Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Lindsay, Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School, Blended Learning
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to assign in class readings with my students in my Social Studies classroom to help them with vocabulary, discreetly and effectively. I would also use it to monitor my students' reading levels and support their vocabulary growth.

Strengths: Can upload your own content, students can tell the teacher what words THEY struggle with (student driven)

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like it to be integrated with EdModo

Verdict: Vocabulary is something that allows students to communicate precise thoughts, not only in writing but in speaking. It is used in all subjects and a tool that can target this skills would be beneficial, particularly in high school classrooms

Vicki, Fourth Grade. School Type: Elementary School, BYOD Devices
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this in reading rotations as a vocabulary station in upper grades.

Strengths: I love that the teacher can use any text online. It is great that they can assign words and students can also use it to find other words they may not know. I also love that it grades it for you! time saver!

Suggestions for Improvement: Is there a way to save texts for year to year use? Also, is there a way that we could use it in younger grades?

Verdict: I would recommend this because students need to be able to learn vocabulary while reading higher level text. I love that they can use any text online.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this in Daily 5 rotations , individual assessments, and homework assignments for parents to see what the child is struggling with.

Strengths: The fact that this pulls articles and helps students build their word walls.

Suggestions for Improvement: Have access ability to younger grades.

Verdict: I would recommend this bc this gives students extra help with vocabulary, building their word walls, and understanding comprehension concept.

Spec Educ Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: i would use this product to reinforce vocabulary in context from reading, science, social studies, health. I would use this product to assess my students' knowledge of vocabulary as demonstrated on the assessments, and to monitor the vocabulary that the students have difficulty with

Strengths: teach vocabulary in context, multiple opportunities to assess students' vocabulary, monitor types of words that students have difficulty with.

Suggestions for Improvement: Generate reports to monitor progress toward IEP goals text to speech feature for students with learning challenges limited parent access to assist parents monitor student progress

Verdict: Way to teach and reinforce vocabulary in context, creates assessments using targeted vocabulary, upload text from internet onto program

Grade Level Chair, School Type: Middle School, College Prep School
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would like to use this tool to help students easily look up words the don't know as they are reading my assignments. I am excited by the possibility of being able to what words are troublesome to them.

Strengths: I am troubled by students who learn vocabulary words for quizzes and then forget them. So I like that I can quiz them in the context of the way they were introduced to the word.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be helpful to expand the ways in which students are exposed to these words. PDFs will greatly enhance their experience.

Verdict: I like that I can track what words my students know and which words are troublesome. I like that I can create quizzes based on the articles they have read.

2nd Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it for shared reading of texts to figure out which words to focus on and to allow students who aren't on grade level to keep up.

Strengths: It helps to build vocabulary in any subject area, great for subject area where vocabulary isn't the primary focus. Gives data about which words the students are clicking most often so you can explicitly teach it.

Suggestions for Improvement: Primarily used on Chrome and many schools use Internet explorer. Are there student accounts to set up? Or can we set this up in a computer lab as a tool for anyone who used that computer?

Verdict: It will allow students to look up words on any website across any content area.

Gabriela, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Texts for research and reading.

Strengths: Highlights vocabulary and gives definitions. Allows student to access definitions for difficult words. Allows the teacher to highlight vocabulary from spelling list.

Suggestions for Improvement: Have a bank of articles that are appropriate for grade levels. Offer websites teachers can utilize by subject matter, and reading level. Allow students to practice with vocabulary Something like letting them answer some comprehension questions giving bonus points for using the vocabulary appropriately.

Verdict: It wild help students to develop their vocabulary and increase the exposure too challenging vocabulary.

Danielle, English Teacher. School Type: High School
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: It would be great for students who need SAT help beyond the vocabulary units presented. I actually had a student ask me about a personalized vocabulary unit just the other day. How perfect!

Strengths: It solves the problem of students needing individualized vocabulary instruction for SAT, ACT, and etc.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Make it available for PDFs. 2. Give feedback to students on how they can use the word. 3. Flashcards maker feature

Verdict: I cannot think of any.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this program to help build vocabulary skills in the ELA classroom.

Strengths: Some of the strengths of this program are the ease of use, the creation of the quiz at the end, and the analytics it cab provide.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make it available on edmodo, and change the fact that it works only with chrome.

Verdict: I would advise against its use because it needs to be used with chrome. However I would us either if it was an app on edmodo.

Heathetr, Stat. School Type: High School
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: The site allows students to highlight unfamiliar words in readings. The tool remembers students' selected words.

Strengths: Remembers words Provides teachers with word lists by student

Suggestions for Improvement: Generate more individual items based on student selections. Maybe suggest future words for vocab based on data/current words selected.

Verdict: This does not do anything that our current applications provide. Diigo, my study bar, fee-based databases, etc. already have much of the same information.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up