Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Grade 2/3 Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use it to reinforce math concepts taught at school. We play Prodigy at school and it is a homework activity for students as well. I am able to differentiate the learning for different grades and different levels of students within those grades.

Strengths: You can give students practice time on concepts learned at school. YOu can give additional practice to students struggling in particular areas and differentiate the learning. You can access different grade levels to build in skills that they currently have not mastered. It's great for combined grades! The teacher feedback is great! I can pinpoint how to group kids who are not understanding a common concept or what concepts need additional whole class work.

Suggestions for Improvement: Maybe make the question/answer section more game-like too. Continue to add curriculum areas not currently there. Expand the levels below grade one for students who may have special learning needs and need a wide range of practice on very basic concepts.

Verdict: It allows for differentiation. It is curriculum based. The kids are very engaged in playing so they are learning despite themselves. It allows teachers to see the areas of need within the class and with individual students so it helps the teacher to target what the focus on with his/her teaching.

Third Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to help improve my kids math skills in a fun engaging way. It would give the higher level students the challenge they need. It would also allow my lower level students to stay engaged because it will allow them to work on skills at their level. I teach third grade and in math we do workshop model. I would have Prodigy as a game station choice. I would also assign assignments for them to work on at home.

Strengths: It does very well at challenging the students and keeping them engaged. It will have them work on skills on their level. So many games out there are too hard or easy for kids. Another strength is that it is created with the teacher in mind. It is easy to set up and use. It also gives the students choices without being overwhelming.

Suggestions for Improvement: If I were going to change something I would have the game asks more math questions per spell cast. I feel like there is too much time in between math questions. By shorting the the fun stuff just a little they would get more math in.

Verdict: I would recommend them to use it because it will keep track of student data, keep students engaged, and help them improve on the math skills they need. I would also recommend it because it is free.

Intermediate, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use this program as additional practice for lessons covered within the math curriculum. Students were really excited to join and would dialogue with each other in the computer lab to help each other be successful. Many students continued playing the game at home, and others convinced their parents to buy them a membership. I also suggest the programs for parents who request additional worksheets in math for homework. It's math practice without them even realizing it.

Strengths: Engages students, and allows them to use great manipulatives to help solve the problems. Teachers can also choose which questions the students can focus on and the time line the have to complete that unit.

Suggestions for Improvement: Have a long range planner for teachers, so that they can plug in all the units ahead of time and not have to adjust the questions monthly. Email alerts as to how active the student accounts have been, even bi-monthly updates would be good.

Verdict: Easy to access and they have made it even easier for teachers to create a classroom and allow students to join the class using an account they created in the previous year. This allows the student to continue with their adventure.

JaNekka, 1st Grade Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: at home as well as school. being able to bridge gaps and meet students where they are in a way that will get them excited and involved actively in how they learn math. It could be a center or even a free choice option.

Strengths: There are so many gaps when teaching students because they are all learning on so many different levels. gone are the classrooms where teachers talk and students listen, where they read a chapter out of a book and then do the questions at the end of the chapter. This program will meet students at their level no matter where they are and help them push farther through their learning. It will also help students who are a little more advanced to work at their pace instead of being slowed down by lower level learners.

Suggestions for Improvement: does it send periodic reports to the teacher and parent? is there a limit to how much time a student can be on the website?

Verdict: it is fitting for where education is. It is free and accessible from home as well as school. Students can respond to a character they create and push themselves on their level to move farther not only in their learning but in the game as well.

Stephanie, Math Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Work on math skills through a game format. Students can work on grade level skills through 6th grade. Teachers have the option to assign specific topics, but all interactions occur through the game. A pre-test is given in the beginning to assess a students level.

Strengths: The ability for grade levels to be masked is great because some of my high school students would not be motivated if they were being shown what grade level their multiplication practice really is. Necessary skills for high school math occur at the elementary and middle levels and it's important to have an approachable way for students to work on that. I also like that students are playing the game continuously and not having to learn new sets of rules for many mini-games.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be awesome to have skills higher than 6th grade. Up to 8th grade or pre-algebra would make a huge impact for my students.

Verdict: This is a great tool that I can see my students being motivated to try. My students need to work on lower level skills and this I a fun way to do that and have meaningful feedback.

Casey, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I assign each student a username and use Prodigy as a center during math center time and as a reward for early finishers. I also proved the information to our school computer teacher to use the program in class. I create assignments to use as informal assessment and target students with the areas that they need the ost focus on.

Strengths: This program helps me to see what students are doing well and what areas they need more time/instruction on. It also allows my students to self-diferentiate and go further if they are in need of enrichment or get extra practice if they are in need of remediation.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make student logins easier for early grades, perhaps using pictures.
I would add more information to the usage dashboard (the grid is often too crowded to find a students easily)

Verdict: IT is engaging to students. They LOVE to use the program and never complain about spending extra time "doing math"

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would utilize this with enrichment with students who are slightly or below grade level and need and alternate option.

Strengths: The game play idea is really good. I believe the students will be engrossed in the play and learning can happen simulaneously

Suggestions for Improvement: I would look at other gameplay modes as well. A girl with similar issues may not think that the game is as engrossing and quit before data in collected. Also I would like for the ages to be added academically to be lowered to K and raised into high school. Growth into learning basics of algebra and understandings of upper level math for students who can achieve at that rate would be great.

Verdict: With the student body at my particular school district, we have a lot of tech savvy students with no real dedication to the basics of the grade level activity, this product in theory could bridge the gap

Brasilia, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Using a classroom set of tablets or going to the computer lab, students could log-in and play math games. Using the data I can identify who is able to work at grade level and who needs more support and in what strands of math.

Strengths: Avoids old-school tests and organizes student data. Good assessment tool to use alongside mini-interviews with students and their other class work.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Offer services in French. 2) Ability to work offline even when you're not signed in. 3) Make teams with other students within the class to encourage collaboration when problem solving.

Verdict: I would recommend Prodigy because it caters to students who need to be actively engaged in order to learn math. I liked that they can play the games that are just at the right level to challenge them and to progress.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Use the assessment tool to get a better understanding of the knowledge of my students. The I would use this to interrgrate my lessons to fit their needs.

Strengths: Visual supports are very good. I like that teachers/ students are involved in the process of the game (concept practice). Like how it shows achievement automatically. I like that it is compatible to all devices. Like that is shows an increase in achievement.

Suggestions for Improvement: make it more graphical appealing to younger/older students. I would wonder how much bandwith it takes up. If a entire school could get on the program at once. How easy is it to complete reports/ achievement skills.

Verdict: great for keeping the attention of students learning without them realizing it. I like that teachers can go in and make accommodations/ add skills

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use it to engage students to do math. It is great because students do it on their own time and it shows me how they have done, it allows them to the application after they complete their work and it reinforces concept taught in class.

Strengths: This is a great product, it allows student be engaged with mathematics they work at their own pace and the greatest thing about it it allows me as a teacher to track them, even when thay are working from home.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be an assest if they added some language or other curriculum based subjects where students are able to explore other subjects and be able to see how much they have learned.

Verdict: It is curriculum based, allows me to use it as an assessment shows me where students are struggling and where they need improvement.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up