Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Rebecca, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Blended Learning
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this tool to integrate SBAC prep into daily instruction. I would use it to personalize instruction, receive valuable data, and pull small groups to target needs/learning gaps.

Strengths: I love how the assessment breaks down the sub-skills needed to solve each problem. Teachers will love being able to see which of the problem-solving steps each of their students are mastering or struggling with.

I've seen no other tool that also evaluates students, with quantitative data, on their DOK level for each standard. I also like how Reasoning MInd gives the DOK level for each standard.

This tool also offers teachers the ability to integrate and embed SBAC preparation into daily instruction, instead of having the SBAC just be a big test at the end of the year that will never inform instruction. Teachers will love being able to teach a standard or unit, then give students an assessment that will allow teachers to see, way before the SBAC itself, how students will do on an SBAC question that assesses the standard that was just taught. Right now that is just a big question mark.

And because I like the level of rigor that the new SBAC questions require, this "test prep" can just become good instruction.
become instruction

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great to have a Second Grade pre-SBAC program to help start preparing students and teachers a year ahead of time before it becomes high stakes, also to make sure students are starting to be exposed to the level of problem solving and rigor as soon as possible. Perhaps even a First Grade and/or Kindergarten program could be created.

Verdict: Not only does it appear to be a valuable test prep tool, but it is easily integrated into quality daily instruction: teachers can look at data and pull students for one-on-one or small group instruction. The data that is offered is incredible--it breaks down all the micro-skills needed to solve one SBAC problem. It offers assessment data on what Depth of Knowledge level the student is working at (I've seen no other tool that does that), as well as rates each standard on a DOK level.

Teacher, Ed Tech Rep, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This absolutely one of the best math programs I have ever used (and I've been teaching a long time! It is differentiated instruction at its best. Students go at their own pace. I can pull students into small instructional groups- troubleshoot misunderstandings, pull from the content catalog, review one on one by using the activity report - and address the needs of individual students.

Strengths: It helps students like math, persevere (with the help of streaks). It needs a trained instructor to utilize the many tools and data it provides.
It gets students moving toward algebra and abstract thinking!

Suggestions for Improvement: There have been so many improvements over the past few years. The apps could use some tweaking. Parents have come to me to let me know it doesn't always run smoothly. (I'm including the recent upgrade to OS for ipad)

Verdict: It's the best training I've ever had for a digital math product. I wish it were free but am happy to have access to it (because we are underwritten by a grant) I have not used it to assess children (for report cards) but using it along with our district adopted math program has given my students a great advantage.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to prepare students for common core math computer problems.

Strengths: Finally something that directly helps with sbac test. Finally something that gives deep data by even going through the four depths of knowledge. Reteaching students when they miss problems and breaking it down for them and teachers so teachers know exactly why student made mistakes and how to correctly apply follow-up lessons to target mistakes.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1 . Only thing is it seems very detailed for teachers and all-encompassing, but I think the interfaces on certain parts of the website would not be good for struggling students.

Verdict: I would say that data from last year proves that we need the most improvement on math tasks on the sbac test and this product offers that as well as other math practice for use throughout the entire way.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This product could be used weekly as an addition to what we do with envision math. It offers a competetivness that is useful for 4th graders. We just go our chromebooks so we will begin using this soon.

Strengths: this product offers deep thinking on my students part. It also helps me to pinpoint where my student is in his learning progress. I am very impressed by this product and cant wait to use it.

Suggestions for Improvement: Like any other product there have to be some downfall but I have't seen that yet with this product. This product gets awesome reviews from my teacher friends that have used it.

Verdict: The program offers competative points for students. I have talked to other teachers ad they have highly recommended this product. In addition to envision math this would be awesome.

Megan, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Reinforce math concepts. Help students get extra practice for skills they have not mastered.

Strengths: Very impressed by this product. The company knew that it was important for me to know WHY a student gives a particular answer. I like how it takes them step-by-step through problem solving if the answer is not correct.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Make the common core curriculum standards easier to view.

2. Give the option for the teacher to have the student show his/her work on correct problems, or before the problem is sent.

3. Implement graphics/models into the program (i.e. Singapore math bar models)

Verdict: Matches Singapore math/common core

Interface is easy to use.

Scaffolding available. Helps us know the reasoning behind the student's answer.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as follow ups to our hands-on Montessori math lessons and as reinforcement for students who need more practice. I would also have students using it so that we were sure all students understood all concepts and were able to understand tests and such from the outside world.

Strengths: Individualized and self paced curriculum is possible. Tracking of student progress is great. Showing more detail about what skills are stumping a students is very helpful.

Suggestions for Improvement: Not really sure. I haven't spent enough time with this product to have detected anything yet. I only worry about the amount of time students would spend behind a computer if all of these products shown were implemented. I am not sure what the price will be once it is no longer free. As we are a small school funded solely by parent tuition (no fund raisers) cost would be a huge factor in determining whether this product would be used. Also, could there be parts of this that are printable and students learn to show their reasoning as they will be expected to do for common core?

Verdict: Tracks progress for teachers. Shows teachers where students need additional help. Can be used as an individualized program. Helps students think through how to reach a solution rather than just telling them it was right or wrong.

Jaime, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: This product seems to have a solid foundation that drill strong math concepts without common core guides.

Strengths: This product has a very strong foundational math orientation.

Suggestions for Improvement: I do not feel that the program has any advantages over standing free products in the web today. Additionally, the tool is subscription basket which can become very expensive for our school.

Verdict: I do not see a big difference between this program and Khan academy

Emily, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it for test prep for the CAASP.

Strengths: I think it's great to review how to take the CCASP. Learning how to navigate the test is crucial for students so they are familiar when they take the test.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if 2nd grade could be included as well. That way when the students come to 3rd, they have some experience and are more prepared.

Verdict: It looks like a great program for students to prepare them for the CAASP while learning common core standards.

4th Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: The cost per student may be prohibitive. Currently, our district has already subscribe to another product, i-Ready from curriculum associates which seems to fill a similar need. Our school also has subscribed to IXL to support math.

Strengths: Love that the product is broken down by standards and provides easy to use data for working with students within math. I also like that the problems are explained to the students when they miss with them interacting to do so.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would improve on the cost of the product. I'd also like to see possible more instances where students are showing their work for the questions.

Verdict: I like the idea that we're looking to personalize learning a bit more for the students. The step through walk through for students is a quality way to help the students to better understand what sort of errors that they have made. The data itself is collected easily and is actionable from the students.

Mr, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Math not ELA

Strengths: I really like the ability to track student progress and ability to perform task.

Suggestions for Improvement: Higher grades
make 3-8
Free

Verdict: I like being able to track student progress and their progress and thinking about math problems. Also geared towards 3-5

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up