Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Fadeke, Educator. School Type: High School, Blended Learning
Jul 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to engage teachers in teaching using the CCSS. The videos model strong instructional practices that meet Common Core State Standards. This is a very useful Professional Development.

Strengths: This product visually explains and models standards-based instructional practices that will benefit students and teachers.

Suggestions for Improvement: Create Common Core Aligned Videos for Students to interact with.
Offer PD training for schools on Teachingthe Core.org.
Hire a trainer to show schools how to use the product.

Verdict: It is professional development made easy and it is free!

Jennie, Coach. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Jul 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As a content coach and ER&D leader, I would use this resource as a way to support our work in CCSS. I specifically like the annotated videos with resources!!! and...it is FREE

Strengths: Aligned with CCSS Videos are easy to stream Annotated places in video Resources connected to each video

Suggestions for Improvement: Connect with a well know website such as Share my Lesson or ? Get the word out on this awesome resource!
More Videos! You can never have enough examples!

Verdict: It is FREE Real life videos of kids in schools Teacher reflection included

Pd Coordinator, School Type: Other, BYOD Devices
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Professional development for mentoring evaluation and lesson planning

Strengths: ideas for teachers to view to help improve their practice

Suggestions for Improvement: Search engine by danielson evaluation components so if a teacher rated poorly they could see examples of how to improve their practice

Transcripts of the videos would be helpful in showing teachers how good practice translates to evidence for their evaluation

Verdict: Great to have videos of good practice to share with new teachers and teachers needing support

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Jul 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to see how others are teaching different content. I think it would be useful to make sure I'm teaching what I need to teAch

Strengths: Ithink the strengths of this product would be that teachers could see how other teachers are teaching certain content

Suggestions for Improvement: I haven't used the product yet so it's extremely difficult to come up with any criticisms of it. I think it would help teachers see how other teachers instruct

Verdict: I would try to get this in my county because we don't have much for common core materials this would be good for teachers to see how others are teaching

Reading Specialist, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Jul 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use Teaching the Core to expose and train teachers on how to incorporate videos into their lessons.

Strengths: Bank of videos for PD Documents (student and teachers) that goes with the videos Time saved by using the program

Suggestions for Improvement: I would not change anything right now. I would need to explore the program before I can make recommendations to change something about the program.

Verdict: This is a great tool for the instructional coach to use for collaboration with teachers during morning collaboration.

Rhonda, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it for teacher mentees and also with teacher Evals for developing teachers and beginning teachers

Strengths: Great choices for a search for specific content lesson In math and English and grade levels.

Suggestions for Improvement: Search by high level practices in an evaluation for a teacher
More technology lessons
Search by skill

Verdict: To help teachers grow professionally by showing teachers doing well I the classroom and what the developing or beginning teacher needs to see in practice

Meredith, Teacher. School Type: Middle School
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to teach a lesson and help create my own lessons.

Strengths: I really like that it is common core aligned and they are using real teachers. I also like that they have student work available to preview.

Suggestions for Improvement: I hope to see some real issues that the teachers run into when they teach the lesson. I want to know the good, bad and the ugly because it means I can prepare for that as well.

Verdict: It is common core aligned and they are using real teachers.

Special Educator, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I think it would be good for other teachers perhaps in a mentoring program or in teacher evaluation if expanded upon.

Strengths: I like the human examples, I do think they could be tied to evaluation topics. Also, more examples outside of math and ELA would be helpful

Suggestions for Improvement: More examples
Tie to eval topics

Verdict: The program seems in infancy. Tying to evaluation topics would be great.

Teacher 4th/5th, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use it to predict possible outcomes or concerns for a particular standard.

Strengths: I love that you can watch a moment at a time. You can jump around to the spot you need to help you improve your skill.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to be able to search by the standards.

Verdict: At the time they only have about 65 lessons.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Jul 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: i would use this product as professional development and as a model of how to teach the Core standards. I would also use it as a reference and to show my teammates during collaborative meetings.

Strengths: The specific moments focus on the aspects of the lesson that are important and one does not have to spend a lot of time looking through the lesson before deciding whether it fits the need.

Suggestions for Improvement: I do not know yet since I have not actually used the product.

Verdict: I would say that the entire video does not have to be viewed, there are specific moments that can be focused on; so therefore, it would save on time. There are also lesson summaries and the lessons can be used as is or they can be adjusted to suit the needs of the specific class and teacher.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up