement: It sounds like the company has developed a "roll out" plan for more early literacy and math concepts and skills. I would encourage them to roll them out more quickly if at all possible! First and second graders could equally benefit from this product!

Verdict: This product is a great blend of manipulatives and technology. It is engaging for students and gives them the practice they need with early literacy and numeracy skills. It combines the opportunity to consume technology as a learning tool as well as create stories and generate story problems. Student collaboration and critical thinking are also supported.

Ec Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 13, 2017

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to enhance lessons in literacy and math. It could be used as a center for my EC students.

Strengths: This product can be used by students who are in the pre-K or kindergarten age range and also with my EC students who are developmentally in this age range. The pieces can be soaked and cleaned easily. The pieces are soft and won't break easily if thrown or dropped. There are 12 apps available for android and iOS

Suggestions for Improvement: This product did not appear to be completely functional using a chrome book If there is a way, I am not aware, but I would like to be able to track student progress with some tasks.

Verdict: This product has a low cost per 5 sets. Tablets that would be necessary for this product can be used in many other ways as well. The products come with student notebooks, a teacher guide and the stamps. The stamps can be disinfected easily and are made from a squishy material that won't break easily if dropped or thrown.

Sydney, Teacher And Innovation Coach. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I have been using the free Tiggly apps with my students. The various situations are great for vocabulary development and I like that there are multiple ways to get to the same answer just like real math problems.

Strengths: It is engaging to students! I like that each of the block sets can be used in multiple apps. Great value!

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like for Tiggly to offer a teacher set of the 3 sets of blocks to purchase the letters, blocks, and shapes for a discount. I would also like a free printable note for parents with a list of the apps for a home connection. The only other thing I ask is that they keep making more apps! I love Tiggly!

Verdict: I recommend the Tiggly apps because they bring real manipulatives together with iPads. I am excited to get the manipulatives for my students so they can become more interactive with the apps and with each other.

Sandra, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Blended Learning
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to enhance a lesson being taught. I love the manipulatives; I love the vibrant lively colors of the manipulatives and the online figures are colorful as well.

Strengths: This tool helps students to successfully manipulate objects as they are learning and learning in a fun way.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great to be able have more activities for the pre-kindergarten age groups.. this age group ii very curious and are eager to learn. More resources for them would certainly help with learning. It also be good if there was a way to work as a group [at least 2 students] at the same time.. to utilize small group instruction. And will this be available for the students to able to use at home.

Verdict: I would recommend because students would love 'playing' with the manipulatives as they are learning. The colors are very bright and vibrant

Maria Margarita, 2. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to teach some math, letters and shapes skills. Specifically small groups and take a great opportunity to practice math !
Kids are going to love it!

Strengths: Gives me an idea of what I can do to help the students to improve their respective struggling area. Is very easy for the students to set the manipulatives. Is a diverse in content, it has math, letters, shapes, it helps to develop the high thinking learning.

Suggestions for Improvement: The price is too high for a teacher.
The language for math is only for monolingual students. The platform has to be broad spectrum, maybe including sounds for letters or animal shapes or attributes on math.
Are more areas to grow.

Verdict: Great for the preschoolers and good it include manipulatives.
The touch system address them in movement's.
Literacy skills and math skills, is great.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up