Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Alfonso, 12th Grade H.S. Teacher
Nov 2, 2013

— Rating unavailable for this review.

Usage: study habits

Strengths: It creates accountability within students. Students can have access to information that they create and share it with others. Gives the opportunity to students that may not speak in class a chance to share their knowledge.

Suggestions for Improvement: Application is not iPad friendly. When I first joined, it automatically added me as a student and I was having a difficult time navigating from that point forward.
A second weakness was that I clicked on "message" and was having a tough time going back. It wasn't lettting me cancel the message. That was fairly frustrating.

Verdict: Yes, but not until the app is improved upon. I think that once all those little kinks are fixed, it would be recommendable.

Science Teacher
Nov 2, 2013

— Rating unavailable for this review.

Usage: I would assign flash cards for homework

Strengths: This product makes it easy to add content and holds students accountable to study by recording data for the teacher. It's like quizlet with accountability.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would have it link with my grade book or my students' google accounts- because there are just too many accounts for my students to remember (middle school)

Verdict: I would recommend it to my colleagues because we are looking for better ways to increase vocabulary retention.

Teacher
Nov 2, 2013

— Rating unavailable for this review.

Usage: I could use this to promote check for understanding amongst my students.

Strengths: I like that it allows both teachers and students to create their own questions.

Suggestions for Improvement: I feel like my students have website fatigue. No fault of study blue, but there are so many options to get help that they really can't afford one more site to check. If study blue could integrate with other already widely used sites, that would be very useful.

Verdict: It is great for lower level content knowledge.

Science Teacher
Nov 2, 2013

— Rating unavailable for this review.

Usage: don't use

Strengths: Basic flashcard app, although the review sheet function is nice to summarize all the cards on one sheet.

Suggestions for Improvement: I signed up and it wouldn't let me put in a new school (this was the app I downloaded for the ipad), plus the class/department/class number entry process wasn't seamless, nor was it ever explained why we needed to do all that, although I assume it would be for sharing flashcards between students.

Verdict: It is a good basic flashcard app.

Aaron, Teacher
Nov 2, 2013

— Rating unavailable for this review.

Usage: Looking at using this in my classroom to support students in collobarating.

Strengths: Robust flashcard creation and sharing features. I also really like the new teacher tools to track student use of the system.

Suggestions for Improvement: Might be useful to add more teacher directed aspects, maybe allow teachers to establish a curriculum.

Verdict: Seems like a great way to get students working together and sharing their resources.

Teacher
Nov 2, 2013

— Rating unavailable for this review.

Usage: don't use currently

Strengths: customization and ease of use and sharing resources for students to study

Suggestions for Improvement: more ability for teachers to recommend certain things for students to study

Verdict: student-generated content is really easy for teachers to use, and students using their own personal devices makes tech-management easy for teachers.

Federico, Teacher
Nov 2, 2013

— Rating unavailable for this review.

Usage: na

Strengths: It looks like a great tool particularly to teach languages.
It gives the teacher to monitor students use....

Suggestions for Improvement: I would add prerecorded audio....some what like quizlet...

Also add a few more game like activities that could help engage the students for a longer time

Verdict: Other colleagues...

Lisa, Technology Instructor
Nov 2, 2013

— Rating unavailable for this review.

Usage: not using it yet.

Strengths: Can monitor student learning

Suggestions for Improvement: I would need to know if I could upload a file to register students into a class.

Verdict: Right now if I assign a video to be watched, I don't know if the student really watches all of it.

Aba Instructor
Nov 2, 2013

— Rating unavailable for this review.

Usage: PECS, Special Education Image Identify

Strengths: It's a great way to see if kids are studying and where are there strong points.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be interesting to include some sort of gamification.

Verdict: It's simple!

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up