Product Index
Curriculum Products
Categories: Games and Math
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it as a activity students could do as soon as they finish weekly ela computer assignments because I think it would motivate students to complete the ela tasks more and allow them to have fun after working hard while still learning math at their own level.

Strengths: It will help students when I can't pull small groups. The most unique part of this program is that it is a behavior management system, a game, and a math program all in one. I have never seen anything like that. I hate having to do a behavior management system that is separate than an instructional program because then it becomes too many programs with too many passwords and stuff. Kids love video games so we need to tap into that like this program does.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think it is the perfect supplement. It is not common core, but not everything should be . You need things like this to supplement common core programs in order for those other programs to work. Other programs try to do so much common core that they end up failing because it becomes too complicated for either the student or the teacher. It is amazing because I can use it for behavior and math so that it could be a go to supplemental program instead of just one of many programs you barely ever use.

Verdict: Every student will love it and they will improve at math finally because they will be engaged while learning basic skills that they should have mastered years ago but haven't that they probably think is currently boring math.

Angela, Humanities Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Project Based School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product with our special education students as well as other students struggling in our math program. Many students lack foundational skills and knowledge in Math and this service would be a wonderful way to fill in that gap for my school's middle graders.

Strengths: This product does a great job of taking students from right where they are in their math levels and abilities and assists them with mastering Common Core math content. It solves the problem of designing instructional sequences to support students that aren't currently performing at grade level in Mathematics in secondary schools.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see a secondary version of this product all the way up to AP levels of Calculus. The more fun and personalized we can make Math instruction, the better! As U.S. students as a whole are behind the Mathematics achievements of countries around the world, more of this kind of curriculum is critically needed!

Verdict: I would recommend this so I can see students growing in terms of their abilities to pursue success in our CPM Math program. When students aren't prepared to jump into grade-level content they need something to augment their skill level. I believe that Sokikom would be a wonderful way for students to gain the needed skills either at home, in an afterschool tutoring setting, or a Saturday school program. Our special education students would definitely benefit from this curriculum.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This program would be used as a math supplement I think I would also use it for assessment and flipping my classroom allowing kids to use it at home and school. I would use it to differentiate various levels within my classroom

Strengths: This product offers great differentiation for students of all levels of blouse on the opportunity as fast or as slow as a need the reteaching feature that offers a video lesson is awesome I think the front loading the teachers can do using the whole class I'm teaching the small video lessons is a great feature it's visually attractive the games are fun and engaging

Suggestions for Improvement: Like to see more open ended questions where there's different various ways for students to solve problems since I teach transitional kindergarten I would like to see some three math skills I think offering email updates to the teacher with weekly progress in email possibly certificates for students as they complete a certain levels you could print certificates and send them

Verdict: It's a program that could be used at all grade levels at all levels it offers correlation to the standards and offers an opportunity for students to use it at home and school it's available but only on the computer but also on the iPads

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 14, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to both aid with re-teaching and to advance students in math. I could use it as a center rotation for those students who finish early. It could also be used as an option for homework.

Strengths: The fact that the program is adaptable to a student's needs is great. Its animations are also appealing to students. As for teachers, the product offers reports that can be used by the teacher to track student's progress on standards, whether they be grade level, a grade below or above.

Suggestions for Improvement: There really is not a lot I would change from what I know. The one thing I would change if I could would be to make it more accessible for students from home. Not sure if there is an App associated with the product, but that would be great for classrooms with only App enabled devices.

Verdict: I would recommend it because it is adaptive. It will start at a student's independent ability level and work up from there. It can be used as a tool to fill in the academic gaps in a student's education that cannot always be addressed in the classroom.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this program to determine the needs of my students. it would help me to see which skills students are lacking in certain math domains and they would play games to reinforce those skills and bring them up to grade level as much as possible.

Strengths: I am impressed with the way it adapts to a students needs. it starts with a placement test and it adapts as the student progresses through the standards. It also gives the teacher insight as to where students are mathematically deficient in previous grade level math standards and allows them to play games to improve on those standards. If students are playing the games during breaks or at home it does not take away from instruction.

Suggestions for Improvement: The price is a concern. I would also like to know if there are reports that can be printed and used for conferences.

Verdict: First of all, it is an engaging way for students to work on current math standards as well as play games to catch up on deficient standards. Students can work from home or school. during the day or at breaks.

Gregorio, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I will invested in my centers. This will allow all my students rotate daily for at least 20 min.

Strengths: This program provides visuals to target ELL students. It will support 504 attentions and accommodation

Suggestions for Improvement: Three most important things that I will look into changing that I have not been aware is to have a bilingual program. Different languages, access to preschoolers and give support for high schoolers

Verdict: First of all I will look at student engagement. I will provide data support from my students. It is common core aligned and it will make ELL students engaged

Kerrin, Teacher. School Type: High School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this program with my kindergarten child to better her math skills. Also, I would want this program to be implemented in her elementary school.

Strengths: It will help to keep the student interest in a dry subject for kindergarten students. I am looking forward to setting up an account and spending time on this program with her.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would want them to increase the rigor on the middle school math games.

Verdict: I love the early elementary math games. It will keep student interest for my oldest child.

Brooke, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Pick would use this for independent practice with my students, especially for a review before an assessment. T

Strengths: Ithis program is great for mmediate feedback, Self-paced learning, and Support for students through CCSS a mastery.

Suggestions for Improvement: Access to an app would be beneficial for schools who have strict web searching guidelines. Printable reports of student results

Verdict: Students can work through CCSS with support at home or school using this tool.

Dena, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Math for students to reach the mastery of all standards...California. Assessments

Strengths: This program goes with students each year. It can be used at home. It covers standards. This program is for all students

Suggestions for Improvement: Cost for some schools will be an issue. Perhaps time to really train students. Getting principal on board. Lower grades more friendly

Verdict: This is interactive and standard based. This program can be used for all students

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To individual instruction for math and allow for students to progress at their level.

Strengths: User friendly Customizable Engaging Great data and feedback Available on multiple platforms Use it for whole Group

Suggestions for Improvement: Cheaper bundles Apps

Verdict: It is extremely user friendly and meets students at their level. Provides great feedback for the students and teachers. It provides videos for remediation . The teacher can select the standard.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up