Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Avery, Special Educator. School Type: Elementary School
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use it with students to ensure they are paying attention and comprehending the videos they watch. It's also another way to have them be more independent so I can facilitate rather than direct teach.

Strengths: This product gives me data, data, and data which is a huge timesaver for a special educator burried in paperwork. I also love that you can have multiple copies so I can differentiate with an all multiple choice questions version for my needy kids, and some open ended questions for the higher kids.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be nice if you could put pictures as answer choices. I would also like the answer choices to have an easy option for kids to click and have them read. Since this tests comprehension, I don't want them slowed down with the decoding factor.

Verdict: It is so user friendly and it connects to CC with drawing information from media and text because it allows you to embed websites in the video. It is also a fantastic way to engage learners and differentiate. It tracks all the data which is a huge timesaver.

Becky, Asl Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: For electronic portfolio development, projects in sign language, testing so students can pacing themselves, instruction for students who are absent.

Strengths: Integrates with other tools Available outside of school Maintains consistancy

Suggestions for Improvement: Add video recording feature/ interactive ? As in if student gets answer wrong, will respond with rein structure and second chance Integrate with school grading program

Verdict: Plays with GAFE, easy to use, versatile, integrates with multiple tools or stand alone

Shanmugavel, Teacher. School Type: High School, College Prep School
Mar 1, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This amazing product would make learning abstract concepts in science an interesting event. Usually when videos are shown in any science classroom, students tend to be awake for the first five minutes. Often the content presented will be too dry for them to draw their attention or too complex for them to comprehend. However, if this product is used in the classroom, I anticipate students would be engaged because teachers can embed questions to test students' understanding and assess them periodically. This product would benefit students more in their learning.

Strengths: Though I have never used this product in the classroom, I tried on my own to see the features that I could use later on in my classroom. Teachers can upload any video relevant to the topic and embed questions based on their students' ability levels. Short interesting videos would serve as good supplemental teaching tool instead of hour long discussion type lecture series.

Suggestions for Improvement: The product should provide more videos for advanced/A.P./ and GT classes or useful web links for teachers to search specific videos according to the grade level and subjects. Posting the grades into the Power Teacher grade book would help lot of teachers to use this product often. How do I create and embed different question types other than multiple choice type questions?

Verdict: The product would allow teachers to assess students periodically and engage students in meaningful learning. Eliciting answers from students is a good formative assessment technique when the topic is presented in a video format. This product would demand students' undivided attention to the classroom instruction.

Tech Liaison/Instructional Coach, School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: As an instructional coach I think that I could use this tool as a way to provide flipped PD for my teachers. I could also see my teachers using this as a way to flip instruction and to supprt students with engaging content as they work.

Strengths: Engaging content, real-time data, feedback, accessibility, resources, ease of use.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if there were additional options for logging in like using Facebook. Or if results could be e-mailed to you upon completion.

Verdict: It looks easy to use. I like that you can prevent students from skipping content. You can create student accounts or share with a link which makes it easy. It also gives instant feedback to determine student understanding.

Sharon, Librarian. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would bring the videos that I already use to life.

Strengths: Student/teacher feedback Students can respond as they go along students can rewind allowing them to work at their own pace You can rewind and take as much time as needed Teachers can create questions

Suggestions for Improvement: finding the videos could be easier have to check with the ease of pushing it out / hope it works with my network nothing else - like the producr

Verdict: It would break videos up - like they should be. Questions are there and students can work independently or for homework

Librarian, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: lessons already include video, adding questions will make it a higher order learning.

Strengths: can find or create video can rewind to work at own pace can rewind but never go pass class (little control)

Suggestions for Improvement: will it work with blackboard set it so that advanced student keep going good product

Verdict: questions are already there but teachers can add own questions questions are enbedded right in video teacher/student feedback students can respond as they go along students can work at their pace rewind as needed

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this tool with students and parents. For students, I would assign them videos to view and "video-dependent" questions to answer. For parents, I would send links of videos and questions home to use to practice with their child if this particular student is struggling in class.

Strengths: I think this is a creative and unique idea! I love that students can access information visually, especially if they are struggling readers; this product levels the playing field for learners. Students are able to rewind the videos for any information that was missed in order to answer the questions; this holds students accountable!

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Translate the videos into multiple languages or include closed captions. 2. Track students' time viewing videos.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it emphasizes the importance of listening skills, which are required to teach by Common Core. This is also a great product to use for struggling readers, because they can access the information visually.

Esol, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: N/A

Strengths: Gives students more responsibility for their learning. Would definitely engage all learners. Allows students to take on the role of the teacher.

Suggestions for Improvement: Allow for students to have questions read to them. I would like more ideas for how to implement in the elementary classroom. My kindergarten students love using technology but many don't have access to devices at home.

Verdict: I would recommend for our middle school students, but perhaps not for elementary

Third Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: limited adaptations, other platforms offer this and so much more

Strengths: once created, everything is always able to be accessed saving to google drive allows you to have easy access teachers can create own videos able to track data but limited

Suggestions for Improvement: other platforms do more and are easier to use not much created yet, very limited in application in a variety of classrooms

Verdict: limited stuff can not do much, steaming online and relies on other sites

Amanda, Classroom Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use this tool to make viewing video clips more interactive. I can add a variety of questions to videos to keep my students engaged, while holding them accountable. I can set due dates and monitor student progress. The bulbs are easy to make and edit. I can make just about any video interactive and assign it to my class within 10 minutes!

Strengths: It keeps students engaged while holding them accountable. I like that students can't skip ahead in the video until they've answered the question. I like how easy it is to find videos from different video websites without having to leave the EduCanon website. I also like that I can search for bulbs created by other users based on content area and grade.

Suggestions for Improvement: I am unsure how to edit the titles and objectives on the bulbs I have already created. I would like to see the price for premium membership come down. It is very expensive!

Verdict: eduCanon is very user friendly, and the developers are very good about troubleshooting issues and helping in any way!

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up