Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: Middle School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to teach my students 3D design as well as other tech skills. It would enable me to use the 3D printer I have in the classroom.

Strengths: The classroom set-up that happens is wonderful. The fact that students can get a code and start working through the lessons helps. The modules and tutorials and the end product are all great.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would provide more training for teachers to use the product. Just doing the same things as the kids is great, but actually walking it through with a person helps. I would also like the sets of Circuitscribes they integrated, so if that is part of the lesson content, there should be some more info on how to purchase and integrate. More outreach to schools and training would be best.

Verdict: It's free. It provides tutorials for the students to learn. There is an end-product to aim for after working through the lessons.

Daniel, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it 1-2 a week.

Strengths: I really like the look of the site. Kids would make sense of it. The "classroom" environment for the teacher is easy to navigate.

Suggestions for Improvement: Getting more standards to align. The lessons are for multiple grade levels so suggestions for integrating Math and NGSS strategies across grade levels will help. When a teacher sets an account he or she could click grade level, and then lessons can filter out the other standards and leave relevant one.

Verdict: Really user friendly, the development of units to support TInkerCAD is excellent. Integration with Google Classroom is really useful.

Corinna, Teacher. School Type: Middle School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I have been using tinkercad but have not implemented project ignite yet. I have taught some of my student who are interested in 3d printing how to use tinkercad and they have created their own models and printed them. I am currently working on developing lessons or units to integrate 3d modeling into my biology curriculum and looking at project ignite.

Strengths: The strengths of project ignite are that it teaches valuable engineering and problem solving skills. Students often come up with solutions to problems but by having access to modeling software and a 3d printer, they can physically have their solutions in their own hands within a short amount of time; they can test it, troubleshoot it and improve their design- all necessary real world skills.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think it is great. My problem is implementation time because there is so much content to get through in the curriculum that it's hard to dedicate enough time to teaching the skills necessary to get all students to the point of feeling comfortable with the software. But the nice thing about tinkercad is that it is very user friendly and I think that most students can figure most of it out on their own.

Verdict: I would recommend it because 3d modeling opens the door to project based learning and real world problem solving skills in terms of the design process. Project ignite provides schools with the means to develop 3d design and modeling curriculum to meet the standards set by NGSS, specifically engineering skills.

Rebecca, Teacher. School Type: Middle School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I am running out shook' first makerspace/tech leaders club and am looking for programs that could teach/expose students to design thinking.

Strengths: It provides an easy to get started platform for introducing students new to building and designing while still teaching /using academic skills.

Suggestions for Improvement: Make it useable on all types of devices. I currently am 1:1 with iPad minis and have access to chrome books if I plan ahead to book a cart, but would love to be able to integrate tinkercad into my class as an ongoing thing.

Verdict: This would meet CC math and NGSS standards in a more interactive way as well as developing 21st century social skills and the 4Cs. We don't have to buy the 3D printer to make these projects a reality!

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Students would be able to design and create products using different types of technology

Strengths: I like the fact that students are able to be creative and design their own products in a hands on experience.

Suggestions for Improvement: Are there ways to create some of the products using every day materials so sites are not worried about additional costs.
How are the items they create related to curriculum?

Verdict: I like that it is created for students to build hands on products, however you do have to buy additional supplies that we might not be able to afford as a site.

Library, Media, Technology, Science, Ged, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: I was looking for something that my Special Education students with limited motor skills were able to access more freely and applicably.

Strengths: I think bringing the students' projects to life is exciting for the students.

Suggestions for Improvement: If you don't have a 3D printer already a grant would need to be written. It's not applicable across multiple classrooms, or multiple sites. The product isn't mobile; which is discouraging for a mobile teacher.

Verdict: This would be a great resource for my GATE or Adult Education students, but I would not recommend it for everyday regular classroom usage due to the technology demands, and 3D printer would require.

Caroline, 1st & 2nd Grade Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, BYOD Devices
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as an individual and as a project items and I would use it with my students who are done with their class work and I would also use it as an assignment to build something.

Strengths: I believe this project with be a problem solver for my students who get done with their work they would have something else to engage in it would also encourage students who take their time getting the work done to have something to look forward to

Suggestions for Improvement: Not sure what needs to be improved need to use the product first

Verdict: I would like my administrators know that this would be an item that the same could use to use their creative thoughts and processes of how things work together

Counselor, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: In small groups with diverse students. Will be nice for an afterschool club.

Strengths: Hands on. diverse learning styles and roads.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would love to see some resources that will allow kids to explore careers in the field.

Verdict: Hands-on activities, what most of our kids are good with. Allow students to have out of the box experiences.

Michael, Ed Tech Tosa. School Type: Middle School, High School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Autodesk/Project Ignite would allow me to promote PBL and maker's lessons within the classroom setting.

Strengths: The pre-packaged lessons they offer provide quick access to PBL, inquiry-based learning, and maker's settings.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Further integration with NGSS standards.
2. Built in assessment options.
3. Forum for students to share their creations.

Verdict: It seamlessly ties into PBL and inquiry-based learning.

Music Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I think students need more scientific exploration. This incorporates mathematical, spatial reasoning and math. The future is going to be requiring people with that kind of thinking and reasoning skills. This seems to provide some of those important skills.

Strengths: It allows creativity in a fun way. Students explore and hopefully understand principals of science, motion, electricity and mathematics through the building of computer envisioned to tangible.

Suggestions for Improvement: None at this time.

Verdict: As I mentioned in the previous frame, I believe it gives mathematical, scientific and spatial reading benefits. Thing can be build on the computer screen and then be made into 3 D.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up