Product Index
Curriculum Products
Categories: Language Arts and Math
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Matt, It Facilitator. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as a supplemental tool that gives immediate formative feedback. I would use this as tool to engage students.

Strengths: I like that the teacher can customize the learning path. The entire product was built from the ground up using ccss. This is so important because teachers need to have control for their own buy in. Passive apps don't help anyone.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Teachers should be able to give coins to their students.
2. Perhaps pair down the dashboard. It is a lot.
3. I think maybe you could charge slightly more.

Verdict: i like how the learning path is totally customizable. Teachers can have their path follow what they are teaching in class.mmthe coins received by students is motivating as well. The research videos are amazing.

Response from ScootPad: Teachers can assign optional bonus coins when they review completed assignments.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as independent study during small group.

Strengths: The classroom data report is a great way for teachers to see student progress and help teacher see which students need to be retaught lessons. I also like that it has a learning path for students and doesn't allow students to jump around to different lesson.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like a read aloud feature for e books that teacher can turn on or off.
I would also like to control how long a student can be on a game even though it was unlocked by student for earning coins.

Verdict: I would recommend this because its a great way for students to grow academic or fill in those gaps where they may have missed in previous grades.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use this product as a center. I post assignments for students according to their performance in class - as a review or extension. Then I use the data that ScootPad provides to direct them to the next learning target.

Strengths: Data collection and adaptive assignments.

Suggestions for Improvement: Student incentives and user-friendliness (when I first used it, it was not as intuitive as I hoped, but it was not too difficult to navigate once I played with it more.

Verdict: ScootPad's assignments are adaptive and there are many features that help you differentiate learning according to students' needs. The dashboard also helps manage and compile student performance data for review.

Instructional Technology Facilitator, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: First I would introduce parents to the product, sharing the features, particularly the adaptive learning features and the Common Core alignment.
I would use it schoolwide with students to provide meaningful personalized learning.

Strengths: The strength of the product is that it is adaptive and provides students the ability show growth even though they might not be at grade level.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think the product would be great if they could also accommodate for grades 9-12. Some high school students are working on elementary levels, so this would be a great, un-intimidating way for those students to work on foundational and fundamental skills.
Another suggestion would be to lower the family pricing. It is a great tool for students who have access, to work over the summer on Scootpad, but a great majority of students in my district are low income, and parents would have trouble paying.

Verdict: I would recommend the product because it provides instant feedback and adapts to the student's skill level, while also providing common core alignments. Another reason I would recommend it is because I would like for students to be able to continue their work over the summer and build on their learning even when they're not in school.

Digital Learning Coach, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Scootpad is used as a tool to reinforce the standards. I used it in small groups as well as whole group visits to the computer lab. Used mainly for ELA to simulate the SBAC

Strengths: The reports are comprehensive. There is plenty of content across grade levels. I like that I can differentiate for students. The adaptive learning enviornment is great!

Suggestions for Improvement: Would like the ability to give longer assignments or questions per standard, last time I tried (6 months ago) I was only able to give up to 10? Also the ability to shuffle quesitons would be good.

Verdict: It is a good tool for exposing students to the testing environment. It is also good for reviewing, reteaching the CCSS. Also like that it is adaptive.

Response from ScootPad: There are 20 questions per manual assignment. You can select up to 10 concepts to be included in the assignment, which means the minimum number of questions per concept is 2 and the maximum is 20.

Matthew, Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to assign work, teach lessons, and give assessments.

Strengths: It covers both ELA and Math which make this a very interesting product to market to an entire school.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) I would offer more training. Such a large program like this would lend itself to a pretty steep learning curve.
2) I would introduce some kind of a collaboration tool to collaborate with fellow teachers.
3) The ability to communicate with other teachers regarding the lessons and questions they came up with.

Verdict: The SBAC style assessment questions is really important for me.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it in the classroom to incorporate with my writing workshop.

Strengths: Gives students to be creative and we can incorporate technology in the classroom.
I like the fact that the lessons/progress can be monitored.

Suggestions for Improvement: 3 things I would change about this produce is to make it connect with Google classroom and I would also allow the app to provide resources for the parent/teachers.

Verdict: Because our school doesn't have something like this.
It gives the students to be creative using technology.
It also gives feedback to the parents which is a plus.

School Programs Coordinator, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Students used ScootPad in the intervention classroom to practice skills that they needed.

Strengths: Scoot Pad is fun, engaging and instructional. It solves the problem of differentiating instruction for all grade levels.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to know if you can assign Scoot Pad in Google Classroom, if teachers can share data with each other on multiple students and if there are reports for each student.

Verdict: I would recommend Scoot Pad because it adapts for each student, it is instructional and aligned to the Common Core standards.

Response from ScootPad: Teachers can share student Mastery Reports with co-teachers, which provide insight on each student’s proficiency across all practiced concepts and standards. In addition to proficiency, ScootPad offers metrics on individual students that provide insight on activity such as how many problems and assignments have been completed, how long it took to complete an assignment, and more.

Lynda, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Project Based School
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Assign books for students to read

Strengths: It solves the problem of students not wanting to read books.

Suggestions for Improvement: I like the digital book and how students or teachers can assign books per student or the whole class. I dont like that it's limited in the books that they have especially in social studies or nonfiction books. Having more books would give the teacher more choices and be more appealing to purchase the product.

Verdict: It's great for ELA instruction and summer reading for students.

Principal, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: We would probably use it as both an teaching tool for all students and remediation for students who needed an extra opportunity to work with the material.

Strengths: It captures students progress as they work through the standards and provides data as to where teachers need to focus.

Suggestions for Improvement: When there is a checking the answer button, it would be useful if it gave some more guidance, like "2 of your choices are correct." Animation to explain concepts. Students having some choice as to what they would like to explore.

Verdict: If the students find the product itself engaging, it might motivate them to use it.

Response from ScootPad: We offer a Scootorial for every concept. Scootorials are step-by-step instructional videos that help explain concepts, and can be found on alongside problems to assist students as they are working on practices/assignments.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up