Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Corinna, Teacher. School Type: Middle School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would love to use this in my science labs. Because it is an all-in one series of sensors, I can use it for all different kinds of labs and the entire science department can find uses for it.

Strengths: I love that it is an all in one device can be used to measure so many things that we constantly measure in science class- temperature, acceleration, pressure, etc. It so simple for students to use and they would have so much fun using it! The ease of use will give them the time and ability to explore the "what ifs", which is what science is all about...extending the main concepts of the lesson to further, independent exploration of areas the students are curious about. It solves the problem of limited time in the class by quickly collecting data and recording it for students.

Suggestions for Improvement: I might make it waterproof as I am concerned about students damaging it accidentally. I don't think there are many improvements to be made to the actual device. It's pretty cool!

Verdict: I would recommend it because it is easy to use and provides so much valuable data to students as they conduct experiments. It is cheaper than buying multiple devices for measuring various variables and the ability to download the data so simply will save so much time. It is a very cool product!

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product with my students for demonstrations, guided inquiry and lab experiments. This would be a great tool to study many physics principals of mechanics by attaching the device to objects and study movement in real time.

Strengths: Small portable device that isn't teathered to cables and chords. Other devices take a fair amount of set up time due to their size and lack of connectivity. The fact that it can measure two variables at the same time is great since many physics equations involve multiple variables.

Suggestions for Improvement: Other areas of hs physics that we cover are waves, electric currents and optics. If this device could measure data for these properties then it would truly be the only device needed to measure all the topics of physics covered in my class.

Also, if there was a way to increase the number of simultaneous measurements that would increase its appeal, though I understand that it's a technological bottleneck.

Verdict: Many devices that measure mechanics and motion are bulky, expensive and don't measure multiple variables. It's a very useful tool for teachers and students to experience mechanics and see how equations are derived and how they can be applied.

Charles, Teacher. School Type: High School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this with my Computer Science Club and/or with my Robotics Club (I'm the faculty advisor). It would also be great with my Intro Computer Science Class, perhaps in groups of 4?

Strengths: I love the great durability. I love that data is collected independently for the three different axes, and that it generates real-time graphs in three different colors for the three axes (I love colors!). I'm imagining that the students will be creative in finding ways to use the great variety of data.

Suggestions for Improvement: More different sensors would be great -- more possibilities.
Lower the price -- can afford more of them.
Make it smaller, so that it can be used with smaller robots.

Verdict: This device is DURABLE -- you can drop it on concrete, and it won't break. This is a major advantage. Also, the device has several different sensors, so the possibilities are large. I am thinking that the Physics Dept would probably want to borrow them.

Math Teacher, School Type: High School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: In the Algebra Class students are always asking when can I use this in real life. The PocketLab would allow students to get real time data and see how the data can become information that they can use to make predictions. And they can test the accuracy of their predictions by easily repeating the demonstration.

Strengths: It is a simple device that appears to be easy to use for collecting data.

Suggestions for Improvement: Add more control of the intervals so that you can smooth out graphs.
I didn't notice if there were any audio signals to indicate if the device was working correctly.
Add in some other ways to export or manipulate the data from within the app.

Verdict: Anything that can improve student engagement and enthusiasm in the learning process is worth implementing into the classroom.

Michael, Tosa. School Type: Middle School, High School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: As an EdTech TOSA, the decision to purchase devices like these would be left to the school sites and individual science teachers.

Strengths: The fact that it is multifunctional makes it a great entry level probe. 1

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Include as many aligned lessons as possible for teachers to use out of the box. Having to develop lessons around the hardware would be a barrier for already busy teachers.

2. Include additional probes with other functions that are not currently offered. That would create one vendor that could meet many needs.

3. Include assessments that can be tied to the device and are NGSS aligned.

Verdict: I would recommend it as an entry level science probe. It is multifunctional and easy to use.

Michael, Tosa. School Type: Middle School, High School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: As an EdTech TOSA, the decision to purchase devices like these would be left to the school sites and individual science teachers.

Strengths: The fact that it is multifunctional makes it a great entry level probe. 1

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Include as many aligned lessons as possible for teachers to use out of the box. Having to develop lessons around the hardware would be a barrier for already busy teachers.

2. Include additional probes with other functions that are not currently offered. That would create one vendor that could meet many needs.

3. Include assessments that can be tied to the device and are NGSS aligned.

Verdict: I would recommend it as an entry level science probe. It is multifunctional and easy to use.

Teachrr, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product while teaching science. From the demo, it looked fun and engaging for students. It is what I am looking for.

Strengths: This products little tool is awesome and I think it would be very appealing for my students. The unfortunate side us that it us developed for middle and high school students.

Suggestions for Improvement: Unfortunately this product has been developed for middle and high school grades. It would be a great asset for elementary schools and should be available for them too.

Verdict: Our school doesn't have a tool like this and I feel like I am not going to be able to do much stem in the classroom. This allows the student to expore all kinds of scientific possibilities.

Ian, History Teacher, Special Education. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This product provides amazing graphics to show physics in action. It provides remarkable data to make labs more accessible.

Strengths: It collects data on elements of physics and provides instant graphics. It records pressure, velocity and acceleration and many more components of physics.

Suggestions for Improvement: I might provide more detail on specific lesson plans
I would provide simpler graphics for lower level students
I have no other recommendations and feel that I am grasping at straws to suggest more than the first change.

Verdict: It is small and seeminly durable and would provide a great substitute to an antiquated, cluttered science lab.

Teacher, Ed Tech Rep, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Looks a little complicated for little kids, but I don't think it has to be. Having a little gadget with so many sensors would be a great help in getting families and students involved in collecting data and creating relevant content.

Strengths: It could solve the problem of making data collection easier and more inviting. Big concepts could become real and accessible for little kids.

Suggestions for Improvement: More than three!
Please tweak and make it something third graders could use.
Love that it's deliverable in easy to access apps or on a computer or google for ed.
Needs work for elementary

Verdict: Maybe the developer could spend some time in an elementary school and see how it could be used with younger kids. Making data collection relevant in the sciences or math is a big deal. It would be great if the interface wasn't so uninviting for third, fourth and fifth graders (and ELLs). I like that it's not cartoony but it seems over the top complicated.

7th Grade Math / Tech Tosa, School Type: Middle School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Honestly, I'm still thinking. The possibilities for something like this seem to be endless! While the 7th grade math curriculum focuses on linear functions, this may be very useful for my 8th grade colleagues (and high school).

Strengths: 1) Helps bring real life data into the classroom
2) Gives the students opportunity to explore and ask questions

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) If possible, lower cost so that teachers are able to purchase without school support.
2) Maybe---? Drop protection / water proof?
3) N/A - I Need hands-on time to offer more suggestions.

Verdict: I can just imagine the student engagement. This brings in real life data, in real time, and at a very reasonable cost (roughly $100).

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up