Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: It looks like a GREAT app for grading and assessing students. Formative assessment would be extremely easy to grade and keep track to. Students and parents can access all documents and track progress on all assignments.

Strengths: Very awesome app to grade or assess students in their ongoing projects. Students and parents can monitor their progress, view teacher comments parents can see all students handouts, not just the grade report for the class.

Suggestions for Improvement: Definitely make it available for Android users and regular laptops. I don't have a tablet and many of my students also don't, we would love to be able to use it!!!

Verdict: It definitely look like an awesome app and I would LOVE to be able to use it in my class. You can upload documents from several different storage pages (dropbox, google drive). Cons is that it's JUST an app, one can't work on a computer that doesn't have a touch screen. and right now it also works only on Apple, not on android. cost seems too much.

Alt. Learning Prog. Coord., School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, Blended Learning
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would utilize this product as an electronic "data binder" for my students, showing each of their assignments that is given to them, and so they can easily see which assignments are still outstanding.

Strengths: I loved the option of the multiple class lesson views, from individual student to entire class. The biggest solution is TIME! Management of student assignments/grading can become problematic with larger classes.

Suggestions for Improvement: Because this product is geared for the iPad market, possibly expanding the options for smaller, rural districts who do not have as much access to mobile technology would be huge. Many of us, are trying desperately to keep on pace with antiquated, desktop technology.

Verdict: I loved the option of having the notification of knowing when a student submits an assignment and the option to hold the group before "returning" them to students. The cost of $99 is affordable for most teachers in their classroom budgets.

Resource Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I have an iPad cart and need a way to have students bring up the lesson that I am teaching rather than just having them read something off the web or play a game. This is a great way to create PDFs and that students can fill out and send back to me digitally for instant feedback.

Strengths: The ability to go back and forth between other cool apps such as iMovie and funny face and create assignments with a classroom inbox is spectacular!

Suggestions for Improvement: 1.) a tutorial for how to utilize the programs features for students 2) a help menu for IEP and low level students 3). A way to move the teachers assessment data into Powerteacher gradebook

Verdict: This is a tool that can fully utilize the potential of IPad for learning and not just using them for flash based games

Vp, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Is is a great way to go paperless in the classroom. My school division could save tens of thousands of dollars each year.

Strengths: Easy to use interface. Simple to share documents between students and teachers.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would love to be able to put student notes in as well as assignments. It would also be great to organize notes/assignments by categories (units).

Verdict: Great way to go paperless and looks very easy to use.

Technology Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I teach Technology to K-5. At our school, we are looking for ways to better prepare students for the new SBAC assessment (the new MSP). We've been looking for an online application that would allow us to create custom questions based on our students known strengths and weaknesses. This seems ideal, as I can create my own quick quizzes for any grade level, each student has their own account and it gives instant feedback. I also love that I can embed videos so the students can watch an educational video and answer comprehension questions. I feel that this is a product I could easily get a few homeroom teachers to pilot to build excitement and interest in the whole staff.

Strengths: It allows me to create custom quizzes for every grade level that I teach. It gives instant feedback, so if a class was structured in a certain way, you could teach, check for understanding, look at results with class and instantly reteach. This saves the teacher from having to grade, evaluate, and then schedule time for reteaching.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Have a text-to-speech feature (we were told this is hopefully on the way) 2. For younger students, I would allow easier log ins and picture passwords (I'm thinking of working with Kindergarten here) 3. Not sure on third, I'll need to see new interface (was told that a lot of things would be changing on website/app)

Verdict: Per the previous question, it is easily accessible and customizable, has the common core items already listed (you know the way to a teacher's heart), gives instant feedback to the teacher and student, and allows us to create our own questions. It could be used easily with small groups or whole class. The one hesitation is that we were told it works best in a 1:1 situation. At our school, we do not have 1 device per student at any grade level. This could be worked around by using stations in a workshop model, or by a class only using it when they check out the ipad cart, so it's not necessarily a deal breaker. in re: to how much would you pay, that's a tricky one. What we might feel an item is worth is not necessarily in the budget. Free is always ideal for a classroom teacher in a title I school. However, a school might find money for it if it can be tied into Literacy and Math sufficiently.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: THis would be a great program to use in the classroom with students. I think they would really be able to use the intereactivity and the ease of use to connect with the teacher.

Strengths: THe fact that it is iPad based is huge! THere are so many things the iPad can be used for in education, but there is little knowledge out there for us teachers. Using this product, I could not only get a lot of use out of the iPad, but it would be something worthwhile to students and theuir learning. WHat a great concept! Additioanlly, as a teacher I have the capabilty to interact in real time, and give quick and frequent feedback to what they are doing on the iPads!

Suggestions for Improvement: It is not terribly visually appealing. It looks like it would be very, very hard to understand for teachers that are not used to the computer, or an iPad. IT is very spread out, and so it would take a lot of practice to get used to this program. I actually thing that this product would be useful in a later date in the future, since it would take years, probably, for teachers at our school to get used to the controls and stop being afraid of the Cloud.

Verdict: First of all, we have our iPads in the classroom that most people do not know how to use. We mostly use them for "games" or wasting time (whatever way you want to look at it), so having something useful is important. THis program would be just the thing for intermediate students to really put to use all of the technology THEY know how to use!

Teacher, School Type: High School
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to track student work and to assign assignments class wide in an instant. This product alleviates the need to rexplain and reassign an activity because a student was absent or not paying attention

Strengths: It brings student assignments together so they can be viewed instantly

Suggestions for Improvement: When looking at a students portfolio of assignments I would have their score appear boldly on the face of that assignment. I would also set an indicator for the teacher when after a certain period of time a set number of students have submitted the assignment so that I know when I can assign something else. I also would set up the system so I can piggyback one assignment with another. So when students finish one assignment a second is immediately delivered if the assignments are piggybacked

Verdict: It makes the learning experience more efficient and allows me to spend more time directly supporting students.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to send students worksheets and documents to write on and complete to help eliminate paper worksheets. Update grades with ease. Send examples of students works to parents and other students.

Strengths: The strength of this product are the outbox/inbox capability. The teacher grading is all in one place that is easy to get to. Can easily send students or parents examples of student work.

Suggestions for Improvement: Have this product available for more then just apple. Build in mobile phone capabilities so students could do a poll or send a picture/video assignment from their phone. Include some tutorials on how to use app more effectively.

Verdict: I can track students progress supper easy, easy to use, and students can still show there work with out writing on paper. it is free :)

Teacher, School Type: High School, College Prep School
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I really like the organization of assignments and classes. It gives me more options and
Management tools than google drive.

Strengths: Updates, assignmen5 T deadlines and feedback Submission from students Class code , easy for kids Alphabetical listing

Suggestions for Improvement: Need android platforms Expand with tablets

Verdict: Easier management of all class assignments, options for documents and video. The iPad tool allows handwriting and colors

Naf, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Higher Education, High ELL Population, Project Based School
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: The app is limited to apple products. Very limited

Strengths: this application is nice in that it integrates grading, communication and work into one software. the seemless integration is typical of mac products and that is where I leave it at.

Suggestions for Improvement: it needs to have more accesibiilty through various platforms. they choose to only focus on the apple market. it is alsoexpensive

Verdict: the app is very limited n expensive to use

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up