Product Index
Educational Operations
Categories: Data Systems and Data Reporting
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
3rd Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As the coordinator of an alternative learning environment, it would be beneficial to have one comprehensive system to collect data.

Strengths: I really like the comprehensive features for behavior, including the component where you can see behavioral notations from previous classes prior to a student arriving at your class. I also like the feature of how the exit ticket assessment data can be compared across subjects.

Suggestions for Improvement: While I would use this product, it does look like it could definitely be a challenge to input the data and it could be labor intensive. It didn't sound like it interfaced with our Skyward or CEDARS student data systems.

Verdict: I like the comprehensive nature of the tool and it would replace multiple systems.

Principal, School Type: Middle School, High School, College Prep School, Blended Learning
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I like the highly integrated aspect of SchoolRunner as a data management system. It is nice to have to only remember one log-on to enter a wide variety of data and it appears relatively simple to implement.

Strengths: I like that SchoolRunner can track attendance, grades, interventions and have quick access to other data such as phone numbers, parents data, etc.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be helpful if there was a 'send to' function, so that progress reports could be sent automatically or as scheduled to parents.

Verdict: It would be nice to have only one system to record all our data. I think that SchoolRunner shows some promise in this regard. Some of our time-consuming practices would be eliminated if we could simply enter information directly to the system.

Adam, Assistant Principal. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School, Blended Learning
Nov 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: One stop shop for a ALL data (behavior, attendance, formatives, benchmarks, etc.)

Strengths: Simplicity is the main feature. Easy to navigate and colors pop to show results.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Connection with MAP (NWEA) is our main concern. We need a way to ensure that this data can be collected, analyzed, and easily distributed to our teachers.

Verdict: The simplicity of the program is great, it is very bright and vibrant, has the capability to interface with many different programs and it will reduce the time of looking at 4 different sites for data.

Matthew, Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to ease the transformation of data into a holistic view of the child.

Strengths: This seems as if it will provide results more efficiently than the current way we assess data.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Make it user friendly
2) more feedback examples
3) how can it connect with common core.

Verdict: This will allow teachers to look at students vs. systems and data.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Allow me to import my data and have all the information in a place that will help me adjust my lesson plans.

Strengths: The ability to insert and. Ollect data and analyze it all in one spot.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Individual user setting, I know a couple teachers that would love this, but we have several older teachers that this program would overwhelm. 2. Nicer visuals it looks very analyst looking, as an elementary teacher I like a little pop in the program. 3. Ability to import assessment data from all online testing and paper testing easily, As this would be time saving.

Verdict: I would say this is an awesome product for data collection, but seems similar to a brightloop program that is free. Let me evaluate further this programs benwfits versus another application.

Second Grade, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: To track student behavior over the whole school. To see trends that we could address.

Strengths: Great way to track data

Suggestions for Improvement: Be more useful to primary grades. It could also track data on how many standards I hit. Could it track which students hit what learning targets. I need more time to explore the product to find out way I might use it.

Verdict: It may be hard to implement as school wide. I am more looking for something I can use in my own classroom or as a second grade team

5th Grade Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population, Project Based School, Blended Learning
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: It would be an admin choice to bring it to district. It does not seem very different from the programs we currently use.

Strengths: This product doesn't seem to show anything I cannot easily access without it.

Suggestions for Improvement: Show me that gradespeed, last years tcap scores and DEA scores then I might be more excited about this program.

Verdict: I'm not sure this program would improve teaching or learning in my district.

Teacher, School Type: High School, Blended Learning
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: There a many products out there. S Some of these educational products have come from very popular and well-known companies Unfortunately, navigating these programs have been not only a hassle but a major source of frustration for teachers and students alike. Finally, here is a product that deals with ' one system, one page for a teacher to do everything that he/she needs. How cool is that? I teach AP US History and I can't tell you how many pages I have had to navigate in order to prepare notes, prepare Document Based Questions and assess Essay based questions. The navigation alone take a lion's share of my time. With SchoolRunner, I do not have the fly around so much. Everything is 'a la porter' as the French will have it for at your fingertip. A teacher is able to record the behavior, academic and social interactions of his/her students and do so discreetly and respectfully. A Teacher is able to, by this program, provide instant feed back to parents, peers and administration if the need arises. It is effective for PTSA conferencing

Strengths: Student assessment is one of the most challenging thing teachers have to do. In most cases these assessments are subjective, in that teachers have a mental picture of a student, hoe he/she behaves in class and how that will play a small role in the grading. Biases have been reported over the years. With this program, all a teacher needs to do is enter the grades and let the grades tell the story graphically and colorfully.

Suggestions for Improvement: Sell in Africa Work with African like me to show you the way Sell more in 157 countries in Africa

Verdict: I recommend they hurry up and increase their marketing potential by going into all the 157 African Countries. I am available to give them suggestions. Please note that most African Countries do have the money, what they need is the technology.

Special Education Para, School Type: High School
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it for data collection specifically to know what students are doing when the go to the general education classes. I could also pass on information about a students day as it progresses.

We also receive emails around students being suspended and it would be great if as a staff we could know what the students are being disciplined for and the parties involved. This way if we see those students together, we can be on alert, if needed.

Strengths: We currently use PowerSchool however School Runner provides a higher level of information and resources for the school and the district.

Suggestions for Improvement: Nothing at this writing.

Verdict: Because it would give us more insight for the whole school to have an awareness of the student body and their interactions with staff.

Principal, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To track data from the whole school. I could also see teachers really finding this valuable not just for tracking data but to help communicate with families.

Strengths: solves the problem of different data in a million different places. Love that!

Suggestions for Improvement: No emoticon on student or parent report for mood. It's cute and could be a nice reminder for the school staff member but I can see issues if a parent thinks the conversation went okay and the teacher selected the negative emoticon. Yikes

Verdict: Right now, we're using a lot of spreadsheets. This would simplify her life.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up