Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Anne, Special Ed Teacher Mild/Moderate. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: To provide supported mathematics instruction

Strengths: Well thought out critical thinking questions
Clear data collection which includes accuracy, amount of time, and number of times taken

Suggestions for Improvement: Some errors in grammar may make it difficult to understand

Written information and questions read aloud would greatly enhance usability for my students

Some concern about the designated hardware requirement

Verdict: Clear data recording including accuracy, amount of time to complete, and number of times completed, as well as immediate feedback and error correction with videos

Some concern about the fact that it requires separate hardware to function at its best

Ruth, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this mainly for Math, as a time allocated for a center. It gives them practice in computation as well as in logical thinking. There is also data and students progress which is necessary for instruction.

Strengths: I liked the fact that you can work on the problem and it gives you several choices. It also lets you see which one you got wrong. It gives tutorials too. Other positive thing is that it does not let you jump ahead .

Suggestions for Improvement: First, you need to get their tablet in order to get the program. Second, the fee is kind of high. Since our population is of low income it would not work out. Third, it needs to be more eye catching to the eye.

Verdict: I would recommend it only if the school would be interested. The reason being is that you need the tablet to run program.

Michelle, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, BYOD Devices
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: I would use it to aid students that are struggling and to provides students that are moving through the curriculum quickly an opportunity for enrichment.

Strengths: I like the opportunity for it to provide additional support to students. I feel that it would provide a great opportunity as a tutoring aid. However, due to cost it would only be of use to high socio-economic parents.

Suggestions for Improvement: Provide something that students could use on their own devices to limit the cost to people.

Offer parents that are not tech saavy the opportunity to have someone come out and teach them how to access the product.

Verdict: It is not cost effective to use in the school. I believe the product would work better as tutoring opportunity.

Emily, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: I think it's not very interactive. It seems kind of boring for kids. I would do it if I had a small intervention group or a tutoring group. It wouldn't be anything extra for my whole class.

Strengths: I think it's a great assessment too to see where kids are lacking in math. I think it is easy to read the data. The data seems easily accessable.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make it cheaper. It's too expensive for what is offered. I would be concerned with the students breaking or losing the tablet. I would make the product more engaging for students.

Verdict: I don't think it adds anything special compared to other quizzes and assessments out there that are free. This product is too pricey.

Lynn, Computer Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: The product requires you to buy a tablet committed to only this product. As a private school with limited funding that would not be cost effective for us.

Strengths: - visually appealing
- easy to use
- game like so children will want to use it

Suggestions for Improvement: Change it so you can use it on other devices. The program could be set up to lock a device if that is was desired by the teacher / administrator. To dedicate the device to just this program so children stay focused is not cost effective.

Verdict: The product looked worthwhile but not workable as a device that does only that. I wouldn't recommend it for that reason.

General Ed Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: I feel like what this product provides is already covered by other existing products such as IXL.com

Strengths: I do like that fact that they include the physical tablets with their deal.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. I'm not sure if I will be able to use this product. T-T
2. If the product was offered for free (excluding the tablet)
3. more information on the website would be helpful. I'm not sure if I understand the product enough from their website.

Verdict: as mentioned before, I don't think this product brings anything new to the table that our school district is receiving already.

Dennis, Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Alternative approach to teaching math for those who want to go farther faster or those who don't like classroom approaches.

Strengths: A complete approach to teaching math, not just a supplement - not for the faint of heart, but for those who want high student achievement.

Suggestions for Improvement: Different name. I thought RISU meant Russian Instructional Support University.

Verdict: The decision to "outsource" so much instruction to leave the classroom for other activities is somewhat unnerving.

arwa, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would have it set up on my notebooks. I teach K. My students can use it during center time.

Strengths: My students are always looking for challenges, this program allows them to use math and critical thinking games. It is geared for games.

Suggestions for Improvement: I do not know because I have not tried it I will have a free trial, and then give a feedback of what we experienced.

Verdict: IT is a game for students. THis game gives critical thinking for students. I love that part.

Val, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I work with students with challenging cognitive abilities, I believe this product will help some of my students to reinforce their math skills after each lesson. I teach middle school level and their learning levels go from k-4.

Strengths: This product will give me a better idea of the skills my students are working on and need to work on. It will allow me time to have students to work independently and help those who need extra help.

Suggestions for Improvement: I like the lay out of the product, it is not too busy and does not show too many imagines that will distract the students.

Verdict: I will explain to them why this product will help my students to reinforce their math skills. First, the product seems that it is friendly to use and easy for my student to navigate and stay focus because it looks like there are not many things for them to get distracted.

Liberty, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use it to flip the learning that is happening in my classroom. Provide parents with instant feedback and updates.

Strengths: I love the color coded student grouping that gives you a quick and easy look at where your students are. That information makes it easy for you to pull small group together, see students that are ready to move on or need extra support.

Suggestions for Improvement: I am not familiar enough about the program to offer any suggestions for improvements at this time.

Verdict: I love what I heard about the individualized video support and the ease of using it. I have not had enough experience to know the program.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up