Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Jake, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would have students work on their word and letter study both individually and as groups. This allows them to have specialized assistance on the device which I can monitor on my own. That's awesome that it can do that.

Strengths: The ability for each user to move at their own pace is wonderful. I also love how it allows us constantly monitor the students progress and see how each student is doing.

Suggestions for Improvement: If they could provide the teacher with more information to how the student are progressing would be much appreciated. The constant assessment would be ideal. The sooner they can develop a program for older students would be ideal. This is a great software for young age but it can also have enormous effects on older students.

Verdict: This constantly teaches and reinforces the most basic and important concepts for word study. It covers all the important features that many students might struggle with.

celeste, Kindergarten Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product as a reinforcement to reteach and provide independent practice for phonemic awareness and phonics.

Strengths: I really like the child-centered visuals and back drop of the program. Students also demonstrate their knowledge in different ways.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would provide a visual that shows the mouth position when making sounds so students are learning the appropriate way to create the sound. I would also suggest the program allow teachers to upload the students pictures so there is not confusion when they are selecting their name. I would also suggest a link or ability for students to log on and use the program at home.

Verdict: I would explain that this program keeps the students' attention and blocks out distractions because the students use head phones. Also, the program provides a visual, hands on, and auditory practice.

Cammise, Instructor. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Higher Education, Other, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to help my students learn phonics and to practice literacy skills.

Strengths: I think this product does a great job of touching all the domains required of literacy. It offers users the opportunity to read, write, think, and listen, which is crucial to great learning.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. I would make a more mature version of this program, realizing that many students who need these skills are beyond the PreK-3 grade level. 2. I would offer the program in multiple languages to ensure that students were literate in their native language before moving them to English. 3. I would link the phonics skills to real world text, so the exercises aren't isolated.

Verdict: I would recommend it because it's easy to use and accessible on many platforms. It seems to be a more in-depth iteration of literacy apps.

Kamra, Math Teacher. School Type: High School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I am a math teacher, so I would not use this in my classroom, but I would use it as a parent. The parent platform looks easy to use and would help me with my little ones.

Strengths: This walks students through phonics and basic letter and word formation. It allows students to practice on their own at their own levels.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if there was a math version of this. Students could work on basic number writing as well as conceptualizing what 3 means by having to find 3 apples. It might be a little cost prohibitive to parents. $35 doesn't really make it jump out of the itunes store at parents.

Verdict: I would recommend this to the teachers in my district. The K-2 teachers could really use this app to help their students.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, College Prep School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as an independent study session for reading pronunciation. The benefit of this product is that you can also print out lessons for the students to do at home.

Strengths: I like how in depth it gets with reading and creativity. There are all kinds of lessons on their that you can do as a class or at home.

Suggestions for Improvement: My only concern for that product is the speaking aspect. What if a student has a hard lisp, what will the product do to adjust to it? what if you had a way to recognize the way they speak and adjust accordingly?

Verdict: I would recommend it because of the different ways you can use it. It can be used in class and at home. It almost takes out the teacher in that aspect.

Patricia, Tech Coach. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to teach phonics for early literacy in grades K-1. I would also use it as an intervention strategy for lower students. A great way to teach letter formation. Tracing. Handwriting recognition. Sound blending

Strengths: The blending tool is a great feature. Students can get help pronouncing the words. Dance modes, with a real world connection. Print documents for pencil and paper

Suggestions for Improvement: Free feature Add complete stories

Verdict: I would recommend this tool to help students with recognizing sounds., objects, and images. Helps students blend words. Narrative stories.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would defiitely use it in an early learning primary setting. I would use to supplement whole gorup instruction in reading.

Strengths: The procduct interface is well done. it is eay to follow and use. the graphics are entertaining and the program is interactive.

Suggestions for Improvement: Even though dogs are the theme i would ove to see something in the program were tey can change the animal. some kids have an aversion to dogs,so cats or some other animal would b nice for ids to choose.

Verdict: I would advise for it because it will help supplment readinginstruction in phonics.

First Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would absolutely use this product is perfect for first-graders and it would be very helpful for students that are having a hard time letting their fun it sounds

Strengths: This product would be very helpful so a student who has limited English could really hear each sound in the alphabet. Often ELL students don't have people at home to help them.

Suggestions for Improvement: cheaper Accessible to the whole school Useful at home

Verdict: For students who need help at home especially the English language learners this would be perfect.

Ell, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this in the classroom for my kindergarten ELL students. I would also recommend it to the k teachers in my building.

Strengths: This would help teach letters and sounds, and also would be great for vowels. My students struggle with vowels.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think it would be great if it had a lower cost. I think it would be wonderful if there were a free demo in order to see if it is workable and how students respond.

Verdict: I like the phonics focus and that it is multi sensory. It seems engaging for ELL and nonstandard English speakers or students with extra language needs to access reading and sounds.

Stephanie, 2nd Grade Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product with my lower level students who are really struggling with the 2nd grade curriculum. I see this being an excellent tool for intervention, and I can just see my 2 little lovelies having fun while they practice Phonemic Awareness and reading strategies. I feel it will help them to feel successful, I like the way it scaffolds the lesson for them and they can see their achievements as they progress. I am so excited and hopeful that I can get this product into my classroom and begin using it right away!

Strengths: I love the headphones with the built in microphone. I also love the graphics, the pictures are so colorful . The animation will be engaging and the students would love the ability to write on the screen.

Suggestions for Improvement: nothing...well maybe I'd rather have a teacher account 30 day free trial to allow the teachers in K-2 to try it out and really see if we can justify spending the money. Our district is so financially strapped so they really need a good reason to be swayed to spend any extra money right now.

Verdict: I would tell them that for our struggling readers who are just missing the mark and who may have missed the basics, this is a phenomenal way to bring in the technology that we want to implement in the classroom to help them. We must invest in our students to help them, especially at the younger level so they can make ground in catching up. When we wait for them to get beyond 3rd or 4th grade, it's too late because they don't want to be seen working on the younger programs for fear of being made fun of. This program would be awesome in our k-2 program and I believe we would see drastic improvements and increase in reading skills by years' end.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up