Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Charell, Instructional Coach. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this program with my 5th grade students to teach and review 5th grade math skills in preparation for the SBAC or other state/district wide assessments. I would use this program as a supplement for our math curriculum and also for math problem solving intervention.

Strengths: This product is adaptive and standards based. This helps for targeted instruction. This program also helps students with the hotspots (user interface, ie, dragging and dropping) that is required for SBAC and learning 21st century skills. In addition, the teacher ability to create and assign assignments helps with supplementing other curriculum.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if:
1) The lessons were a little more engaging
2) The parents could log in to the system and receive info on their child's progress
3)The visuals were a little more engaging, the graphics are not as appealing for today's youth

Verdict: I would recommend this product to our school because it is a researched-based math program that is heavily aligned with the SBAC. It is important for our school's students to be well prepared for this assessment, as well as to build key problem solving skills, so this program helps with both of those outcomes. In addition, the program is adaptive and the teacher can also assign various topics to different groups of students. This would help differentiate instruction during independent work time and would also help teachers lead ore targeted intervention.

NIeves, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to help track standards students need to work with.

Strengths: I really like this product. The site guides the students with all each standard. Students are tested and if the student gets the answer wrong they can be guided to the right answer. Teacher is also in power to choose the new questions and the time it would take to response. It does make sure that the student is able to succeed.

Suggestions for Improvement: Unfortunately my school is in an area where money is a stretch. The big problem with this product is the pricing of it. I do not think that my administrator would be able to afford or be willing to spend money on it. It is an excellent product that can help me with the student learning

Verdict: It is a tool that will help track the progress of or student and will also help the students answer their own question.

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to assign work, teach lessons, and give assessments.

Strengths: One of the more important things to me right now in preparation for the SBAC is the ability to give assessments that prepare them for the test to come.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) I would offer more training in how to use the system. Sometimes, larger systems like this can be confusing, especially for teachers.
2) I would introduce some kind of a collaboration tool to collaborate with fellow teachers.
3) The ability to communicate with other teachers regarding the lessons and questions they came up with.

Verdict: The SBAC style assessment questions is really important for me.

Tech Coach, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Project Based School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Jul 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as a 30 minute supplemental math activity once a week to prepare students for the smarter balanced math test. It also has mini lessons teaching how to use the test and covering some of the vocabulary on it which I find very useful.

Strengths: I did in my previous responses:)

Suggestions for Improvement: Make sure it gets updated frequently to reflect the current smarter balanced test and questions. Make sure the product aligns to student scores on the sbac.

Verdict: The adaptive test mimics a lot of the smarter balanced answer styles and has similar questions. It also breaks down problems when students get them incorrect in a meaningful way

Grade Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: To engage students in their learning and make them responsible for their own learning and progress.

Strengths: CCSS aligned to curriculum.
Good looking interface for students.
Good data collection to help with reteaching and intervention.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think this product covers most of the topics that make it useful. Maybe they could add video tutorials for the students, but the genie is a lovely idea.

Verdict: Its a non profit company.
CCSS aligned.
Engaging for students.
Data driven for teachers and students to follow progress.

Apprentice Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this program to track student progress on certain learning objectives in math and what DOK level they are able to answer questions pertaining to that standard. I would also use it as a center in our blended learning model.

Strengths: Tracking of DOK levels within mastery of content standards.
Students ability to learn at their pace, the program tailors the learning experience to the student based on their performance of questions throughout the independent practices.

Suggestions for Improvement: Improvements:
I would improve the way that the interface looks for the instructoor, it seems a little dull and boring.

i would improve the way that the data is represented possibly grouping students with similar DOK levels together.

Verdict: I would advise to recommend it because of its ability to tell a teacher at what DOK level a student is performing at a given standard.

It Facilitator, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: The dashboard is way too complicated for the "average teacher". Only grades 3-5 limits.

Strengths: The product gives very specific details of what the students are doing. I like how I can see all of the student trials and errors.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. A more comprehensible dashboard made for someone who loves to espouse how they aren't techie.
2. More grade levels.
3. App based vs reliant on web browser. Concerns about iPad functionality.

Verdict: The dashboard is too complicated and some admins may be turned off by limited grade levels.

School Programs Coordinator, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to help students practice their problem-solving and prepare for SBAC testing. This is a unique product for many reasons. It relateds problems to DOK, teachers can see how students are solving the problems, help then break down where student needs help.

Strengths: I think that this product gives students valuable practice with problem-solving and utilizing the computer to share their answers. It gives teachers alot of information to plan for next steps for their students to progress with problem-solving in math.

Suggestions for Improvement: I don't think I would change anything. I am excited to try it out with my math intervention groups!!

Verdict: I would not advise against it. This product is intriguing and I would love to test it out with the students!

Principal, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Teachers could use this program to provide students with additional practice in standards based math skills.

Strengths: The platform is easy for teacher and students to maneuver through. The program provides audio support for students who may find the text difficult to read.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. The price is a little hefty..
2. The reports do not come in individual students reports.
3. There do not offer class purchases.

Verdict: The program provides the students with practice of math skills in a problem solving setting and also explains the correct steps to students if they do not complete the teask correctly.

Principal, School Type: Elementary School
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it as an independent study tool.

Strengths: It is a system by which problem solving can be addressed, whether the teacher is skilled in this area or not.
It works with younger students so they get a jump on developing their minds.
It was researched well.

Suggestions for Improvement: I wish it covered more general areas of problems. It seems to cover mostly math type problems.

Verdict: Starts at a lower grade, so it trains the student's mind at an earlier age.
Can be used independently.
Covers a wide variety of problem types.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up