Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Levi, Math Instructional Lead. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: We are making a move toward standards based grading at our school. We are looking for a way to catalog and demonstrate various forms of achievement on the standards for the given courses. This product would get students involved in showing their own learning, teachers being able to assess student progress, and keep parents and administrators in the loop as to what is happening in the class.
The group of teachers right now is a volunteer group trying to get the kinks worked out for possible expansion next school year and I truly think that this product will make the process of assessing the standards streamlined and powerful for all involved to see.

Strengths: It brings students into the process of assessing. They can do work to demonstrate a standard and capture it for the teacher to assess. I think that this is crucial for reeling them in and getting them to care about what they produce in school.

Suggestions for Improvement: I honestly can come up with one right now. I would need to use it in depth for awhile to come up with some minor changes that could enhance the product.

Verdict: We have been wondering how to view student progress from one school year to the next. With inflation of grades and the differences in each teacher's process there isn't often a great picture of what the student can actually do. This would solve that immediately if all teachers were on board. We would have rich evidence of the things that the student can do in addition to a portfolio by the end of their high school years.

Resource Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Other
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Three ring is a portfolio/curation tool that allows users to easily embed artifacts such as video, images, documents (PDF), audio, and more. The artifacts can be added from directly within the software or app and tagged. The tags are pre-determined by the teacher. Artifacts are also attached to students. The teacher can then view (filter) artifacts by either class, student, or tag.

Strengths: 1. Built in ability to take videos and other AV artifacts as well as upload them... I love that it doesn't fill up your camera roll.

2. The tagging power makes it extremely easy to connect artifacts to standards or objectives.

3. I love that the three ring can be shared.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. The ability to embed or link to products from third party sites.

2. I would love to be able to generate a link to share three rings with outside parties (like to tweet a student's three ring portfolio).

3. I would want the ability to personalize the categories (like do schools instead of classes, teachers instead of students, and another term instead of tags).

Verdict: This would be a fantastic tool for teachers to use to collect artifacts for student SLOs. The artifacts can be shared with parents to demonstrate student learning. I can also see it being used by administrators or other coaches to create professional portfolios for teachers. I like it because it is easy to use and navigate and very practical.

Tech Coordinator, School Type: Elementary School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This is great tool for teachers to record any kind of performance, music, art or even technology skills. I know the band and chorus teachers will like the video reports and being able to send parents videos of quick assessments with the kids. I am thinking of using it to document basic computer skills iwth the young kids such as findng their file, typing (home row keys) and how they are using a particular program

Strengths: great tool for uploading videoslike the ipad integration and ease of use. and its free! wow. this is so awesome. I can't wait to try it out. we need something like this!

Suggestions for Improvement: I'm not sure without using it in real time. I think examples of how its used would be good and understadning the tagging features a bit better would be good. I might be a bit concerned about security and privacy and would like to reassure parents of this. also might want to integrate with our current report card system. we use progress reports, can a link to these videos be integrated in that?

Verdict: This is very unique and would work well with our ipads and need for assessments that measure process as well as outcome. lets teachers collect qualitative information rather than just scores. we could use it for our barlow speaking competition as well.

Joan, Teacher. School Type: High School, College Prep School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Amazing opportunity to have my students record their world language presentations and to upload all types of work--responses to literature, writing samples, etc.

Strengths: It solves the problem of a broken language lab, or having to use downloaded software to record students' spoken language (which involves multiple steps). It resolves the problem of having to give the students independent work while the teacher spends hours listening to individual student's work. Because the work is recorded and is visual as well as audio, it is easy to document the students' successes and also areas needing improvement. Much better than a few handwritten notes explaining how they need to improve their pronunciation, for example.

Suggestions for Improvement: Looks pretty good to mewill have to use it before I can tell what needs improvement. I am hoping it is userfriendly, as a teacher who is not from the digital generation.

Verdict: 1. Great platform for student portfolios

2. Share-able with parents

3. Document student growth

4. Perfect for our required artifacts for SLOs.

Art Teacher, School Type: High School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product in my classroom to document and share student work. This product could be helpful for organizing data and images for completing SLO's and also developing portfolios for students.

Strengths: This product allows you to use different devices to take photos, videos, notes, etc. and store the information in a space online. The product does not take up space on your personal device, and it saves the hassle of finding extra room to store data.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. I would make the product available to educators for free so that we can use it in our classrooms on a daily basis!

2. I would make the visual settings within the program adjustable to the user.

Verdict: This product allows educators to organize data easily and in a detailed manner. Information can be shared with parents, students, educators, and other members within the education system easily and in specified way.

Megan, Special Educator. School Type: High School, Blended Learning
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This is a great product to document student achievement. I would use this product for evidence of student learning in relation to IEP goals and student learning outcomes for the district. The program allows teachers to create portfolios for student and track progress from year to year or IEP to IEP.

Strengths: It really excels in documenting evidence of student learning in a way that in unlike the quantitative data of just a grade. Here videos ad pictures of student work can be uploaded and shared with parents and educators.

Suggestions for Improvement: Na

Verdict: It is a great resource to document student learning and keep evidence of student achievement. It can be linked to special education initiatives, and provide parents with concrete evidence of student performance.

Mentor Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Low Income Population
Feb 21, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I am/was an art teacher. This would be a very helpful tool to keep images of the process of students art projects.

I would keep a continuous visual documentation of all the steps

I would share it with parents and the school website

Strengths: Colorful visuals

shares with parents and school website

allows teachers to provide feedback for students to read

Organizes art work

Saves lots of space/ no more stacks of artwork to return at the end of the quarter

have great documentation for report cards and parents

Saves time

Suggestions for Improvement: cant think of a thing, I am excited to try it!

Verdict: A great tool to document progress

A great way to organize artwork

return students work b/c now have a digital copy

No reason against it

Teacher, School Type: High School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Maintain a shareable digital portfolio of student work, without necessarily having students create DIGITAL work

Strengths: Shareability; can capture hard copy and handwritten work, as well as a variety of media. Integrates and aggregates student work. Not limited by technology constraints

Suggestions for Improvement: None

Verdict: Student work is shareable without the work being digital; students can maintain hard copy while I maintain and organize (easily) digital copies. Parents have access to student work. Improves accountability ("I totally did that assignment, but I've lost it now! Why do I have a zero?")

Becky, Asl Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it for electronic portfolio for my American sign language students, which is my slo for this year. Students can show their progress from point to point during the year .

Strengths: Respects privacy, allows documentation for expressive skills

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. A link to import names from school or Google classroom or pinnacle grade book 2. Connection to grade and drop into grading program 3. Way to print grades/comments for feedback or conferences if necessary

Verdict: Easily used. Private access, students can submit directly, admin can review as necessary

Resource Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Other
Mar 1, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Three Ring is in the same vein as other curation tools, but with some key differences that make it more interesting to me in my role as a resource teacher. Users of Three Ring can collect artifacts in one place and "tag" them by any variety of user-defined "subjects" or objectives. Additional organization levels include categories/classes, and students. The artifacts can be captured directly within the app using the video or still camera, and additional artifacts like audio files or pre-recorded videos can also be uploaded. Because of the organization structure, artifacts can easily be filtered in a variety of ways to view exactly what you are looking for depending on your purpose.

Strengths: I really like the ease with which artifacts can be created from directly within the app. This is something that other similar tools like Evernote, Pinterest, and LiveBinders do not have. And although Evernote includes a notebook and tagging structure, it doesn't have the ability to do multiple layered filters like Three Ring.

Suggestions for Improvement: In the future, I would hope that more file types would be supported in this tool. Right now word documents are loosely supported as well as web links, PDFs, audio, video, and image files. Even if it can't be viewed natively within Three Ring, I would love to see the ability to attach artifacts of different file types, and perhaps even embed Web 2.0 products.

Verdict: I can see this being used by teacher educators, mentors, and coaches as a tool to assist teachers in building professional portfolios. As a district that has adopted the Danielson Framework, teachers are being asked to demonstrate proficiency in four different areas, and artifacts are needed to support them. I can see teachers using Three Ring to develop student portfolios. Being able to take video of students performing music, dance, or oration means not only can the teacher improve their assessment, but students can self-reflect. And because Three Ring allows teachers to share artifacts with others, the parents can have tangible evidence of their student's performance.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up