Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Personalized Learning Coach, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: The idea behind the product sounds great but it only goes as low as 4th grade.

Strengths: It is visually appealing and I like that you can use it whole class as part of a lesson. Students can work collaboratively on the problems when presented whole class or in small groups.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. It needs to go down to lower grades. Currently it only goes as low as 4th grade. 2. The math problems seem a bit wordy. 3. It is fairly expensive.

Verdict: The idea behind the product seems great but it is a bit wordy even for the 4th grade version.

Personalized Learning Coach, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: The idea behind the product sounds great but it only goes as low as 4th grade.

Strengths: It is visually appealing and I like that you can use it whole class as part of a lesson. Students can work collaboratively on the problems when presented whole class or in small groups.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. It needs to go down to lower grades. Currently it only goes as low as 4th grade. 2. The math problems seem a bit wordy. 3. It is fairly expensive.

Verdict: The idea behind the product seems great but it is a bit wordy even for the 4th grade version.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: It is only for 4-6 grade. I'm a lower grade teacher...

Strengths: Kids lot to use technology with animations.

Suggestions for Improvement: The reports are not that detailed. If students get the wrong answer, it doesn't reteach it or show them the right way. Instruction can't be differentiated.

Verdict: I like that is has real-life situation for students to solve, but it's only for upper grade. It doesn't differentiate instruction for students.

Lindsay, 5th Grade Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: I feel like we already have a product similar to this with the Visual Learning Bridge with Pearson math program. I also don't think there is enough scaffolding for student use.

Strengths: It is a great way to show the students a visual, animated video to help them see word problems. There are videos for secondary grades, 4-6. You can find videos based on the standard you are teaching.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) It would be nice to be able to assign specific videos to specific students.
2) Add videos for math standards in the primary grades
3) Add more scaffolding to the videos. It pauses for students to answer questions. Then gives the correct answer. Maybe there could be tips to support students when they don't know how to answer the question.

Verdict: Though the visual is nice for students to see math word problems come to life, I don't think there is enough support for student use. There is also no way to individualize it for students.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: This product does not have a differentiation option for students. It would be helpful for the teacher to be able to pick specific standards and skills for a specific group of people. Also, when a student gets a question wrong while watching the video, the program does give the student a reason why they answered wrong, however, it would be helpful for the video to demonstrate the wrong answer in comparison to the right answer.

Strengths: A strength is that the program is common core aligned.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be helpful to be able to assign different videos for groups of students. It would also be helpful if the videos were more interactive and demonstrated the wrong answer as well as the right answer

Verdict: I would not recommend it due to the fact that a teacher cannot differentiate lessons for students.

Kim, Tech Toa. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: The videos of student math problems are long and not as user friendly as they could be. Also a bit unclear.

Strengths: It is always a good idea to have engaging videos for kids. These videos have the potential to b more performance-task oriented.

Suggestions for Improvement: Drawings need to be more clear. Break down solutions WITH the pix instead of just words. I really could use performance tasks for my kids ... With video.

Verdict: Drawings unclear and not a fully developed idea.

Kim, Tech Toa. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: The videos of student math problems are long and not as user friendly as they could be. Also a bit unclear.

Strengths: It is always a good idea to have engaging videos for kids. These videos have the potential to b more performance-task oriented.

Suggestions for Improvement: Drawings need to be more clear. Break down solutions WITH the pix instead of just words. I really could use performance tasks for my kids ... With video.

Verdict: Drawings unclear and not a fully developed idea.

Lynn, Computer Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I am the Computer Science teacher and would use it in the lab to support what the teachers are teaching in the classroom.

Strengths: - visually engaging
- ease of use
- can be used to assess
- can be used for a flipped classroom
- allows the teacher to differentiate
- data for each child is relevant and helpful to not only the teacher but also the parent

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. integrate with google classroom
2. cost discounts if used for school
3. more subjects

Verdict: I would recommend this tool because it is engaging and teaches real world applications. Additionally, the dashboard for the teacher gives critical information about the success of the student and what they need to work on. This is incredible information for the teacher and also for the parent.

Doloumar, Teacher. School Type: High School, College Prep School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I will use this to integrate games to my physics class.

Strengths: 1. Integrates games into the content-specific curriculum.
2. This really engages students to learning.
3. Makes students accountable for their own learning.
4. Encourages collaboration among students.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Please have more science relevant games.
2. Please have more highschool level games.
3. Please have more Physics and chemistry games.

Verdict: 1. This integrates games into my curriculum.
2. This is cost-effective.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to engage students in math. Problem solving can be a struggle for students and the engagement this product offers may help with that.

Strengths: I love that the rigor of common core math is a huge part of this product. It would be great to help with higher level math skills and engagement.

Suggestions for Improvement: I do not have any changes for this product at this time. I would enjoy trying as I think students will love it as it is.

Verdict: I would reccomend it for the videos. The videos are fun while addressing real-life problems and skills in math.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up