Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Leena, Teacher (Math And Science). School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I have an extended flex time for my enrichment students. I would like to set students up with CS skills early on to give them access to real world application.

Strengths: The product has a real working platform with in a platform where the students are able to see their work in progress. This makes it easier for student understanding and navigation. I really enjoy the way that it can be differentiated for different learners as well. As we know many students like to success beyond the restraints and with the program or platform students are able to grow and succeed. Eventually pushing out a product if they see fit.

Suggestions for Improvement: The number one thing that I would change is being able to modify this platform for intermediate elementary. It is my goal to help our students understand and gain a love for coding. I think that it sets them up for success later in life as well as to help them make math connections in Science.

Verdict: I would recommend this product to anyone. It has the basic skills need to introduce students to a real life application. I always believe that we start with the end in mind. This product has many many examples of success. The platform is easy to use and comes at no cost to myself or to our students and campuses.

Tanya, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This product is curriculum for computer science through app design. If used, it could be used daily in the classroom in support of existing CS curriculum or as the entire CS curriculum.

Strengths: This product teaches students industry-standard programming languages and concepts for immediate use in the world of work. It focuses on making and packaging iOs games. The interface gives students easy to see and immediate visual feedback on programming success.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see the curriculum expanded beyond game/app development. I teach coding for engineering and robotics, rather than game design, and would like some similar student-centered, free, online curriculum that is not app/game based.

Verdict: This is FREE computer science/coding curriculum that offers students an opportunity for real-world application of coding by developing games. It is a complete, interactive curriculum with a good user interface and immediate student feedback for coding practices.

Doug, Instructional Coach. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Higher Education
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I work as an Instructional Coach with teachers K-12. One focus is on 21st Century learning environments. This curriculum and coding in general is a great way to provide students with opportunities to self regulate and construct knowledge. I plan to recommend this curriculum to middle and high school teachers that I work with.

Strengths: This looks like it differentiates well and provides students with chances to self regulate.

Suggestions for Improvement: I need more time to interact with it but honestly it looks like a high quality product. I do not have specific suggestions for improvement at this time.

Verdict: Learning to code is a critical skill for modern learners. This free curriculum looks like a great way for students to learn these skills.

Teacher, School Type: High School, College Prep School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to assist teachers to teach AP Computer Science.

Strengths: This would save teachers valuable time to implement resources and curriculum for the new AP Computer Science course.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be important to provide more professional development and curriculum support for teachers to learn and implement this new course. The teachers would need to have technical support and instructions.

Verdict: I would recommend to aid teachers in providing instructional materials and resources to implement the new AP Computer Science Course.

Cathleen, Lubrarian. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Teaching geek clubs to code!

Strengths: Immediate reactions to visualization of code.
Real world language
Higher level of coding for the geeks who want to get beyond
Can make their own app,,!,

Suggestions for Improvement: No idea yet. Give me a month in the sandbox

From what I have seen so far, I appreciated the large text, clear chars, and variables in blue/another color to stand out.

Verdict: Wow. Available, reasonable, real world, current language and tech....what more do you want?

Student, School Type: High School
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To learn a very useful language to program ios apps.

Strengths: It is an Easy program, Simple to use, absoulutely Free, and very Fast to get and the website is fast processing. I love this so much i have been looking for free programming learning websites

Suggestions for Improvement: (1) More tutorials to learn watch and use (2) support if i have a struggle with the coding or program (3) maybe an online interface for programming and quizes

Verdict: FREE and that it is in depth.

Liz, Technology Integration Specialist. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to meet the new WA State computer science standards.

Strengths: This product does PBL really well. This project solves how to integrate computer science into PBL.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to be sure that teachers do not need to be qualified to teach computer science in order to use this product in their classroom with their students.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it allows students to create a real world product.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would like to start an elective class that would allow middle school students to build their own iPhone/iPad app. SInce I teach middle school I would not be able to go into depth with this program since it is aligned with APCSP and recognized for college credit.
After reviewing this program, I would focus on the first 3-4 units which would allow middle school students to create a basic app.

Strengths: Programming apps allows students to be creative and design something they are passionate about. It prepares them if they want to pursue a career in programming.

Suggestions for Improvement: As long as this program have step by step courses that are easy to understand, I'm ready to dive in and check this out further. I'm not sure if they have projects or quizzes along the way, but if they don't this would be a nice addition.

Verdict: This is the wave of the future. Students are digital natives and they rely on technology to meet their needs. Swift works with a code that is much like C# which is much easier to understand. Once grasped, teachers can easily apply differentiation. Students can design apps and submit them to Apple providing that a classroom liscense fee of $100 dollars has been paid. STudents must be 13 years old to submit their app.

Teacher, Department Chair, School Type: High School
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: If I decided to implement this curriculum I would use it daily to teach Computer Science to high school students.

Strengths: The curriculum is readily accessible online and can be implemented easily without the need for additional hardware and software beyond the computer lab environment. It is FREE, so there is expensive commitment. It features in-demand software and a real-world applications. The focus is on marketable skills that would enable particularly advanced or ambitious students to proceed directly to high-paying, in-demand jobs in app design.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like the curriculum to offer a component that is not app-based and Apple dependent. More versatility in platform and applications while keeping the easy-to-understand interface and visual feedback. Maybe instead of being free, they could pay me!

Verdict: I would recommend this product to other teachers, administrators, or district officials interested in implementing computer science. It offers a modular curriculum that teachers and students can pick and choose how to implement as either part or all of a year-long CS course. It focuses on in-demand programming languages and the development of a marketable app. And it's FREE!

Jeziel, Micro Computer Technical Specialist. School Type: High School, Higher Education
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to support CTE programs for our district. I would get familiar with the installation and developer registration process and support the tech throughout the programs under my department's umbrella.

Strengths: This product integrates really well with the Swift development environment and allows the users to create real products which can be published to the app store. This solves the problem of browser based web coding instructional platforms which limit the students to theory and very few practical development practices.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. I would create a web-based portion as a practice or evaluation tool for the students which can be more easily deployed.
2. I would make this a cross-platform product in order to facilitate our district's move away from Mac.
3. I would add other programming languages to the mix to broaden the fields the students can learn.

Verdict: I would recommend this tool because it would stimulate learning opportunities in coding which is the emerging job market in this economy. Students would also become familiar with the app development and publishing process, which is a useful skill to have if they get into a programming career.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up