Product Index
Educational Operations
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Pm, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: We use Haiku everyday. As teachers we use it to collaborate and create lessons/activities for students to use. We also use it to store information we want students to have access to. Like screencastify lessons we want students to view. When one teacher creates something it is easy for students to add it to their class page. Students use it to see what is happening in the classroom, access lessons they need, and activities they need to complete.

Strengths: I love how you can create a page and choose when students will have access to it with out removing it. Things can be saved and stored on the site and published when you want students to access it.

Suggestions for Improvement: On the home page, I would like to be able to categorize which pages I have access to. For example, I have access to several district and school pages. It would be nice to categorize them so I didn't have to look at all the pages when I only wanted a specific on.

Verdict: Haiku is user friendly, easy to set up, and manage. The content that you create is available year after year.

Katie, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use it as a place for students to access many pieces of important class information. I use the discussion board to create class conversations. I post week by week lesson documents and vocaublary powerpoints, grammar powerpoints, etc. Students can also go to different pages and get links to additional resources to help them to be successful in class.

Strengths: User friendly, easy to set up and organize. I can add material to the haiku easily and I love that team members can collaborate and share resources.

Suggestions for Improvement: I wish that gradebook would work with elementary teachers. It would be nice if it had software that helped in grading multiple choice assessments. I think it would be great if the haiku could also link to Aries Attendance system when notifying parents about students.

Verdict: It's a great way to organize information and it's user friendly for easy access to materials that students will need to use be successful.

Russ, 4th Grade Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, 1:1 Devices
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: It's through Haiku that I access our district directed Units of Study in various curricular areas. It is quick and accurate and links me to many resource sites.

Strengths: Haiku particularly facilitates well the curricular support for the CCSS helping me to stay current and in compliance.

Suggestions for Improvement: Fewer keystrokes to access what I use regularly

Easier recovery of forgotten password from home after school hours

A folder options to store at a class or grade level solutions we have developed along with what is provided by the district

Verdict: Haiku is strong both communicating with the district but also between teachers and grade levels. I can respond easily to the authors of the various products to make requests and/or suggestions. It is also a resource that is always there for things that I often need to refer to saving me paper and space.

Valerie, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use this product to house website and assignments my students and parents need to access. My district also uses this website to house essensual tools, resources, and videos that I use to educate myself

Strengths: Haiku is useful to so many people. I I really enjoy how my school district uses haiku as a resource for helping me teach. There are resources

Suggestions for Improvement: This is a very easy tool for my students to use to access websites that we use daily. But it can can be very hard to access and find some of the materials my school district has posted on haiku. It is difficult sometimes because there are so many things on the website.

Verdict: I would recommend for schools to use this site because it is a great way to house resources for parents and teachers caolleges and students it's easy for students and parents to use

Valerie, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use this product to house website and assignments my students and parents need to access. My district also uses this website to house essensual tools, resources, and videos that I use to educate myself

Strengths: Haiku is useful to so many people. I I really enjoy how my school district uses haiku as a resource for helping me teach. There are resources

Suggestions for Improvement: This is a very easy tool for my students to use to access websites that we use daily. But it can can be very hard to access and find some of the materials my school district has posted on haiku. It is difficult sometimes because there are so many things on the website.

Verdict: I would recommend for schools to use this site because it is a great way to house resources for parents and teachers caolleges and students it's easy for students and parents to use

Valerie, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use this product to house website and assignments my students and parents need to access. My district also uses this website to house essensual tools, resources, and videos that I use to educate myself

Strengths: Haiku is useful to so many people. I I really enjoy how my school district uses haiku as a resource for helping me teach. There are resources

Suggestions for Improvement: This is a very easy tool for my students to use to access websites that we use daily. But it can can be very hard to access and find some of the materials my school district has posted on haiku. It is difficult sometimes because there are so many things on the website.

Verdict: I would recommend for schools to use this site because it is a great way to house resources for parents and teachers caolleges and students it's easy for students and parents to use

Personalized Learning Coach, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I used Haiku daily to create content for my classroom. Now I use it to help other teachers in creating content for their classroom.

Strengths: I like that I can organize each page how I want. I also like that I can create content ahead of time and publish it when I am ready. It is easy to use and allows you to add multiple file types and links.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like the ability to organize my homepage. I am a teacher on MANY pages and I would like to prioritize the list or be able to put them on different pages. I would also like a way to embed a you tube video that shows up larger on the screen. The small size is hard to see.

Verdict: It is easy to use. It allows you to add multiple file types and links. You can create content ahead of time and not publish it until you are ready.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use it to assign and collet work, provide announcements, create links to resources, hold discussions and assess.

Strengths: Easy to set up and personalize. Add videos, pictures, etc. I like that I can unpublished pages as I finish a unit and open another. This keeps the site less cluttered. I can also save pages etc from year to year.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Cumbersome to have to keep going back to next submit next student when viewing writing or assessments. A teacher needs to be able to scroll through.

2 I don't like to use the communication thru this site. A lot easier if they just use email.
2. When kids submit writing, it is cumbersome to go back and check and edit. Easier to do on Google..

Verdict: All RUSD kids have access. You can put everything you need for a unit in one place.

Tracy, Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use it to design my classes and to bring in outside information. I it is a wonderful interactive program that incorporates google docs.

Strengths: I think it's really great and helping the students did visual learning then allows you to post assignments and homework and even give them PDFs to look at the reading

Suggestions for Improvement: I would try to make it a little bit easier to use sometimes it's hard to borrow content from somebody else so its better to have a more accessible library and I wait to share with everybody easier I would also have the students learn how to be able to edit their own page on haiku

Verdict: Its time consuming and does need some t training is helpful we would need a lot of professional development and it helps if we had a library of information to pull from

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use Haiku to set up different subjects in my class. It is a one spot place for my students to access all curriculum and websites I want them to use. I also use it to collaborate with teachers at my grade level and other grade levels. This way I can access content for students who need to be challenged or those who need remediation.

Strengths: It organizes my content really well. I can put links for websites, videos, and other material in one area.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would love the ability to remove myself from pages with more ease. I would also like to find a way to import information from one class to another class in different school years.

Verdict: It is a great management system to use both with other teachers and students. It is easily accessible and easy to navigate.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up