Product Index
Educational Operations
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
After School Coordinator/ Tech Aid, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to help prevent bullying and violence in the school and classroom.

Strengths: It helps stop bullying. It helps students speak up and become advocates for themselves and others.

Suggestions for Improvement: Somehow make this app applicable for parents as well.
Consider what if a teacher or administrator is harming a student or students?... what could be done to keep that person from knowing if he or she has access.

Verdict: It helps students speak up and come forward when they witness bullying or anything in particular that should not be happening at school and that is harmful to a student or multiple students.

Teaher, School Type: Elementary School, Blended Learning
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this in my classroom to speak about bullying.

Strengths: It can teach students how to communicate with each other when it comes to bullying.
Since I teach first grade it will be a great platform for me and my students to deal with this issue.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would want to make it easily accessible for everyone. Even primary grades.
It would be great if they can incorporate professional development workshops.

Verdict: Our district had many training on this issue but it would be nice to have something solid for parents, teachers, and students.

Rene, Principal, It Coordinator. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Project Based School, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Reinforcing the zero tolerance policy at school and empowering students.

Strengths: I think it helps with a great problem affecting our society. One of the main reasons this problem keeps growing is because no one speaks up when they most desperately have to.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would improve on the data gathered so as to know if some of the students are part of a repetitive cycle, and this would help counselors keep an eye for these students.

Verdict: Because all students need to understand that they have a voice and that they are always worthy of respect.

Lynda, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Project Based School
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: As a anti bullying app

Strengths: I like that it's affordable for the school and that they can report incidences with the kids having to put their names and feel that they can get in trouble or be bullied by other students for telling on them.

Suggestions for Improvement: I maybe make it more affordable if there's a large population at the school. This is a great tool for deans or counsellors. If teachers use it can create more work.

Verdict: I like that people can anonymously send events that happened at school.

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this to assign work, teach lessons, and give assessments.

Strengths: It's a very compelling idea and a definite area of need, but I'm not entirely sure that this is something that can be solved using an app.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) There needs to definitely be more training involved and not just a technological solution.
2) Maybe some kind of social media integration instead of just inside this one app?
3) I didn't catch the pricing options, but I'm not sure I would pay all that much for something like this.

Verdict: I'm not entirely convinced that an app would be a way to minimize bullying and dangerous behavior. I feel like there are more real-world options that would be more effective.

Vanessa, Sped Teacher. School Type: Middle School
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: I wouldn't use this product because I feel it would encourage students to report things that are not significant enough. I feel in a middle school setting it would have kids abide the app and not utilize it appropriately. I'm not sure how teachers can manage and prevent this from happening.

Strengths: It is visually appealing and seems usually friendly for students to use.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would change the cost of this product. Secondly, I would change the anonymous feature because I can not see how a teacher can intervene with the issue if they do not know who did it.

Verdict: I would recommend maybe for counsellors only to use. I would not recommend it because it would be too much work for teachers to manage on top of all of our responsibilities. It would overwhelm me

Response from Speak UP: One of the reasons the Speak UP! app is so successful is that it allows students to report incidents from anywhere at anytime. This gives students the opportunity to report out of ear- and eyesight of the perpetrator. Moreover, students always have the option to report anonymously.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I think this is a great way for all those students even those that are bully to pass out the message to receive help and feel protected.

Strengths: Students can communicate with other teachers so they can get help in what is happening in school and that is affecting them.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think is is always great however making it free will get more school to use it.

Verdict: School will be more safe and staff will be able to help all students so they are not abused or bully by others.

Jesus, It Help Desk. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this throughout our entire organization.

Strengths: allows students to have a voice that is heard but unspoken verbally

Suggestions for Improvement: I only have one thing I would change. To make it have an algorithm to pin point if their is a certain student that continues to be the aggressor

Verdict: This would be a great tool, to help keep our students safe, by keeping their incidents private but at the same time addressed and filed

6th Grade Math/Science/Support Teacher., School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would implement this program into the character counts Advisory lessons for all the teachers at my school.

Strengths: The highlighting tool is that it's anonymous anti-bullying app. This create and eliminates the "snitching" pressure that students face.

Suggestions for Improvement: It could include real life lessons for students to deal with issues that are facing.

Verdict: I would recommend this this because we have 1:1 student to device use at our school. We also have a major issue with bullying and cyber-bullying and I think its a safe way for students to stand up for themselves.

It, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: i would use this product to allow the students to have a place to speak when they feel trouble is around.

Strengths: I feel this is great for the students to have a safe place to communicate. I like the idea of communicating with the students while trying to help solve the problem.

Suggestions for Improvement: Not sure at this time. I would have to work with this product and see.

Verdict: The rise and increase of children bullying and other things arising. This is a great tool for the children to have a safe place to go and have someone to help them solve the issues.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up