Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Tracy, Instructional Technology Resource Teacher. School Type: High School, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Have students and teacher track learning progress and document their learning.

Strengths: Links to Ontario curriculum. Drag and drop along with the ability to edit expectations makes the learning maps more powerful for student learning.

Suggestions for Improvement: Have the feedback tool be more robust so teachers can comment and highlight directly on the work submitted. Allow for audio and/or video comments with the ability to link to outside sites to make feedback more meaningful and accessible for students.

Allow for documents, photos and/or videos to be added to the learning maps as exemplars.

Create an app so students can easily document their learning from their mobile device.

Verdict: Tracks actual evidence of student learning not a grade but actual evidence of learning. Allows for documentation of conversations, observations, and products. Aligns and links to Ontario curriculum. User friendly interface and the ability to add parents to student accounts so parents can be involved in the learning process. Students can document their own learning and state what learning expectations are met by the work documented.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use this product to share with my teaching partner the same assessment piece so together we can assess the same students at the same time. As well, we can use this product to share with the students and parents so everyone is in the know

Strengths: This products allows the teacher to display the expecations in a very visual format, and allows you to attach evidence of what you are teaching directly to this. It gives you an easy format to share with everyone, staff, teachers and students what your expecations are and what are the next steps.

Suggestions for Improvement: The biggest thing for me is the setup of the assessment piece itself. It appears to be complicated and seems like a lot of work setting everything up.

Verdict: These product would allow teachers to work together and share one assessment piece. Together teachers can collaborate and share information together. As well, you can embed into the product information useful to show and share with students and parents allowing them to know what the expectations are.

Gloria, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Blended Learning
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: The great idea of this product is the connection between visual tracking of learning and reflections to the ability to create a presentable portfolio.

Strengths: Solves the problem of curating students learning.
Shows students what an assessment based on the growth mindset looks like.

Suggestions for Improvement: Export data easily between other applications such as google docs , Prezi, power point, pow toons etc...

Easily add multi-media particularly video reflections

Verdict: Quio is visually easy to use.
Flexible on devices (iPad , chrome book etc...
Student friendly and curriculum connected.

Ashley, Special Education Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: My students really really need to get a grip on their own learning - really checking into themselves to see where they need to focus which might be different from what the teachers are teaching or what the other students needs are.....

Strengths: It's difficult in a class of 30 the address all the various specific needs - but with Learning Maps, a teacher can zero in on key areas that might be of concern for several students.

Suggestions for Improvement: Have it in French! (Lots of French Immersion/francophone teachers/students)!

Having it linked to other assessment tools and/or course planning tools.

Only 2 suggestions....

Verdict: Taking control of one's own learning is critical, especially at the junior high stage. Planning and organizing are almost more important than actual knowledge acquisition...

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this for my assessment. And for students to use while completing this assignment.

Strengths: I love that the provincial course expectations are available through the program.

Suggestions for Improvement: I really want to see all provincial course expectations available. I would also like to see more examples of technological subjects. And a how to video for teachers.

Verdict: It would make everything transparent to students and parents.

Mathematics Department Head, School Type: High School, Project Based School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: As the mathematics department head, I could use this tool to track the grade 9 cohort in their mathematics, both strengths and weaknesses. This will help develop a lesson plan to better meet their needs, better preparing them for grade 9 EQAO and grade 10 mathematics.

Strengths: It clearly shows the growth in learning and the needs of students based on the certain strands and trends.

Suggestions for Improvement: (1) Wish it was more like an app that would work across devices.
(2) Could merge multiple classes across the school
(3) Could the product merge spreadsheet info from multiple applications

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it helps a department or school collaborate to better meet the needs of the students they are teaching. It also displays clearly for parents the needs of their child and their progress through the year.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this to help my students and parents understand what qualifies as a level 4 response.

Strengths: It's a living document and I like dragging from curriculum for the big ideas.

Typing out/adding criteria for the levels is already done with rubrics so it doesn't save much time there.

Suggestions for Improvement: -colorful interface (black and white text not exciting. Nothing flashy but some colour)
-some drop down criteria for levels 1,2,3,4
-link up capability with edmodo and not just google class

Verdict: For-It would help get all classes of the same grade on the same page regarding marking standards.

Against- unless there were more drag/drop options for criteria it is pretty similar to making a rubric on my own.

Alison, Digital Literacy Support Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: I would want a direct export to report card software. I use Sesame- where I can plan, collect data, assess, evaluate, and share, all in one app.
If I were a curriculum planner, or unit writer (perhaps for a learning pilot project where specific learning evidence needs to be collected) this would be a great tool for project creation and tracking.

Strengths: great for newer teachers learning to organize and plan with digital tools.
curriculum embedded
sharing features good
training and support available

Suggestions for Improvement: allow students to access and upload their own work in a portfolio.
connect and export data directly into report card programs.
does program have parameters for IEP writing? If learning maps suggest that student needs immediate intervention- how seamlessly can the learning map evolve into an IEP, and connect or export to a program like IEP Writer? (used in Waterloo Region DSB)

Verdict: It feels fairly similar to software I already use; not different enough for me to add to my tech arsenal.

Mike, Teacher. School Type: High School, College Prep School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: To be honest it seems like quite a bit of work to set up. I'm sure it appeals to some but with limited time as it is I would rather devote my time to technology that helps grab kids attention during class time.

Strengths: The product gives students and their parents a detailed breakdown of how their marks were achieved.

Suggestions for Improvement: The screen is too "busy" with a lot of information to look at.

Seems too time consuming to set up.

Most of my students are fine with thme feedback system I already have in place.

Verdict: The practical applications seem outweighed by the time it would take to set up individual learning maps. A lot of work for the payoff.

J.C., Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Create rubrics and as a manner to show students (and parents) learning progress.

Strengths: Usability and design function. No training needed which takes so much time for us to dedicate our own time and this is hard to do when we already have so much to do day to day. I like the fact that there is support as well as a user friendly interface. The drag and drop option is easy to use and understand.

Suggestions for Improvement: Need to use this in order to understand what the flaws might be.

Verdict: We spend so much time using tools to create evidence of learning. Like the simplicity and the fact that the design is tailored for Ontario curriculum. I also like the drag and drop features so that it is not about learning how to use the product but immediately using it rather than going for special training. Also aligned with Google docs which our board is already using.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up