Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Joanne, Science Teacher. School Type: Middle School, 1:1 Devices
Nov 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: My students love the games I make on classtools for reviewing before chapter tests. I would love to get students to make their own games and would be curious to see how hard it would be.

Strengths: The games already made are tied to essential learning standards which would be quite useful as NGSS are not completely complete as of today.

Suggestions for Improvement: Can you make one for administrators to help them assess teacher's teaching ability in the face of introducing content and technology in the same time span.

Verdict: Kids love games, badges, video games and they learn from them. This is attractive to all students and hopefully their parents, too!

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, BYOD Devices
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This would be awesome and engaging for students while teacher holds face to face conferences with students. I'm looking for something that would fill this gap. It is actually teachIng needed skills

Strengths: The argument strategies look strong. They need to be tied very carefully to standards. They have great resources.

Suggestions for Improvement: They need to consider the platform availability. The price is right. There are only a few games available on Chrome books

Verdict: This is a highly motivating program that works on the very skills we need to support. The thing that is concerning is the weight load on the system of the browser based games

shawna, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, 1:1 Devices
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: First I would use it as an incentive for my students who finish early. I also envision using it for certain groups while I meet with students/ conference with them. I would use the data to drive my instruction in the areas used in the game.

Strengths: This product allows students to problem solve and argue in a fun way. It also is interactive and allows the students to learn from their answers and encourages them to do so to allow the fun to grow. I can keep track of what they do and monitor their progress as well. This is valuable and the students will know I can see what they are doing.

Suggestions for Improvement: We discussed making the games more accessible to more devices. We also would like to see games that include vocabulary activities, and reaching higher levels because of high level academic language.
HE mentioned the teacher page- of results- is in the works so I cannot see all of the options. But I would like to see time spent, changes they made, beginning level where the student started and their progression. For example if their robot lost, they chose to retry or improve. Then I can see how much the kids try. I like the badges on the teacher view, but maybe the kids need to see their badges and goal / progress so they can try harder on the game to reach a certain badge.

Verdict: I would recommend for it because it of the access to practice within my content area. Not many games exist for language arts. I want my class room to have the ability to learn concepts or practice concepts in a fun way. This product also clearly has done their research for getting answers to the questions in the games that are clear. Also more games are in the works for my content area and the data I receive is valuable and worthwhile.

Alma, Sdc Autism Moderate To Severe 3 6. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, Blended Learning
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I work with students with Autism (Moderate to Severe). These students require multi modal ways of teaching and they are highly attracted and fixated to devices such as computers and IPADS. One way to reinforce their learning through the use of games and visual presentations that i can use during center time.

Strengths: Students with Autism are highly visual and fixated to computer and IPAD games. This product will not only help reinforce their critical thinking skills but also their math or reading skills. Math and ELA lessons presented in a fun way will motivate them to do more and have fun while doing it.

Suggestions for Improvement: The product is already great as it is.

Verdict: I would recommend this tool because my students are visual learners and digital games will definitely help them develop and reinforce their academic as well as their leisure and critical thinking skills.

Bobbi, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, BYOD Devices
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to engage students with developing arguments and counterarguments. Students could work independently and collaboratively to solve issues.

Strengths: It provides immediate feedback to students as they are developing their arguments. Students can hear and see their statements which provide powerful visuals for how they are defending their claims.

Suggestions for Improvement: Have some type of voice to text/text to voice interface so that English learners can correct grammar.
More testing of the prototype so that it can be used at higher grade levels.
Provide some feedback to teachers about the "think time" students are taking when formulating a response.

Verdict: I would recommend it because the gaming feature is very engaging to students. I would not recommend that we spend much money on this until it has been thoroughly field tested.

Educator, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: i would use it with my students who need more interactive hands-on activities with their learning.

Strengths: This product is highly visual which is a great component for my students with moderate to severe disabiilties. It requires them to be hands-on and actively participate in their learning.

Suggestions for Improvement: Some of the games seemed very high-tech for some of my students so maybe toning down the level of interactivity and visual effects may benefit them. Also organizing student data collection more user friendly might improve this product. The product also appeared to gear more toward upper grade students rather than lower functioning early elementary grade students.

Verdict: This product has high interest level games and interactivity for students with disabilities. It reinforces learning in a fun way.

Valerie, Teacher, Elementary. School Type: Elementary School, BYOD Devices
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: After modeling it for my students, I would have this as an activity for early finishers. I might also use this as a homework option if the object of the game helped a students with an area where they needed more practice or had a history or unfinished homework (more engaging).

Strengths: engages students, especially those that would rather be 'playing' games like minecraft instead of 'learning' about area and perimeter calculations.

Suggestions for Improvement: I saw only a small selection of games (8-9). Is this all there is?

Verdict: It is highly engaging, especially for those students that space out with traditional teaching methods. Once the product has common core standard data, it would become more useful in the classroom.

History Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Games build engagement, but it is often difficult to assess their value. Glasslabs seems to have done a lot of the back end assessment creation. This would support the use of games in class by showing teachers and parents the learning outcomes.

Strengths: This product has already evaluated the games for learning outcomes.

Suggestions for Improvement: minecraft
quandary
clash of clans

Verdict: They are continually adding games to the library that meet various learning objective.

3rd Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Unfortunately, i would use this product because it doesn't work for elementary students, as majority of the games are higher levels. The games cost a lot of money. There is only one free one and the time is limited for that. The games also do not work on all devices. At our school we have laptops that it probably would not be compatible with.

Strengths: I like how this product includes games that are made by the company and other games from third parties. I like how it includes critical thinking and problem solving, which are crucial for Common Core. It solves the problem of students' motivation. It looks really fun and I think the students would love it. I like how it looks like video games, which students are really into.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Make it for elementary students too. The representative said it is most ideal for 6th grade and up. I think my students would love it, because it looks like video games. They probably wouldn't even realize how much they are learning, because of all the fun they are having.
2. Make it free or make the trial longer. The trial is only a few months, but this might not be long enough to even see if it is worth purchasing and if the students are really benefiting.
3. Add more games related to language arts. I saw some math, critical thinking,building, problem solving, but not anything related to reading or language arts.

Verdict: I would recommend it because it would be great for middle school/ high school students. I like how teachers can create classes and choose the specific games for the students to play. Unfortunately, the games are most geared towards 6th graders and up. I teach third grade, which is why I would advise against it.

1st Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would not use this product because it does not offer educational games that are on the level of the grade that I teach. This program only produces games for 2-12. If I were to switch to an upper grade level I would check out the program but it seems to be more geared towards 6th and above.

Strengths: I think that this product is a good tool to use as a teacher of older students. Instead of doing worksheets students would love to be on the computer and playing these games. The games will help them learn more and it would track their progress.

Suggestions for Improvement: Three things that I would change this product to make it work better for me would be by making it available on any type of device. It is only available on Ipad right now. I would also make this product available to students of all grade levels. I would also make a version that was free for teachers or given to them at a discount.

Verdict: I would recommend this program to my coworkers that teach upper grades. These games would be a tool to track the progress of their students. Students would probably love playing these games and teachers are able to see how they are doing.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up