Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Computer Science, School Type: Elementary School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: As a computer science teacher giving a student a full spectrum of how to create digital media is important and part of our objective. Beyond the world of coding ready helps a student to learn object function and 2d software development. It would essentially be a first potential step to learning how video games and the development of games work. This coupled with the critical thinking and independent creative development of a shareable digital world can help a child explore, develop and create things never before published while garnering them a chance to begin early development of a portfolio that could be used later in life if seeking an education/career in the digital space.

Strengths: It gives a platform to create in a different but still important coding language.

Suggestions for Improvement: The graphics are basic but the ability to integrate your own digital images etc is cool.

There appears to be a lot of Clicking to make actions, if/then rules etc for a specific object. Would suggest simplifying things some to have basic and advanced menu (actions) options.

Verdict: As 21st century learners it is absolutely important that a child have both lessons and blank canvas to create. Ready provided both of these aspects while helping teachers who are and are not familiar with digital software creation the ability to utilize these tools and skills.

Math Teacher 5th Grade, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I use this product to teach reinforce and assess students in reading and mathematics. The students love the accessibility, ease of instructions and graphics.

Strengths: This product is extremely child friendly and gives information at the students pace and at their level.

Suggestions for Improvement: When students put forth maximum effort and try their best, it is great to utilize the assessments as grades but when a child doesn't do what they are capable of just because they think no one is going to monitor it, it is useless.

Verdict: It is difficult to find the time to make it mandatory for students to spend time on it it but if time is alotted, it is a great tool.

Librarian, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it for small group stations during center or language arts. The text to speech feature is great.

Strengths: The lighting tool tracks reading closely for students. It help me sty organized in regards to student data.

Suggestions for Improvement: Offer pre assessment feature at all levels.it helps to provide more selection among the programs. It could provide Lexie info and not just grade levels.

Verdict: Teachers will track reading and comprehension skills. The tool aligns to common core standards. Teachers won't have to assign books with this program.

Media Specialist, School Type: High School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it in a Makerspace section in the library to encourage students to be creative and inquisitive creating computer games.

Strengths: I like that students can create games using content area information. I also like that they offer a free version so there isn't need to be a financial investment before determining if a premium account is needed. I like that students can use what is already created and change it to meet their needs or subject.

Suggestions for Improvement: There should be an introduction, teaching online lesson so that students can start using the product from anywhere, without having the teacher present

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it allows students to explore creating video games without having computer experience background.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as a class assignment to have students create their own game either by themselves or in a small group. It could also be used as a unit assessment project.

Strengths: This product seems very user friendly and seems to be presented in a way that would be easily understood by students.

Suggestions for Improvement: Maybe for the storytelling portion it would be useful to incorporate more writing space and/or options for making it look like an interactive book.

Verdict: I would recommend it because in this day and age of technology students would be engaged to work on this type of project. It also applies critical thinking into the classroom.

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this tool with all of my learners as I have a very diverse group including regular, ese, esol, low reading skill as well as low math levels.

Strengths: I loved what I saw. I just wish I'd had more time to experience for myself.

Suggestions for Improvement: I didn't get to ask all of my questions but am very satisfied with the features I saw.

Verdict: Since my students love technology, I would recommend it as it can also keep track of the students work. I can do follow ups. The students would enjoy being actively engaged

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this tool with all of my learners as I have a very diverse group including regular, ese, esol, low reading skill as well as low math levels.

Strengths: I loved what I saw. I just wish I'd had more time to experience for myself.

Suggestions for Improvement: I didn't get to ask all of my questions but am very satisfied with the features I saw.

Verdict: Since my students love technology, I would recommend it as it can also keep track of the students work. I can do follow ups. The students would enjoy being actively engaged

J. R., Teacher. School Type: High School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This product has much creative potential, limited by the user's imagination. I would have students go on a virtual trip to French speaking countries and show the class their adventure.

Strengths: I'm not sure of available avatars. If students can upload their own backgrounds, it would make the adventure more personal.

Suggestions for Improvement: Add more cities, streets, and keep out user friendly.

Verdict: It can be used cross-curricula. Builds critical thinking skills in developing games our story lines. Makes learning fun and keeps students motivated.

Ese, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Other, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this program to teach critical thinking skills and coding. It could be used to simply teach coding or on connection with other subjects to demonstrate knowledge through project-based learning.

Strengths: The options are well thought out. Lots of possibilities in images, actions, instructions, etc.

Suggestions for Improvement: Students can add their own images.

Verdict: Develops critical thinking skills in a collaborative environment. Teaches students to code in a visual environment.

Brittany, Science Coach. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I will use this to help show the students how to build web based games and apps. I will use this as a service between scratch and going to coding via code.org.

Strengths: I haven't used it yet, but I plan on using it! This product works very well from what I've seen.

Suggestions for Improvement: N/A

Verdict: I would recommend this because students lack knowledge and how to build basic computation in a web-based game application. The System would help to bridge the gap.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up