Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Elizabeth, Liz, Josh, Teachers. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to record lessons for subs, for kids who are absent, and for kids who are out due to instrumental music, and for important parent meetings like Back to school Night.

Strengths: It allows you to id student success rate with formative assessments. You can see their weaknesses and how many times the student replayed certain sections. It shows PowerPoint slides next to videos of teachers talking.

Suggestions for Improvement: You can't edit if you mess up. You have to redo it.

We're not sure but it would be cool to insert flipcharts and other media as well.

Find a way to film lessons at your're teaching them and post those for absent kids.

Verdict: It makes for less waste time when teachers are out. That way good instruction doesn't have to be sacrificed when teachers are called out for meetings. It helps parents and teachers stay connected. It helps students keep up when they are out of the classroom. It helps parents stay connected to content knowledge learned in the classroom.

Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I have used this product as a demonstration.

It would be an excellent resource for students who are frequently absent or require additional instruction. It provides an excellent record of instruction.

Strengths: It easily creates augmented presentations, freeing up the teacher to monitor students and provide additional feedback.

It allows for the teacher to be in more than one place at once!

Suggestions for Improvement: Allow for screen shots in lieu of webcam, allowing for even more flexibility in presenting e.g. demonstrating how to code a webpage.

Definitely enable cellphone and tablet webcams for recording.

Allow students to give feedback and or ask questions on the page.

Verdict: This is a no-brainer. Students engage more on their smartphones than through any other medium. Their ability to access lesson through them is vital.

Teachers are required more than ever to document and demonstrate excellent instruction. This product does that.

Maggie, Pd Teacher. School Type: High School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to flip my classroom, allowing students to learn at their own pace. That way, my lessons can be designed to interact with content rather than focusing on delivering course content.

Strengths: 1. Allows the teacher to use previously made PPT slides and add video

2. Can edit video or even record again easy drag and drop

3. Can include assessment questions where they have answer students have to get it right to move on. Captures students responses and puts in spread sheet.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. I'd like to include videos : flv, wma or mp4

2. Increase student interaction with content

3. Integrate screencast capabilities

4. Ability for students to create their own.

Verdict: Easy to use and promotes flipping the classroom.

Pd Teacher, School Type: High School
Mar 1, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To flip the classroom.

Strengths: Combines teacher and PPT - allows students to access information at home promoting deeper exploration during class.

Suggestions for Improvement: Allow for data to be broken down by student - customized learning

Insert videos - all in one place

Record what I do on the screen - more interactivity

Verdict: It gives teachers the platform on which to flip their classroom and is relatively cheap.

Amanda, Library Media Specialist. School Type: Middle School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: 1. I like the idea of using this for research driven projects. I could create the presentation beforehand and then be available to assist students as they need it.

2. I also like the idea of using it for missing students. They could access the lesson they missed.

3. I also like the idea of using it for sub plans. It would allow students to still have meaningful instruction while I am out.

Strengths: I like the ability to record, save, and store all of my lessons. I like that it puts the lesson into the hands of all students for instruction and review.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. It would be nice to use the document camera with this to show process for completing work.

2. It would be nice if BCPS would purchase this for the county instead of individual teachers.

3. It would be nice to somehow directly link to Edline.

Verdict: This would be a great addition to what we already have in BCPS.

Joshua, English. School Type: High School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: When my school system switches over to a 90-minute bell schedule, I would use Synchrious to offer brief instruction to students in a digital format over off-days.

Strengths: The program offers a human touch to go with slide presentations.

Suggestions for Improvement: No iOS app at the moment: allowing teachers to sync on the go would put Synchrious in the sweet spot.

No direct importing for Google Slides at the moment: a musthave for teachers who transfer work on Google Drive between work & home.

Streamlining of process of syncing recorded video & slide selection

Verdict: I would advise my faculty to use Synchrious because of the fact that it offers teachers an engaging, modern approach to digital instruction. Too many programs like Blackboard or online classes offer vague instruction without humanity. Synchrious offers a human touch to the online instruction.

Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I love the concept of duplicating myself. I'm always looking for ways to work smarter, not harder. Every week my students go to the Computer lab. I teach High School German and French. This would allow me to attach the "grammar lesson" for students who were absent or need to see it again. The record feature would allow me to speak in the target language and use visuals to help them learn the language in contest.

Strengths: Allows the teacher to be in 2 places at once! Classroom management does not suffer, nor does the presentation.

Suggestions for Improvement: Better mobile capabilities.

Keep up the good work.

Free would be great, but I understand you have to make a living too!

Verdict: Very user-friendly. Presentations can be recorded once and saved for future use, whether it's PD, parent info or classroom lectures.

Consulting Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this for developing workshops for new teachers. I would encourage the new teachers to use this for their own classrooms to develop more independent, engaging lessons for their students.

Strengths: Teachers can design, review, and present information in a very detailed, but personalized way.

Suggestions for Improvement: Price for teachers can be overwhelming and administrators and districts often don't want to spend the money.

Additional platforms to use

Cost of visuals that are really engaging are additional or we have to choose lesser graphics which are free. This is an issue with most presentation products.

Verdict: Synchrious looks very engaging and combines several things I really like, video, assessment, and multiple grade level appeal.

Brandon, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, BYOD Devices
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This application would work great for extended absences or for teachers who have to be absent frequently for life problems. It allows curriculum teaching to continue even with substitutes in the room and cuts down on busy work.

Strengths: Provides a complete instructional package. Teachers can conceivably instruct from home in real time, or prerecord. A plus for snow days or posting on personal websites. Allows for student device use during the lesson and capture of formative assessments.

Suggestions for Improvement: Not sure at this time

Verdict: Teachers will need to generate plans anyway, and it doesn't seem that recording the lesson will take much more time.

Florence, Classroom Teacher/Webmaster/Gt Facilitator. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: To provide explanations for students along with visual representations. My kids could use this as a way to review what they have learned in class. I also like the idea of providing background info for parents using this platform.

Strengths: It provides an easy way for teachers to explain a powerpoint that they already have created in case they want to create a flipped classroom or provide an opportunity to "teach" kids who missed class or need to review.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would really like to see the ability to annotate over the powerpoint slides.

It would be great to be able to upload other file types or import videos or links from other sources.

I would be nice to be able to collect data in a more organized way than just having the information for each video, like organizing data by student, and assigning things to the kids.

Verdict: I think that this would provide a more human interface for providing info for parents who aren't interested in reading documents. They can listen to a teacher explain and get familiar with their face while they are reviewing important information related to their child's education. I know that a lot of teachers will not want to see their face on screen so I am not sure that it is something an elementary teacher would use.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up