Product Index
Educational Operations
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teachers, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: it's not something i need to purchase as a teacher - it is something administrators would make this decision about.

Strengths: it makes reporting easy and efficient and all in one place. since it operates through the cloud, it can also be accessed through smartphones, which is convenient.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. connecting it to current reporting databases in school boards
2. use in multiple languages
3. specific features teachers can choose to use, instead of needing to purchase the entire product

Verdict: it seems to be very comprehensive and accessible for users. it takes into account accessibility through mobile devices, parent access, and ease of reporting.

Andrew, Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Track student progress and attendance

Strengths: The interface looks user friendly. It tracks relevant info and makes it accessible. It is also very cost effective.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) customization of feedback in attendance. (Eg reasons why) and printable charts of data for parents.

2) link to existing platforms eg Google to avoid further logins for parents as this is a deterrent.

Verdict: Time saver and communication assistance tool for parents and admin

J.C., Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: This product would have to be pitched to someone with buying power at the Board level.

Strengths: Cloud based data storage would be ideal for access though there is such a concern already about security surrounding private data any time. The CEO assured potential clients that the company uses military grade security in order to protect data.

Suggestions for Improvement: Raising concerns about what to do with students who are 18 and older as privacy laws preclude schools from communicating with the parents unless there is expressed and explicit consent from the student.

This product needs to sync with any sort of report card generator.

Not sure if giving teacher access from outside the school is an entirely good idea. This becomes another security concern and it is also a concern of work life balance concerns for the educator.

Verdict: I have concerns about whether the features that come with this product are indeed compatible with my board's current practices of data gathering.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: I would use it if I'm building a classroom website or a school website so that it advertises their achievement and their work.

Strengths: I would definitely recommend it because you can use it as a good independent and cooperating tool so that students can learn from each other. I also like that teachers can track where they are getting wrong and monitor their progress as time goes.

Suggestions for Improvement: First, the cost should be lowered so that many teachers can access it. Second, they should build a portfolio so that teachers can navigate the website easily and effectively.

Verdict: I like the idea behind it but it's very expensive to get Gold membership so I would not likely purchase it for classroom use. Preferably for building school website.

Kristen, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Blended Learning
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: I did not see the efficiency or the purpose of this product. Presentation was not clear on how this product could be used or how it could be useful to me

Strengths: Did not understand the concept of this product enough to give any strengths

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) find a way to present the concept of the product to demonstrate
a) what its main purpose is
b) how it benefits me as a teacher
c) how it benefits the teaching community
d) how do I use it

Verdict: Did not understand product presentation
Do not like that interaction is limiting communication with parents. Face-to-Face is important

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As a software database for learning and sharing

Strengths: Secure network and user firendly

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) allow more storage for cheaper costs
2) Allow parents and students to use
3) make it a virtual classroom

Verdict: It is school sensitive so it is great fo store sensitive data. It increased parents comunication

Janet, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: - as a great time management tool
- great tool of school/teacher/parent communication
-would post homework, notes, memos, news and progress of student

Strengths: -- quick and private communication between home and school
- saves time and keeps one organized
-great way to maintain communication during busy times

Suggestions for Improvement: - accessible throughout board
- make it school wide use
-provide training and support to users
- make it available to our tcdsb

Verdict: - i would recommend it for efficient and private communication between school and home
- would provide time-saving tool of organization and communication
- private without using your personal text or e-mails

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to send reminders to parents.

Strengths: I like the fact that teachers do not have to use this to respond to parents' concerns. It is an option.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would suggest that it be stated that parents will respond to concerns via phone,

Verdict: I would prefer to have it stated that teachers would not be responding via this communication tool.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: -school management service
-communicate important information with students and parents
-teachers can use it to post grades
-teachers can hold virtual meeting with the parents

Strengths: -great to manage school website
-decrease IT cost
-increase parent communication and accessibility

Suggestions for Improvement: -wouldn't be appropriate for teachers to use for their personal classroom website

Verdict: -It would be great for private schools as it is a great for managing school website

Occasional Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: It seems like a great idea but after finding out it needs to be implemented school wide/ board wide, I am not at liberty to make that decision. The concept is great though.

Strengths: Increases parent, teacher communication. Data security.

Suggestions for Improvement: Again working for the public board it is out of my hands to implement this.

Verdict: It seems like it is a time saver, which teachers love.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up