Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Special Education Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: A present challenge that brings to mind immediate application of "sharemylesson" is the implementation of an alternative state assessment revision this school year. Last year being my first experience with alternative measures, I found great support from two experienced teachers in other districts who had amassed quite a repertoire of paper/pencil tasks designed for assessment purposes. With the changes to our state assessment this year, I have found myself envious of those in districts such as Shoreline where, over the past several years, a couple dedicated folks pooled successfully used materials into a district lending library. This program, "sharemylesson," made by teachers for teachers, avails a valuable resource at my fingertips.

Strengths: "Sharemylesson" supports collaboration between teachers. I am able to access a site where my language is spoken in that the tried and true resources for teaching students are shared. As a special education teacher of 30 years, I have the ability to share what I have found useful/successful with others, as well. The program avails supportive materials in many skill areas, on varied levels, in a multitude of formats. I provides a wealth of specific guidelines for general education teachers regarding different disability conditions that contribute to one's ability to both understand and respond appropriately.

Suggestions for Improvement: At this point, I am very impressed with what I have been shown about the product in my introductory demonstration. Perhaps by actually using it, I may find some suggestions for improvement or revision, but still so new to it, I have none identified.

Verdict: This is advertised to be free, never to hit a registration wall.

Teacher / Chapter Leader, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: The product was supposed to be a repository for lesson plans on every subject. I each 6th grade Social Studies in NYC and I sought relevant lesson plans. I was not able to use the product at the time because i was not able to find the resources I needed.

Strengths: The amount of lesson resources is great. It provides lots of options, and the ranking of lessons makes it easy to focus on the best and not have to waste tediously going from lesson to lesson and using trial and error to figure out what is good. The topics are well organized and easy to search by grade level and/or subject.

Suggestions for Improvement: One flaw I found was not being able to get an accurate search by just clicking in a specific grade level. A teacher in NYC might not realize that what they are teaching is not taught in that grade in another part of the country. Therefore, you would need to search the specific topic for a range of grades (for 6th grade you would search 6-8 rather than 6th specifically) in order to access the full range of resources for your grade.

Verdict: While I was not able to use the product initially, at this conference I have learned why that may have happened and was shown a host of resources in my subject area. Based on that I will be using the product from now on, and promoting it with my principal and fellow teachers.

Jake, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as a reference whenever I'm designing a lesson plan. This provides me with many great resources to help me when I'm preparing different lesson plans for my classroom. It provides examples, worksheets, videos, and many more. All designed to help the teacher out in a classroom.

Strengths: The large amount of information their site contains. There are many different types of lesson plans with many different examples. They've so quickly gained thousands of examples within a short 2 year period. That's remarkable.

Suggestions for Improvement: Make the inner face more user friendly. There's a lot to look at the first moment someone views the site. This can be overwhelming to a non-tech savy user. Friendly and simple inner face will be great for all teachers then. There needs to be an effective monitoring system of the lesson plans to make sure only the best and most effective lesson plans are posted on the site.

Verdict: It's a great way for some teachers who may be struggling to connect to students learn new methods and approaches to reaching all the students. The plethora of examples allows it to reach many different types of students and teacher's styles.

Janet, Kindergarten Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This is my first "go to" when planning an interactive thematic unit in kindergarten. There are fabulous lesson plans, videos, and materials available FOR FREE! They are all CCSS aligned and align with the district standards I use. It's a great place to get a new idea to add to a unit too.

Strengths: 1. Easy access to thematic lessons. 2. Multiple media resources 3. Contains Pre-K through Kindergarten material

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Would be nice to have a small picture of the materials offered before downloading the material. (Like on Teachers Pay Teachers). Sometimes I downloaded materials that weren't what I expected.

Verdict: It's free and contains fabulous lessons, activities and videos that I can just download and use. It's great for new teachers that are teaching thematic units, or for seasoned teachers that are looking for a new idea. It's also a great place to share the fabulous lessons or activities that you create as a professional. As a kindergarten teacher, I love having a site that contains activities for Pre-k and Kindergarten students.

Ninfa, Teacher. School Type: High School, College Prep School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I could be to use the prom the software to get ideas on how to teach great lesson plans they have some really good lesson plans that I was able to use in my classroom as well as other areas

Strengths: The project is great however sometimes it can be cumbersome to navigate because he does give you examples but overall I love the idea of using this paper not describe

Suggestions for Improvement: Sometimes can be a problem on the site as far as how to pay for some of the things that you were teachers and we don't have enough money to pay some of those ideas I think if we party shop with Dr. shoes it will be even great set of the teachers can get get materials that they need and they don't have to spend money out of their pocket

Verdict: We always recommend to my teachers to do it because other DJs a great ideas is just a matter of you sitting in the classroom for something positive and great teacher steal ideas from other great teachers to make their classroom better

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I am teaching a new grade this year and am having to look up lessons/resources on the different curriculum outcomes that are laid out for grade 2. Share my lesson makes it easy and accessible for me to look up lessons for the dofferent curriculum areas.

Strengths: Many lessons and activities available for all subject areas -it is user friendly -accessible -

Suggestions for Improvement: Teachers are always looking for fabulous and credible lessons, ensuring that a high sta card is maintained with all lessons posted is key. -perhaps have a section to apps and lessons, where teachers can post how they are using an app with their students (I.e. Explain everything)

Verdict: There are 4 new teachers at my school and they stay late every night plan one and preparing for their lessons. This site is a great and convenient tool to access a plethora of lesson plans and resources instead of having to search endless and websites for a subject area.

Samuel, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to find teaching resources created by teachers, the best curriculum designers.

Strengths: I love that Language Arts and Math teachers can find resources by simply clicking on the Common Core standards. That way, they will know that the resource is exactly matched to the standards they are trying to teach. It's great that it's free, and that it is teachers who are submitting the resources, and not "non-teachers".

Suggestions for Improvement: Resources are not matched to specific CA science and history standards, so I can't do a search by standard.

Verdict: Teachers would save tons of time searching for lesson plans and other teaching resources on the internet. I ALREADY SPEND TONS OF TIME DOING THIS! It would be nice to use a tool like Share My Lesson where I can find the materials I need, all in one place.

Becky, Peer Assistance And Review Consulting Teachers. School Type: Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This is something I would share with all of my teachers that I support. I also think I would take the webinars myself.

Strengths: This provides a variety of exemplars for teachers to examine for their own use. The templates are simple and easy to manipulate and adjust.

Suggestions for Improvement: I wonder at the search engine and how to truly find lessons that push rigor, realness-- are relevant and relationally driven. Our district is very committed to culturally relevant pedagogy so while I'm very pleased with the content, I wonder at different search engine options.

Verdict: The diversity to the lessons provided is positive, as are the multiple perspectives. One thing I would recommend is for teacher mentors to suggest ideal lessons for those new to teaching.

Gr. 2 Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This would be a great way to collect resources. The lessons are rated. It is a free resource to both educators and parents.

Strengths: The search crosses over into other legitimate sources. The free resources are available to use as educator needs. You aren't required to use all the materials. This would make adapting lessons for other grade levels and abilities ideal.

Suggestions for Improvement: Perhaps a bit more training. I believe a help resource is available. Perhaps offering other educators the opportunity to tweak poorly rated lessons and eliminate weak submissions. Truthfully, I have already signed up!

Verdict: I would support this because the resource is free, the searches are specific, and it is accessible on any device.

Special Education Teacher, School Type: High School
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This is a great tool to look at other lesson plans to see how other teachers are teaching the Common Core.

Strengths: This product helps teachers lesson plan and uses the wisdom of their colleagues to implement the Common Core standards. As teachers, we don't have a lot of extra time, so all the time we can save is appreciated.

Suggestions for Improvement: It seems more limited for secondary lessons. Can be overwhelming to navigate the site. Tutorials would be helpful. There are no rubrics. Having rubrics would be very helpful.

Verdict: It is free! Doesn't cost any money! Thank you! It has peer-reviewed Common Core alignment. You can trust the content meets the standards.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up