Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Emma, Esl Teacher &Amp; Coordinator. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this application to replace about 10 other educational software items that we have!

This addresses the ESSA requirement to use at the least 1% of the title 1 funds to be spent on "parent engagement" in their primary language.

It covers real time updates to and from parents. It allows parents to communicate with all the teachers of their students, with a "Personal Social Media" approach and a private wall, shared only with the specific class the student belongs to.

Parents can also use the wall to ask questions and reach out to other parents and collaborate or organize activities, and to respond to simple issues quickly and easily.

Strengths: This product is super large and encompasses so many different software needs currently being met by other programs or apps.

It could be a great asset to have ONE login to cover all needs school related for all parents and students within one home.

It's a little overwhelming to hear about in brevity, however, there are great instructional videos on the site, and step by step instructions with the screen shots for any technologically challenged individuals to draw from.

Suggestions for Improvement: I don't have any suggestions for improvements since I haven't yet been able to delve deeply into the many uses and purposes for the application. It seems very well thought out and organized.

It may need to be a little more intuitive to navigate, but that's a judgement made without my being able to use the application much yet!!

Verdict: I would recommend it so that all the teachers/Students/parents/admin etc can remain in constant contact both privately and effectively. Non-linear communication as well as real time updates and question/answer formats.

Summary scripts like Twitter---short, quick, helpful.

Kristen, Campus Innovation Coach, Teacher, Instructional Coach. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I love the fact that scribesense can capture open ended response questions in math and science and short fill in the blank questions in social studies and math. It doesn't require that you create a multiple choice assessment for every assignment like some other grading programs. You directly scan in the paper assessment into a PDF document to scribesense. I wish I could find more applications within my ELA classroom, but the creation of data seems user friendly. The user can set and adjust the parameters of the grading, but it does tend to be heavy on front loading which may create an added burden for the teacher. Although the integration with our gradebook and the access students have to an individualized student portfolio more than makes up for the necessary added set up time.

Strengths: 99.9% accuracy rate for reading open ended questions. It works just like the post office program for reading scribbled addresses. The system surprisingly beats even human power of recognition of handwriting.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be wonderful to see the system have the capability to populate a database of common phrases occurring in an ELA short answer response. I can see so many applications for using this as an ELA classroom tool when learning transitions in essays, model thesis statements, integrating relevant text evidence, etc.

Verdict: I would recommend using this program at our school because the tool far and away beats our current form of assessment. We are constantly using data on our campus to inform our instruction, but not always in this reliable and valid way.

Patricia, Ela Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Next year I must produce "a grade per day" for each of my 90 ELA students. This will be a nightmare without technology of some kind.

Strengths: If it performs as promised, it will give me back many hours of real teaching. I have got to figure out a way to manage the 90 papers a day that will be flooding my classroom. It goes a long way toward solving the paper avalanche and grading burnout that are occupational hazards for teachers.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Make sure it is as easy as you promise. Can I start using it quickly? Will there be compatibility issues?
2) Make sure it will easily interface with my district's gradebook of record (PowerTeacher Gradebook).
3) It is likely I will have to pay for this myself the first year at least. I don't think this is unusual (teachers paying for materials), so maybe you can price it differently for a single teacher/classroom?

Verdict: Instead of spending my time grading, I will be: developing and revising materials for ELL/IEP students; calling/meeting with students and families; modifying existing materials based on results of testing; and so on. In other words, not doing paperwork.

Emma, Esl Teacher &Amp; Coordinator. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to grade, score, and assign ratings for student work and assessments. It gathers data in a fabulously streamlined fashion-creating date and heat maps for the right brained teacher, for parent conferences, and to help admin see the progress of my students!

Strengths: I love how it has the potential to save you TONS of grading time, and it gives you feedback within the SAME day.

Suggestions for Improvement: I don't like that you can only buy in as a campus, that truly makes it nigh to impossible for some truly needy campuses and districts to use because admin is not always supportive of spending on teacher efficiency programs.

Title 1 schools in low SES districts are kind of left out of this unless they have some really progressive admin.

Verdict: It can only be used as a campus right now. So, there are no options for individual teacher buy in. If I cannot achieve successful advocacy for my campus then I don't have any opportunities to use it for my class--even if I REALLY want to.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Amazing program in terms of marking and being able to track their errors through using technology. It would save so much time!

Strengths: I would definitely recommend it because you can use it as a good independent and cooperating tool so that teachers can learn from each other as they mark their papers. I also like that teachers can track where they are getting wrong and monitor their progress as time goes.

Suggestions for Improvement: First, it would be great if the machine could identify errors and give them part marks. Second, scanners that goes with this program would be ideal so that schools can purchase them. It would be also great if they could identify different hand writing.

Verdict: I would definitely recommend it because it will save so much time for teachers when they mark various papers in different subject areas.

Steve, Math Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Product would be used to grade and track assignments, homework, exit tickets, quizzes and unit tests,

Strengths: portfolio creation and auto grading of tests

Suggestions for Improvement: Test corrections option would be the bomb. These corrections would be based upon the questions missed or only partially correct. It would be great to retain the initial results of the test while allowing the students to complete the correction task. This correction tracking would be automatic based upon the errors made in the initial test. These corrections would be retained and included in the portfolio for evidence in parent/teacher conferences and to reveal to the student the amount of effort they have given the task.

Verdict: Product gives me more time to teach. It would develop a portfolio of student work automatically.

Minerva, 5th Grade Science Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this tool to track student data and progress. This tool would be great for RTI intervention! I could show parents what students are doing in the classroom because when even when you hand something back it might not make it home.

Strengths: This tool gives you a great representation of data. You can see who has missed what and what you need to work on. You can also overwrite grades just in case you have dyslexia students. I love how you can change percentages as well.

Suggestions for Improvement: One thing I would change is being able to buy the service for just 1 teacher. If I want to fully use this product I would have to convince my Admin to buy it for the school.

Verdict: I would recommend we use this tool because they want us to track student's data. This is a much easy to grade and to give data.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to grade and assess students in science literacy. As well as helping students identify any misconceptions, or other areas needed to improve their overall literacy and mathematics skills.

Strengths: Strengths- time saver, allows teachers to focus on stronger programming, easy and accessible...FREE for a limited time.

Suggestions for Improvement: Keep it FREE for individual teachers to use, however, school licenses can be purchased.

Allow teachers to easily manipulate and change data/grades if necessary.

Allow teachers to access a free PDF-compiler to allow for easier upload.

Verdict: Allows teachers to focus on offering stronger programming rather than spending unnecessary time on grading (which requires little to no skills).

James, Staff Developer. School Type: High School, 1:1 Devices
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would train teachers on using the software so then they could use the product which will help open their schedule for more instructional time, lesson planning, etc.

Strengths: It solves the problem of teachers using time to grade as oppose to creating. It also helps create portfolios that can be used to create data driven assessments and plans for the individual student.

Suggestions for Improvement: -Make it possible to upload digital documents not just hand written ones. So teachers that use paperless classrooms could benefit.

-Add some type of test creator right from their website and key to streamline the assessments.

-Add collaboration so teachers can view shared students portfolios.

Verdict: The time teachers would save is invaluable.

Tony, Teacher. School Type: Higher Education, College Prep School
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this easy to use format for grading. I really appreciate the useful data that each assessment is able to offer to the learning process. Cutting back on grading time is extremely valuable and the quick feedback is great.

Strengths: The data output is a great feature that will help in evaluating student learning.

Suggestions for Improvement: One thing that may help is to provide for a "turn-it-in" feature for plagiarism, although I realize that is not the goal of the product. Some videos of interpreting the data and trends would better help in understanding the data.

Verdict: I would highly recommend this tool because of two reasons: 1. The ease of use and 2. the data that it provides for improving teaching and learning.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up