Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
kareem, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product as part of our character education lessons.

Strengths: In the demos you can really hear the student perspective! The kids are completely real!

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like for them to look for ways to increase the screen size for certain information. We have large classes and if shared on a screen some of the content will get lost. Rethink the pricing structure and provide lesson plans that line up with state curriculum.

Verdict: School climate is a huge problem in our building. We are continually looking for ways to include our students in meaningful discussions and these videos gave me chills! I can't wait to share this with our building!

Math Teacher/ Team Leader, School Type: High School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this in my district to educate parents, TEACHERS, and students to recognize and eliminate bullying.

Strengths: This is adaptive, and provides resources all year, not just at ONE meeting.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see a way to send this home via a DVD or some other medium so households without Internet will be able to access them. I was thoroughly impressed with the presentations, so have no other recommendations.

Verdict: We are a small school and have never really addressed this issue. I think it is time for us to get past the dull power-point presentation that we all watch while grading papers or copping dinner.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Bullying is problem in all school districts. This program provides tools and resources schools can use to provide training to teachers in the prevention of bulling.

Strengths: The program provides training for teachers. The program can also provides programs that provide an opportunity for teachers to provide lessons to students. Students and parents are provided supports on the the subject of bullying also.

Suggestions for Improvement: The program should also be expanded to address other school climate issues as well because bullying occurs also as a result of other environmental or school climate issues. This is a great product as its created currently.

Verdict: This program provides training to staff on the bullying. Currently, counselors provide information to students, but teachers must know also how to address situations in which bullying incidents occur. The program also provides resources that can be used by parents as well as students. The program has a well planned comprehensive approach to this issue.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, BYOD Devices
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I am first inclined to use it for professional development and then maybe for parent group meetings or class meetings for students to discuss points. I really like the mental health components.

Strengths: This has a lot of interesting features that are engaging and interesting and we have lots of questions and are excited to see how this evolves. We love the presenter too. Very interesting and full of ideas.

Suggestions for Improvement: We are giving feedback right now about primary expectations, needs and what parents would do with the material. We are thinking this would be good for counselors or PD activities.

Verdict: This would be a refreshing update for professional development and I think teachers and staff would be more interested in watching and interacting with these materials than the things we currently have.

Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This is a school climate product. It would fit the needs of the entire district, but especially the middle and high schools.

Strengths: I love this product because it has actionable strategies for teachers to help create a great school climate. It also is divided into bundles so a district could purchase the bundle they need. It would appeal to students, teachers, and parents.

Suggestions for Improvement: Add a bundle that deals with health issues such as anorexia, obesity, long term absences and affect on emotional health.

Verdict: It addresses every school climate issue we seem to have: bullying, mental health, and so on. It contains student lessons, videos, strategies for teachers and parents. It is a full package.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: As a supplement from an whole school curriculum , then as a classroom reinforcement. Especially for special education students with bullying issues.

Strengths: It would get the school staff, students and parents and even community involved, but unsure how it would keep the parents and community involved. Is there other lessons teaching the same concept? I would also like information on how to assess if the lessons are being successful in the school environment.

Suggestions for Improvement: How to measure involvement from staff, students, parents. I would also like to see if students are really into (understand ) the videos. I would also need convicing on the training that the organization would give to staff would benefit the students and the school environment.

Verdict: How attentive are the students using this on a 1 on 1 basis, I would also worry about how involved the parents would be with the system even though it is on iine. I would also wonder how the school/ individual assess the skill if it was mastered or even improvement made.

First Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would not use this in the classroom because it is not geared for primary students.

Strengths: The program is very attractive. I think this would feel very positive for our school. These ladies were asking and really listening to our suggestions for primary students.

Suggestions for Improvement: younger format Accessible videos for parents Great for parent groups

Verdict: I think this type of professional development is very needed especially fir patents and families. It is important that both parents and students have access.

Jose, Teacher. School Type: High School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To train teachers during our professional development days

Strengths: The approach and understanding of the professional development model is refreshing, especially coming from an educator.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1.) Make it interactive. Allow the users to make "choose your own adventures" and explore real world consequences from their wrong choices. 2.)Include testimonies from bullied children 3.)The movies could include some Hollywood talent.

Verdict: The high quality graphics and video makes subject matter relevant and meaningful.

Jana, Gifted Facilitator. School Type: Elementary School, High School, BYOD Devices
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Affective needs are a needed component in our setting.

Strengths: Love the research based portion done by the creators of the product. Affective needs are addressed for our gifted kids.

Suggestions for Improvement: Possibly the cost? I don't know those details. Learning a new system. Possibly the availability for parents, but that is minor if I do my part in the classroom, with the kids.

Verdict: Much needed portion of the curriculum in today's climate.

sharon, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: currently our district uses Oweus but it doesn't include resources for parents. This is an important piece that we could implement.

Strengths: The parent resources are included.

Suggestions for Improvement: Include detailed lessons for each of the topics. I teach at the middle school level very rarely are resources specifically for that level we usually get clumped in with elementary or high school and have to adapt material.

Verdict: I would recommend it because of the parent resources and because the resources can be accesses as needed. There are video's as well as scripts and discussion points.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up