Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Kim, Teacher. School Type: Middle School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Qlovi provide free books for teachers and students to read. Some books require a token to borrow for a limited time. The books identify the lexile measure, ccss grade range, and the QLOVI grade range. The students in the class can read the books online. Teachers are provided lesson plan resources that pertains to the book.

In addition, the site allows teachers to create classes and assign books to particular classes and create lesson plans for each class.

Strengths: Teachers have the ability to create lesson plans and assign readings while on the qlovi site. There are numerous books for all content areas. Teachers can monitor how much time students are spending reading selected books.

Books are provided in English and Spanish.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would add additional languages especially since our Asian population is growing and students have the ability to learn Chinese at school. Having books in Chinese would increase the level of rigor while encouraging students to emerge in the language.

I would recommend allow teachers to assign different books to different students in the same class. This is important for the special needs population.

Provide lesson materials for each book on the site.

Verdict: We are always looking for ways to engage students while reading books related to curriculum content, this site provides resources for teachers and students. Teachers can differentiate readings based upon student's ability and reading level since the Lexile and CCSS ranges are provided for each book.

Christina, Admin. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this with students with specific learning needs (not necessarily for whole class), eg. intermediate ELLs (that way set up a class w/ resources/lessons that can be used for specific populations across classrooms). My primary interest is the Spanish language materials.

Our dual language model means that half of each students day is in their dominant language, this being an English dominant country, we are always searching for Spanish language resources and even more, intervention models in Spanish. I am trying to figure out how to best use this product to meet those needs.

Strengths: number of resources;

lesson planning resources;

easy platform

Suggestions for Improvement: see lessons of other teachers;

option to use loan longer than 6 weeks;

more Spanish materials

Verdict: I would recommend this for the resources - pretty easy access to multiple ebooks with an easy pay method.

I also like the option of creating a "class" for a student for them to track books read (motivation!)

I wish there were options to see the classes of other teachers (what are they doing with the ebooks, how using which books for what)

What are the options for using an ebook for longer than 6 weeks; after the 6 week loan, do you have to "buy" that book again if say, a book used in October is a text another student would read in April?

shawn, 1st Grade Lead Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product with my small groups. I would create 5 different classes-1 per small group and have the students reading books throughout the day based on their reading level. I would connect these lessons to my blogs that my higher students are working on while working in their small groups.

Strengths: IT would give my small groups all different books to read with comprehension and essay work already ready for them. The students would be able to work on books that are on their reading level.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. ways for students to discuss work together (discuss work)

2. more books

3. more work for younger students

Verdict: It's free! It has lessons and comprehension already built in (major bonus)! They are rolling out more features which all seem great (text to speech, more work for younger grades).

Sasha, Special Educator. School Type: Middle School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to calculate reading speed and reading comprehension. It would be great for high-interest reading for struggling readers.

Strengths: I would use this product to make reading more engaging because students are now doing a majority of their reading on computers and not in books. It would be also fantastic for data collection since it would allow us to show academic progress for teacher evaluations. It would also allow teachers and students to be able to selfmonitor their progress.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Add visuals and videos to get students more interested in the reading.

2. Have a dictionary online to allow for vocabulary building.

3. Allow reading to be printed out so that reading strategy instruction can occur.

Verdict: It does not have printing capabilities to use to instruct in reading strategies.

Darrell, Computer Technology / Intervention Developer. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I am going to integrate it with technology class for reading and assessments.

The ELL learners will have a chance to read in their language and be assessed.

Strengths: Assessments for books that are at grade level. Large selection is available.

Time usage is great to determine if the student is actually reading.

ELL students now are included.

Suggestions for Improvement: Books in music, art, technology, and informational text needed.

Other languages are needed like Vietnamese. I have a a diverse population.

Read aloud to help students hear what is being read.

Verdict: We need to have more integration of book in Spanish. This program would allow for it to happen. I also can taylor my lesson by grade level reading. Individualized learning can take place.

Special Educator, School Type: Other, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to support reading to have students use the books to increase reading and writing skills. I work as a special education teacher and could use it to support students with specific skills development and with increasing IEP skills.

Strengths: Common core aligned

Tracking of students

Helps teachers focus on instruction

Monitoring of progress provided

Suggestions for Improvement: I not sure if there is any thing that I would change. I would need more time to use the program to really determine changes to increase effectiveness of the program.

Verdict: The first and foremost reason is that it is a free resource for teachers.

It could be utilized school-wide. You can monitor progress regularly and provide feedback.

Tech Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would love to use this for small groups. Exposing them to different types of literature.

Strengths: It has books available for the different grades and reading levels. It offers suggested lessons but allows the teacher to create his/her own.

Suggestions for Improvement: I know you are working on the reading levels for the books, keep it up.

It would be great if the same book could be offered but on different reading levels so all students could participate without worrying about the reading level.

Verdict: This would be great for teachers to use for small literature circles. They could assign the book and some follow up questions they need to have for the next class.

Reading Specialist, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 20, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This is a resource I would use if my students had their own devices. The assignments can be set for small group and whole group, but also for independent reading. I could insert questions to monitor understanding.

Strengths: The option to pick by lexile and to set ranges for students is great! Students wouldn't waste time reading things that are too elevated for them.

Suggestions for Improvement: Can a student choose to be read to? I wonder for students with IEPs and when students do Daily 5's Listen to Reading.

Verdict: I like the options available for levels and data keeping.

Kaitlyn, Teacher. School Type: Middle School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To engage my students in leveled learning and to create a more leveled reading experienced for the various levels of students in my classroom

Strengths: 1. leveled using lexiles

2. aligns to common core

3. has curriculum required stories

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. create leveled materials of the same story for inlcusion students My classes consist of high flyers and special education students that are required to read the same materials

Verdict: This a great way to get more leveled and engaging material in the classroom. It will reach my unengaged boys.

kimberly, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, Blended Learning
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: use it to provide books for students at home, for parents, and in school

Strengths: great source of books, 10 free to start out, willing to add more

Suggestions for Improvement: get rid of the token system and instead, add a reward system (Similar to firstinmath) for motivating children to read. they can build up levels

also align books to guided reading level to match common core

Verdict: harlyn seems like he cares about working with teachers and schools, great source of books, and willingnesss to support teachers more with more materials

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up