Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Aimee, Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 11, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I already intend to introduce this to my AP Biology students on Monday. They struggle with reading comprehension and with writing study questions, and this provides a quick way to accomplish both.

Strengths: It is really good at using ANY text resource. I especially like that you can scan documents with your phone camera to create a question bank.

Suggestions for Improvement: First, it seems the algorithm used to select key words for making the questions isn't very nuanced. Looking at the samples that it selected to make into flashcards suggested it was picking up any long, uncommon word. I don't have any idea how to fix that; just an observation.
Second, I question the reliance on Wikipedia even as I understand it. Wikipedia is so suspect to educators; most recommend students avoid using it. Even when it is accurate and sanctioned by the teacher, it isn't always written at a level that kids understand. I understand the desire to place a resource at users disposal that can quickly provide context for any word, but I would prefer to see another resource used.
Third, an ultimate dream would be that there are better questions than straight from the reading. The texts don't often make statements that address the nuance of a topic.

Verdict: I want my students to study, but they don't know what that means or how to accomplish it. PrepFlash gives them an easy to use tool that supports good study habits. While the questions may not be as sophisticated as I want or they need, it provides a starting point and a minimum for what they should know.

Bilingual Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: You can create exams, test or reviewing questions from the Internet, books or pictures.
You can select what you can study or reinforce.
You can create a folder for each class, share the results and create a color code.
It also has a voice recognition software to make it easier for the teacher.

Strengths: You can select the text from the Internet, a picture or a book and you can crop it and select only one part of it.
It automatically generates questions in the format that you want and you have the option of changing the content or questions that you don't want.
For students is very useful because they get to know what they need to study specifically.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make it more visual to allow smaller students to be engaged.
It would be better if we could include some pictures for them to understand the question better.
A good thing would be having online access to the text book so that we could select the content more easily.

Verdict: It is free. It is very easy to use .
You can tailor programs for your students and create personalized assessments for them. Students get immediate feedback and get an explanation of the wrong answers.

David, Math Teacher. School Type: High School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to product to help students gain higher levels of mastery and perhaps more importantly for students who are struggling and need additional pracitice.

Strengths: Pulls content out of text automatically. Very cool!

Suggestions for Improvement: Available to use for math (currently just used for text based content).
Public access to a library of existing decks.
Automatic scoring with summary data for teacher.

Verdict: Exciting possiblity to create a tool efficiently (i.e. not taking an excessive amount of prep time).

Angel, Bilingual Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Sep 11, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use it to reinforce and expand the curriculum. Students can use this application to learn contents from different subjects. They can see why they got a question wrong and they receive some feedback. It helps them to identify their strengths and weaknesses. The teacher can choose the questions from the curricula or they can be created by the teacher. The teacher is able to see how well they are doing, so this platform is a great tool to grade students, monitor their progress or even assign homework.

Strengths: It allows student to learn a subject while competing in a game in which they can create their own kingdom of knowledge by answering questions. It offers academic common core-aligned content and engage users with the game. It promotes competition in the classroom as students want to advance in the game and they have a sense of what they are learning is useful. Students are expected to keep on asking for more problems to solve.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great to have some kind of guiding writing to start with for small children, specially the one that have problems to focus on one idea. Modeling by giving clues on what to write about, or how to express an idea will improve the first results encouraging them to better writing.

Verdict: It is a motivational resource for students and it has a deep integration of learning principles pedagogy and engaging game-play design. Students have to expand territory and gain new land, as they are getting right answers. It offers a simulated game-learning environment, very fun for students, as they are able to acquire eggs and other objects to protect their territory. The game keep students’ motivation up and they get rewards and at the same time they are learning key concepts in different areas.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to create study decks for my classes.

Strengths: Generate flash cards based on text - Wiki, website, text,

Analyses everything in the article. Determines what is bolded, relationships between sentences. Takes top ten keywords. Can automatically select or deselect works that you want to add.

Fill in the blank, multiple choice, or true/false questions. If they are false, they will say why it is wrong.

You can select the starred only words to focus study time.

It creates a study history so you know what you need to work on. Then it will give you a grade.

You can make a folder for each class or a folder for each exam. You can share your classes with your friends with email or social media.

There is an app for PrepFlash.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like a way to find sets without having to make my own.

Verdict: 1. Text can come from the internet, digital files, PDF files, or a picture of text.
2. Questions and words can be customized.
3. A history of study progress is kept.

Bilingual Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: It's useful because you can prepare exams, reviews and essays for your class.
You can select the materials to be used.
It has voice recognition that can help students to get more confidence.

Strengths: Helps students to focus on what we are studying because teacher can select the text to work on.
The automatic generation of questions will help the teacher to have more variety of activities.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great to have our text books on the system so teachers would pick up the materials to study easier.

Verdict: Because is useful, it's free and teachers friendly.
It allows to make personalizes assessment.

Rana, Math And Physics Teacher. School Type: High School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Use it as a study guide, most likely before exams.

Strengths: Great concept. It does a good job of reiterating the concept and providing lots of scenarios that the course work could take place in. Does not require a lot of instructor work.

Suggestions for Improvement: make it better for math
make an activity that the whole class can do together
make quiz versions of the activity

Verdict: Great way to get an interesting spread of information. It will add to the information the instructor brings to the course by picking up information from the internet.

Technology Specialist, School Type: High School, Higher Education, Blended Learning
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I think it is beneficial for own study, but I need to more time to think how to use in school.

Strengths: It is beneficial when I can't find correct frip card.

Suggestions for Improvement: It is not feedback about detail of product, but It is better to promote more what is beneficial for users because there are a lot of similar products.

Verdict: It is effective, but I can't still understand what is absolutely strength point compared with other product.

dorian-leigh, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: i would use this product as a study aide for myself and for my students.

Strengths: this tool is really a bonus for the student because it will save them time and they can study better without having to worry about taking notes for the subject matter they are studying.

Suggestions for Improvement: none.

Verdict: i would definately recommend this product because students don't always have a chance to make flash cards due to time constraits. This is a wonderful tool for them to be able to create the perfect study guide.

Student, School Type: Higher Education, Blended Learning
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This product will help me save a ton of time.

Strengths: I always take time to make cards.

Suggestions for Improvement: I have no idea.

Verdict: We should do a test at least one time.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up