Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Kamra, Math Teacher. School Type: High School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This is a very easy to use platform intended for peer review. Students can input their papers or projects and other students can then make comments on it.

Strengths: This will allow all students to interact with one another. They can work anonymously. It does not allow students to not respond to questions. They must provide feedback. It also has the abilities to adjust individual student deadlines, as well as intentionally assign specific students to peer review other specific students.

Suggestions for Improvement: I'm a little unclear about how this would work in all classrooms. I can see the benefits to English and Social Studies classes. It would be great if they included mathematical operators and equation editors so that mathematics classrooms could use it.

Verdict: This would be a very easy manner for students to give anonymous feedback to one another but still get credit for it. Students can give honest feedback without fearing hurting each other's feelings and having to "pay for it" later.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to allow students to easily create and edit writing materials.

Strengths: The product solves the problem of not having any useful tools for peer editing. It allows students to peer edit easily. I like the rubrics and how it forces the student to follow an appropriate writing process.

Suggestions for Improvement: The data page is useful but bulky and does not appear as user friendly as others.

Verdict: This is a very advanced tool for peer editing that is unlike any others that I have seen before. I like the suggestions to what peer reviewers could comment on.

Kindergarten Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would not use it simply because I am a kindergarten teacher, BUT if I taught older kids, I would definitely consider using this program. It is a great way to share assignments with your class and to review all of your students' assignments quickly. I also love how easy it is for students to comment on their peers' work. Great product!

Strengths: It enables teachers to see assignments quickly. It also shows the progress that students have made in a specific assignment; in other words, a teacher can see what changes students have made in a paper and how much they may have edited that paper.

Suggestions for Improvement: I might make a "lighter" version for younger students. My students would benefit from the concept, but it would have to be on an easier level.

Verdict: It is helpful for teachers who are assigning lengthy writing assignments to review those assignments quickly.

Stephanie, Math Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use it to have students peer review writings and critique others' work by assigning rubric scores and giving written feedback.

Strengths: I like that is also the ability to create subgroups for different levels of students or override the assignments. The discussion board feature is also nice.

Suggestions for Improvement: Ability to write with formatting for math would be nice for math and science related writings. I often have students write about the process of solving equations or word problems and it might include exponents, fractions, etc.

Verdict: This tool gives teachers the ability to manage peer writing and reviewing in an organized way and maintains confidentiality of students.

Alex, Student Teacher. School Type: High School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: As an English teacher, Scholar would be fantastic! As a math teacher, it isn't quite as applicable and would be difficult to justify the price. However, it seems to be a fantastic product for its market demographic.

Strengths: It allows peer evaluation to be more seamless which is surely needed! It also has a clean interface.

Suggestions for Improvement: Make the pricing such that it can be used by a wider audience. Also, more metrics such as sentence structure and grade-level metrics would be fantastic. Lastly, making it marketable for other subjects outside English.

Verdict: I would recommend this as I was impressed with its features. I believe there is even more potential in the application.

English Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this product when I assign my students a writing assignment.

Strengths: It is similar to Google Docs and has an interface very similar to Facebook which would be easy for the students to visualize. I really like the peer review aspect which gives the students an opportunity to learn from each other.

Suggestions for Improvement: A couple ways to improve this system would be if there were a way to import assignments and/or curriculum and make the language that labels the items more user friendly.

Verdict: It is a complex system that would take a lot of training.

Blended Learning Manager, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this product for long term writing projects with students. I think the process of teacher-led revision is critical to developing students who are "college and career" ready.

Strengths: Preparing students to write in a digital environment. Saves time/paper in the rewriting process.

Suggestions for Improvement: Clean up the interface, it is way too busy.
Replace some of the lettering with icons.

Verdict: As a free product I think it has some value, at $30 per student it is too expensive.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use it as a supplementary tool to a social studies unit.

Strengths: It puts the responsibility for following a rubric back in the students' hands.

Suggestions for Improvement: Definitely needs a design overhaul. Not very visually appealing and the finished product did not seem particularly attractive.

Verdict: Not very user friendly or attractive. I do like the community aspect and having the rubric right there in front of you but the lack of topics is also a concern.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: My students would be able to review and interact with each other's writing digitally. Students would gain feedback from their peers as they are working on various sections of their writing.

Strengths: Once again, allowing students to edit and revise peers' work online, students will be more willing to spend time offering student feedback verses completing a review paper pencil style.

Suggestions for Improvement: N/A

Verdict: Since students are reluctant to take time to review or conference with their peers paper and pencil style, I believe allowing students to analyze peers' writing digitally will engage them much quicker. It also offers a rubric that students can follow to keep them focused.

Technology Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would like to utilize this product in the computer lab and then it would also be available to the classroom teachers.

Strengths: It looks like it would be motivating and promote growth in academic areas and writing skills. It also promotes positive, meaningful correspondence among peers.

Suggestions for Improvement: I am not sure at this point.

Verdict: It looks like it would be motivating and promote growth in academic areas and writing skills.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up