Product Index
Curriculum Products
Categories: Language Arts and Math
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Science Department Chair, School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: For high school this could be a great to address students that are below grade level entering PMA (Freshman Summer School) and even during Freshman year.

Strengths: This program emphasized project based learning and addresses the all to common student question "why do I need to learn this". The program is adapts to the students math needs so that all students can eventually reach the same project based learning goal for the unit. The application of content is crucial for our students.

Suggestions for Improvement: The only improvement that I have to suggest is expanding more into the high school realm which I am sure is in progress. This would address the high school students that are currently on target in their math endeavors.

Verdict: This program is very advanced, dynamic, and aligned with common core! Even though it is for K-7 it addresses the fundamental skills of math that a lot of our students do not have down pact upon entering high school. I looked at this program with the rep and the questions and activities are challenging based on common core! Our students would undoubtedly benefit from this. Each unit ends with a project. For example, at the fourth grade level all the math skills lead up to building a digital satellite to monitor hurricane weather. At the 7th grade level it focuses on 3d printer and making replacement parts for the space station! I am very impressed with this program for math.

Director Stem Education, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: We could use this program in our math tutorial classes for students who are struggling in math. The program allows the students to see the pathway they are on and progress at their own speed.

Strengths: This program is truly adaptive. Also the graphs are easy to understood. The program we currently use is difficult for the students to read where they are and know what the next steps should be. Finally I like the fact that there is a project at the end of the unit. A great way to get the students thinking critically about what they have learned.

Suggestions for Improvement: One thing I would like to see is an easier way to sign students up for accounts. Normally I do this for the teachers. But what if I am not available to do this? Then it is left up to the teacher to do which means sometimes it is weeks into the start of school before it is ready.

Just seeing it here today, I think it would be perfect for our needs. I had heard about the program about 5 years back, but it was much to expensive for us at that time.

Verdict: We are currently using another product that is a bit stagnate. Students can see where they are but the program is not really adaptive. I like the idea that students are given opportunities to remediate or grow as they progress.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: My district recently purchased a product that sounds similar to Redbird, but it doesn't feel nearly as researched, engaging, or rich in content and depth of instruction as Redbird. I would use it as a way for kids to independently explore curriculum as an extension of what I teach directly. My classroom is structured as a blended learning environment with lots of rotations for independent work, so this would be a perfect tool to throw into the mix.

Strengths: This product matches and extends the curriculum I teach, and allows students to work at an individually appropriate level. It provides a rich opportunity for students in my blended learning environment.

Suggestions for Improvement: I can't think of much, except that I would make it more cost-effective. Maybe consider making it available as a free trial for a period of time so that teachers can check it out before committing?

Verdict: The tool seems to be incredibly well researched in the way that it explores, tracks, and assesses curriculum. I really like how engaging it is for kids, reaching into things like coding that are really cognitively valuable for learners. I also like the tasks at the end that aren't just multiple choice, but dive deeper into the standards I teach.

Leslie, Spanish Lead. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Project Based School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This program personalizes math to multiple levels. It looks like it parallels the new CC state testing. I think this will give students more support for instructional concepts.

Strengths: I like the graphics, the results, and the leveling the program gives. I like the trial period factor. I like the parent participation.

Suggestions for Improvement: You might want to give students the ability to sign themselves up to save more time.

I can't think of anymore.

I ink the cost is a bit much.

Verdict: I like the fact that they use real-world scenarios engaging the students mathematically and socially. Many Title I students do not have the opportunity to experience NASA and apply their learning to the world. This program also entices the student to seek more learning embedding other curriculum into the learning process.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this program to monitor student progress through the common core standards. I would also use it to inform my instruction for small group intervention.

Strengths: The ease of use is a real bonus. Both the student and teacher portal seem easy to navigate. The program also offers material aligned to common core standards.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great to connect to my mls- haiku with ease. This way students could have easy access as well.

Verdict: I would reccomended this product because although we already have a similar program, this program has options that are more user friendly. The program is adaptive to the learner's needs.

Vicki, Fourth Grade. School Type: Elementary School, BYOD Devices
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this for math curriculum in my classroom.

Strengths: The create projects include Stem professionals and details to apply the skills that they have learned. All done by common core standards.

Suggestions for Improvement: Make it available for 8th grade so middle schools will have access. This way they can go through the whole process through middle school. Incorporating the coding is very cool.

Verdict: They take it to the next step into the create zone. This is amazing for educators. Students can work at their own pace to learn the different math skills.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this in our personalized learning environment to help students meet their learning goals.

Strengths: Detailed reports broken down by standard. Path is visible to students. Students can fast track through the lessons.

Suggestions for Improvement: I'm not sure since I haven't tried it yet.

Verdict: I like the reports available and how they are broken down by standard. I also really like that students see their path and they have to unlock one before moving on. It's nice to see that students can fast track ahead if needed.

Administrator, Curriculum Specialist And Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Higher Education, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I run a small K-6 school and mam looking to expand to 7-8. I would use this to supplement core math curriculum as finding part-time math teachers is difficult.

Strengths: Project-based activities are done really well in this curriculum. The curriculum can be used as supplementary material, but can also be used as a core curriculum. The pricing is very affordable at $75 per student. It also functions in a way tha will help students to better navigate new online assessment systems such as SBAC and PARCC.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. I am not totally sure if this curriculum has this, but having a report-card generated by CCSS would be a benifit. 2. It would be nice to have a place where students working in the curriculum could give reflections on their learning that teachers could read and make comments. 3. Adding support for ELL would be great.

Verdict: The curriculum was designed at Stanford and is designed with real-world problem solving and performance assessment. Much research is available regarding the Stanford Online High School and assessment results are commendable. The reporting features are also rich and allow teachers to get in-depth mastery-level performance data. The curriculum aslo incorporates projects such as creating satellite systems and evacuating a city in emergency situation.

Kahlil, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High School, Project Based School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to scaffold the math learning that I am doing in the classroom.

Strengths: Students need all the help that they can get. This program allows students to receive a whole world of their own to learn, with varied games and activities. As a young person who grew up having my learning in school supported through the math and english video games my mother bought me, I strongly believe in what this product is striving to achieve. Again, this product is highly vetted through educators in the field.

Suggestions for Improvement: I want a social component for students to be able to share achievements and send encouragements and challenges. I want more focus on the student's profile (upload a photo, input and measure achievement goals) so that they can feel invested. Also, I want more animated celebration. I remember when I was growing up and getting all the math problems made a rocket ship take off. I lived for those moments.

Verdict: Unlike most programs, this one provides young people with a dynamic and varied curriculum, that has been vetted in the field of education. It is not attempting to replace the education that is happening in the classroom but to support it.

Kim, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I am always looking for ways for kids to practice their skills in a fun way. Redbird can be used at home as follow-up or preview. My district currently offers IXL, but Redbird appears to be much more attractive, engaging, and offers a greater variety of themes.

Strengths: Redbird offers a creative application of skills in the areas of math, reading, and writing. The imaginative tasks are really worthwhile. Reporting directly to parents is an added bonus, taking the onus off me so I can just move ahead and plan for the little ones. It is an adaptive program, which is awesome!

Suggestions for Improvement: Will there be NGSS tasks? Architecture? Art? STEAM of any kind? I think Redbird can handle it. Writing tasks need more work.

Verdict: My district currently offers IXL, but it is a relatively boring, 2008-looking product. Redbird is new and innovative, with excellent reporting for teachers, students and parents.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up