Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Stem Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: IT seems like a nice program to use for remediation and Tier 3 intervention. I know we already use this companies products but our textbooks are outdated and not aligned with the new standards.

Strengths: I don't think it compares well with other products on the market. It seems like a repacking of the same stuff they already had. I'm not a big fan of this companies products in general.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would need to offer something better than it's competitors.

The rep did not show me the data collection or how students can track their own progress.

This company has enough money that they should be able to create a much better product that is less reliant on an actual textbook.

Verdict: IT doesn't seem like it offers anything new. IT seems just like the "readers notebook" product they offer but a little more digital.

Library Media Specialist, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: I believe we have enough online to go along with the textbooks that students use in the classroom.

Strengths: It provides online information to back up what they learn in their text. However, we already get the program online thru BEEP.

Suggestions for Improvement: Not sure, as I am not familiar with the program so it is difficult for me to give an opinion. I believe with the programs on BEEP are working fine and there is not need to purchase additional online resources for this program.

Verdict: I think we have enough thru BEEP that students can use relating to their textbook learning.

Gianina, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to enhance my reading program. I enjoy the basal series and I think using the web based curriculum would greatly improve my ability to use the system

Strengths: Based on my usage of the basal program I am confident that I will be able to easily use the web based program and incorporate it into my daily reading block.

Suggestions for Improvement: I cannot answer that question at this time. I need at least a year of using the product to evaluate and make any suggestions

Verdict: I believe I can recommend this program because I use the basal series in my class. It would enhance my use of the program. I truly like this series. It is easy to incorporate in my reading program.

Cynthia, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use the HMH product Go Math! everyday in my classroom. I use my Promethean Board to display the text book and have my ELL students pull up the Spanish book online as I teach the lesson in English.

Strengths: Go Math! 2015 will allow students to take and practice with online assessments. This is needed with online FSA.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would love this product in languages other than English and Spanish. I would love to assign assessments easier and more user friendly.

Verdict: I just discovered HMH has a product called Go Math! 2015 which has the online assessments which align to my standards. This would be great practice for my students with taking online tests.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Other
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it as a intervention tool for my struggling readers and my ELL students

Strengths: It will address my ELL struggling readers with personalized learning path

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like training on using the program
I would like the licence to be updated for use in the classroom

Verdict: The district already has the licence for the program, however most of the schools are not utilizing it.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product in my stations.

Strengths: The part of the product that impressed me was text to student approach.

Suggestions for Improvement: Currently I'm not able to locate any weaknesses with this product.

Verdict: This could be an added attraction in stations.

Microtech, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I use it to differentiate instruction. Some students need additional help with particular standard. This product adds more choice to the students and can be adjusted to meet the needs of each student.

Strengths: Helps to fill the achievement gap. This product is adaptive and tailors to students' needs. Very informative and structure.

Suggestions for Improvement: Keep adding more content. Make content more challenging. Provide additional help for non native english speaker

Verdict: It is user friendly and students like to read the story. The product is aligned to the Florida standards and is challenging in terms of rigor

Donna, Literacy Coach. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it as a supplemental reading program for my reading teachers and students.

Strengths: This product specializes in education content, intervention, assessments, and tech solutions. It is also aligned with CCSS and is designed for readers below grade level.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would change its range of targeted students. It targets struggling students. It should include an opportunity of enrichment for our high achievers.

Verdict: From what was explained, it is a curriculum and assessment tool. This would help teachers with a decrease in instructional time and being able to assess each student.

Patricia, Literacy Coach And Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it with my ELL students as an intervention resource.

Strengths: The new student app will be great for my ELL students. Most of my students have access to smart phones. Also, this could be used to help their parents learn how to read English at home.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great to have an in depth professional development on this program.

Verdict: The BCSB already has licenses that are not being utilized. This is my best selling piece to my adminstrators.

Media Specialist, School Type: Elementary School, Blended Learning
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would like to use this in my media specialist classes with the whole school to use data to track and design lessons to increase student achievement

Strengths: I like the aspect of having data and a grouping of the classrooms and your classes

Suggestions for Improvement: I like the aspect of having data and a grouping of the classrooms and your classes

Verdict: I do not have information to advocate against it at this time

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up